Customer Reviews

172
4.2 out of 5 stars
Fallout 3 - Game Of The Year Edition (PS3)
Platform: PlayStation 3Edition: Game of the Year EditionChange
Price:£16.22+Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

104 of 112 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 16 October 2009
Firstly, the standard game alone will provide hours of entertainment. It's one of my all time favourite games and will probably be yours too once you get into it. To sum it up Fallout 3 is set 2277, in a post apocalyptic wasteland (US and China went to war) where mankind is struggling to survive. You have lived in a vault all your life, and its been closed for 200 years. But your dad opens the vault and mysteriously disappears -- this is when you go out into the wasteland in search for him. The rest is history is guess. Its a fantastic story with unlimited variety.

Now for the add-ons, this Game of Year edition includes the original FO3 game as well as all 5 add-on packs. Its great value and is about £20 cheaper than buying/downloading each add-on seperatley. Don't get this wrong, these aren't quick attempts to rake in some money but fully fledged stories which add hours onto the already generous storyline, best of all there is 5 of them.

*-*-*-*-*-*
THE ADD-ONS
*-*-*-*-*-*

Operation: Anchorage. Enter a military simulation and fight in one of the greatest battles of the Fallout universe - the liberation of Anchorage, Alaska from its Chinese Communist invaders. Gain access to unique armor, weapons, and exotic gadgets while you build and command interactive Strike Teams to win the battle and defeat the Chinese base.

The Pitt allows you to travel to the post-apocalyptic remains of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and become embroiled in a conflict between slaves and their Raider masters. Explore a sprawling settlement ravaged by time, neglect, nuclear radiation, and moral degradation. The Pitt is filled with morally grey choices, shady NPCs, new enemies, new weapons, and much mo

Continue your existing Fallout 3 game and finish the fight against the Enclave remnants alongside Liberty Prime. Broken Steel moves the level cap for your character from 20 to 30, allowing you to experience even more of the game, including new perks and achievements.

Point Lookout opens up a massive new area of the Wasteland - a, dark, murky swampland along the coast of Maryland. So hop on the ferry to the seaside town of Point Lookout, for the most mysterious and open-ended Fallout 3 DLC adventure yet.

Defy hostile alien abductors and fight your way off of the massive Mothership Zeta, orbiting Earth miles above the Capital Wasteland. Mothership Zeta takes Fallout 3 in an entirely new direction - outer space. Meet new characters and join with them in a desperate bid to escape the Aliens' clutches. To do so, you'll wield powerful new weapons, like the Alien Atomizer, Alien Disintegrator, and Drone Cannon, and deck yourself out in brand new outfits, like the Gemini-Era Spacesuit and even Samurai Armor.

*-*-*-*-*-*
CONCLUSION
*-*-*-*-*-*

I thoroughly enjoyed all 5 of the new add-ons, they were great in their own way. I think Mothership Zeta was the weakest though, and Broken Steel is easily the best. It raises your level ability , and continues the original story perfectly. Even so, once you have finished this you'll just want to play them all.

I'd advise you to play them in the order below (just my opinion)

1ST = FALLOUT 3 STORY - make sure you spend your sweet time doing everything you can
2nd = BROKEN STEEL
3RD = OPERATION ACNHORAGE
4TH = THE PITT
5TH = POINT LOOKOUT
6TH = MOTHERSHIP ZETA
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 31 May 2013
This four year old game has been reviewed extensively so in keeping with my other RPG reviews, I'm going to try and give a female gamer perspective on it.

First of all, if you have the choice, get the xbox version. I've played both and the xbox version runs better and crashes less often. It's particularly noticeable when you're high level and are working through the DLC.

So you want to be a post-apocalyptic gun toting bad-ass chick? This game is definitely worth a look. There are quests for heros, quests for dubious canabalistic vampire types and you can even join up with the slavers. The engine keeps track of all this with a karma system. There are NPC followers who will only join you if your karma is good, bad or neutral. Even the house you get depends on whether you choose to help a town, or blow it up. In that sense, I find this game less constraining than FO:NV where factions will quickly hate you if you kill a few of them, even if you left no witnesses (some sort of unexplained magic I guess - which is a whole other rant about developers making up rules that have no basis in the game world they've created). So lets look at a few specifics.

Character? Alright, considering the age of the game. Female protagonist is an option and she can have wild purple hair if you like. Armour comes in varying degrees of flattery from Raider Painspike, which seems to involve a bra made out of colanders, to full power armour that makes you look like a genderless robot. None of it can be improved beyond it's maximum armour value which means if you fancy wearing raider armour as a higher level character, you might need to turn the difficulty setting down a notch.

Romance? No.

Followers? Renegades get a follower earlier than heros, unless you know exactly where to go to get Dogmeat. They're fairly basic but solid on the whole. With the Broken steel add-on that comes with this edition, two of them become virtually indestructible which forced me to turn up the difficulty setting to maximum when I was a high level character.

Loot and inventory? Fairly good and intuitive. I'm not much of an FPS fan, so this game has more than enough choice of weapons and armour for me. All of it needs to be maintained which with your repair skill you can do yourself, or pay some NPCs to do it for you. Big guns are plentiful and look really cool in third person mode one-on-one with a Deathclaw.

Combat? First person with the option to zoom out to third person. In my experience, the third person perspective only works well with VATS (the computer targeting system) or with melee weapons. Third person is more playable in FO:NV. So you can either aim and shoot, or drop into VATS and pick your targets while the game is effectively paused.

DLC? Mixed bag. I couldn't finish Operation Anchorage because I kept drifting off. I can imagine the design meeting: 'what this roleplaying game needs is a first-person shooter DLC'. No, it didn't. It needed DLC with a good storyline.

Mothership Zeta. Framerate all over the place and the story wasn't good enough to compensate. Again, didn't finish it.

Point Lookout. Fallout 3 gets a few tribes and some freaky inbred hillbillies. It's a lot better than it sounds. It also has some intriguing side-quests, discoverables and the gaming equivalent of an acid trip. Arguably one of the best of the DLCs because you get a whole new Island to explore.

The Pitt. A dark journey into a world of slavery. The story is alright but a bit linear and the quest markers are even more dodgy than usual. Very satisfying slaughter match at the end with evil NPCs that needed to DIE!

Broken Steel: I hardly think of this as DLC because it continues seamlessly from the end of the main quest. Good loot, reasonable climax, new places to explore, but really, Sarah Lyons should have been available as a follower.

So all in all, not bad for a four year old game although it would have been nice to be able to join a raider gang or something. Sure you can join the slavers but the leader is ugly, has a heart shaped velvet bed and a female sex slave. Not my kind of gang.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 29 August 2010
This game is a masterpiece. Totally engrossing and utterly beautiful.

This Game of the Year edition is my first venture into the Fallout world, and I was a tiny bit nervous about the negative reports concerning the freezing issues. Well, i've played the game all the way through, including the extra content, and I have not experienced any such effects. No freezing, no skips, nothing.
Now, I take care of my ps3. I keep it cool, I keep it on a raised surface, I regularly clean the dust from the vents at the back, and I never run it for more than 4 hours at a time.
Now i'm not saying that all the people who report problems with their games don't look after their consoles, but I certainly believe that looking after your console helps games run at their optimum level.
Anyways, make of that what you will.

The game itself though, is a joy to behold. The storyline is genuinely affecting. It will play with your emotions, and on many occasions you will find yourself in the midst of realistic moral decisions. The outcome of which will certainly effect which path the story takes.
The control system and experience/level-up system appears very complex on the surface, and if you are relatively inexperienced with role-play games, then the learning curve may seem a little steep. But persevere, and it will all slot into place.

Some people will be put off by the First person perespective. I nearly was. But after only a short time, it becomes clear as to why this setting was employed as the game's default. It sucks you in more, it makes you feel part of the action, rather than simply controlling it from above.

A unique selling point that needs mentioning is the VATS system. It basically allows you to slow-motion time, and target specific parts of enemies' bodies. At worst, this is hugely comical, and at best it is absolutely essential for defeating certain foes.

It's pointless for me to go into the plot. Doing that would ruin the experience, and wouldn't lend anything to this review.
This game is of such high quality that the setting is almost irrelevant when deciding whether to buy it or not.
Suffice to say that the game is set in a post-nuclear war era of Earth's history, populated by groups of human settlers, and sporadic bands of various monsters/creatures. You don't need to know any more than that.

In my view, if you're after a game that will suck you into another world, this is it.
If you want a game that effects you emotionally, and makes you think, this is it.
If you want a game that will take you months to complete fully (elite), this is it.

If however you want a game that requires zero intelligence to play, and where you just simply shoot stuff, then move on. This is a game for people with a brain.

Buy this game, it'll be the best thing you play all year, and it'll remind you why you got into gaming in the first place.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 12 April 2011
If you missed this when it first came out and are looking for a amazing game that takes you on many adventures then buy this game.

Yes there are a few bugs but nothing that will stop you loving it.
At this price for 100+ hours of game play its the bargain of the last few years!!

Honestly can not recommend this game enough :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 March 2012
I played this through twice when it first came out. Looking back again in 2012 I could easily start off again. I know that I will never trade this game in.

The attention to detail and flowing style of gameplay are impressive. Conversations take just long enough. The quirky 1950's version-of-the-future setting was a brave but inspired choice. The scenery and soundtrack are truly immersive. Spotting the numerous references to sci-fi, apocalyptic and disaster fiction were more rewarding than any pointless flag collecting in other games. The game is challenging to begin with as you desperately try to gather enough weapons and ammo to survive a routine journey between settlements without being eaten by something or someone.

I genuinely believe this would be an even better product if there were no mutants, giant scorpions etc. Human beings have the potential to commit acts of horrific cruelty on one another in certain circumstances, such as when there is a feeling of justification. Survival also trumps morals in most cases when pushed far enough. Fallout 3's only true failing is to depict those who commit the worst atrocities as being non-human.

At one point you enter a virtual reality stage where your actions continue to be judged. It felt genuinely liberating when I emerged from its claustrophobic atmosphere back into the 'normal' game. I seem to recall an Iain M Banks novel that makes passing mention of a prison where the inmates are placed in virtual reality and observed. They are released into society again when they stop making immoral decisions. Fallout 3 could certainly pass for a personality test. I intended playing as a neutral character the second time round, but I just couldn't resist the pleas for help from the various children you encounter.

Fallout 3 dosn't get it's 5 stars for its graphics, sound, setting or immersive gameplay. Its virtual removal of civilisations bread and circuses will make you learn things about yourself. Don't miss the opportunity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 19 February 2011
It has some of the highest replay value I've seen in any game, there is always something interesting you may have missed or a plot twist that you didn't see or try, or a skill set you didn't learn. No one needs to tell you that the developers put a great deal of time and effort into this game, it's utterly 'massive', I first played this last year and I'm still playing it. Even without the expansion packs, there is a great deal to do, with the expansion packs and it becomes not just a game but the epitome of gaming as a whole. There is more in this one game then you could collect in several games put together, adventure, humour, plot twists and turns, action, environments of all kinds, horror...let's just say that it's a game you cannot miss. If you haven't played Fallout 3 yet, you owe it to yourself to do so.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 19 July 2012
This game is by far one of the best games that I will ever play, I would highly recommend buying this as it is definitely worth the £13 or whatever, I have rarely had any problems with the game itself, it's froze twice in around 50 hours game time, which is effectively once of a day game time which isn't bad.

The original by itself was one of the best games ever and with the dlc's it has become the game that I will never sell, it is incredible how good the actual depth of the game is, how much detail the graphics have been put into.

I'd recommend getting the GOTY edition as it will save you around £20 as you won't have to buy the actual game and also the dlc's from the playstation store. Also it will save you hours of downloading.

One of the problems that I have with the game though is that for less experienced players of this type of game (Like I was when the game was launched in 2008) is that it can be rather difficult to feel the vibe that a player that is more experienced gets from the game, which may send you away if you're that player, however if you are definitely stick to it and sooner or later you'll become enthralled in the game and you'll never regret buying it once you understand the way the game works etc.

The dlc's are fantastic, the one I have a problem with though is the Mothership Zeta as it is not as good as the other 4 also it doesn't feel the same with the game as the other 4 do, the other dlc's compliment the game so well it is unbelivable, but that is the only complaint with the dlc's and the game as a whole really.

If you're thinking of buying a game like this then definitely buy this you will not regret it, one of the best games I have ever played.

Ratings:
Graphics - 9/10
Dlc's - 9/10
Game as a whole - 10/10
Variety - 10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 June 2012
I know Fallout 3 came out almost 4 years ago, followed by the GOTY Edition, but I purchased it recently to see why it is highly rated.

I will avoid spoiling the story for those who have not played the game by going in into big details. But, to summarise in a nutshell, the game focuses on your character, that has lived in the comfort and security of the *Vault* since birth, suddenly leaving after his/her father to the outside world which is a post atomic/apocolyptic wasteland, in order to chase him up. The rest is up to you to find out.

The game is absolutely brilliant in terms of what it offers, it is massive in size and there are so many in-game locations to discover and visit that have a story (sometimes freaky) to explore and discover. You will spend hours upon hours trying to play through all the missions (especially if you are a trophy hunter like myself) and going back and forth between locations, which has been made easy thanks to the fast-travel feature. It does start off a bit slow and the graphics at the beginning are not that pretty but once you get through the first part, things start looking better.

I like how you can alternate between first-person and third-person view to suit your individual taste. I prefer the third-person perspective and panning the camera in so it is just behind my characters right shoulder (reminiscent of the camera angle in Resident Evil 4).

The unique VATS aiming system is quite clever yet albeit slightly frustrating at times (some shots which should easily hit target still end up missing!). However, the results are also quite gruesome yet fun to watch most of the times, considering how an enemys head may fly off in a violent eruption of blood and gore, or get blown to tiny chunks of blood and bone! Even limbs will fly off at death, if shot at!

its also impressive considering how many lines of script have been included as non-playable characters say many different things making the game a very real experience.

However, on a negative side, there are numerous tech issues which quite honestly should not have been in the GOTY version. You will experience numerous game freezing incidents and crashes throughout the campaign requiring to reset your system. Sometimes when you aim manually you will find bullets going through an enemy head and not harming them - silly to be honest.

Also, there is a bug which Bethesda should have fixed with a patch which is potentially GAME-BREAKING!! (thankfully I found a way through after spending time online looking for a solution - thanks Youtube!). The bug involved unlocking a door in Vault 112 with a key which was practically NON-EXISTANT in the game! If you get into a similar position as me, look for *fallout 3 vault 12 failsafe code* video on Youtube, to stand a chance!

Just remember to make regular save files for backup, in case things go wrong!!!

Despite these issues, I really have enjoyed Fallout 3 from what I have played so far. I strongly recommend it to all gamers who have not played it. For a 2008 game its brilliant yet four years later (as of today) it is still a gem to play! The positive points easily outweigh the negative points. Bethesda has managed to create such a surreal yet realistic experience with Fallout 3 and as a result it is one of the best games you will play.

Highly Recommended - 92/100
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 March 2014
Fallout 3 is a labour of love, a total immesrsive experience that is intricate and brilliantly written. The Game of the Year Edition just compliments it giving you the extra bang for your buck and expanding an already enormous game environment. The landscape is tremendous and the stories and subplots spin off in so many directions that you rarely ever get bored. The retro futuristic technology is to die for and if you didn't like old fashioned music before this surely will make you a fan, the wonderful radio stations hark back to a golden age where things were crafted with love, the music sets the scenes perfectly, my only gripe is in the end I wanted more.

The alternate universe where the classic 1950s age of atomic science fiction ruled and became a reality feel gives this game a feel and texture like no other. If it has one flaw then its the bugs and glitches that perhaps are caused by such a massive world environment that is so detailed that programmers ambition perhaps outweighs the console / Pc's capabilities slightly. Still this game has more than enough charm and charisma for you to overlook this minor irritation.

Beautifully crafted, fantastic interesting characters, wonderful music and bucket loads of technology and blood! 5 Star Gaming at its best!

From Postapocalyptia this is Threeeeeeee Dog bringing you the truth no matter how bad it hurts!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 March 2013
I got the normal Fallout 3 version from my friend before I decided to purchase this. I played the normal and loved it with all my heart, there is an awesome story line, a huge sandbox world to explore and many side quests.

Advantages:
- Great game, aged REALLY well
- In-game music is absolutely fantastic
- Side missions can provide literally hours upon hours of gameplay
- Huge variety of weapons, in that there are secret 'one time' weapons that you'll find
- VATS system lives up to it's priorities and it makes for a few amazing kills.
- Doesn't seem to get repetitive, each quest brings something new your way

Disadvantages:
- Being a huge game it is, it froze my ps3 once or twice
- Main quest line isn't that long
- Bubble-heads... As much as I adore them, some are above annoying. If you don't know where they are, and do a quest, you can never get them back. Example - I had 19 bubbleheads and the last one was in a 'location' that gets blown up due to the quest. I didn't notice it even though I walked past it and the place blew up. I could never get it back, as I haven't saved for close to few hours by that time and silly ol' me turned auto-save off.

That's my over-view of the game, hope this helps some of you make a right decision ahaha!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Fallout: New Vegas (PS3)
Fallout: New Vegas (PS3) by Bethesda (PlayStation 3)
£6.90

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.