Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2007
There have been other books of photos of World War 1, and one might expect to see the same old images - but this is a collection of many unfamiliar, previously unseen photos - of subjects ranging from the Western Front, Gallipoli, the home front, and behind the lines - and both before, during and after the war.
The large format lends itself to the often panoramic images - and also allows you to see in detail extraordinary and haunting portraits - the 'faces' after which the book is named. It's a collection to please the expert and the interested browser alike - a WWI buff will appreciate the precisely captioned battle scenes - but any reader will feel the impact of the personal quotations which accompany many images - they add an extraordinary dimension to one's understanding of life and conditions in the trenches. It's an immensely moving photo-record, but my heart was particularly wrenched by the three Australian brothers who all died in one two-day attack, the home images of the average, working-class man who went to fight for king and country... not the Eton toffs, but the desperately poor. The images depict a world of contrasts, both in Britain and in Germany - but when it came down to it, all the men at the front were in the same boat, and returned after the conflict to their bleak lives with their terrible disfigurements, mental scars and the memory of lost comrades.
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2008
I agree with the other reviews so will try not to repeat too much in my own review.

Children (and some adults) are all too dismissive of the previous generations and, although I would not recommend showing this to young children, it could help teenagers studying history to get a real sense of the conditions the men fighting in the First World War were subject to. The author does not shy away from showing the dead in photographs and I think it gives the reader something to think about and possibly discuss.

As a book, it is well thought out and presented beautifully. It's a book I would happily leave on my coffee table for friends to flick through. A couple of friends can not understand why I would want to look at pictures from the War (as they find the subject of warfare disturbing) but I've never believed in wrapping people in cotton wool - I think people should know what those men went through and be proud of them. Although it is a collection of frank photographs of war, I think the subject has been handled sensitively too - there are no gratuitous shots what so ever in this book.

Highly recommended to anyone who wants to get a real sense of the lives of the men involved.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2008
This is first and foremost a picture book. As you might expect, there are many uncomfortable images, but it is a far more balanced book than that. There are many depictions of strong comradeship and even happiness amongst the desperate conditions and casualties of the trenches. Without much in the way of text, it doesn't fully, even with pictures, convey the 'grit' of the WW1 experience that I think many of today's, removed generation would like to understand. But as a picture book, it has no rival, and is beautifully printed.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
This is a brilliant book. Every picture, many of which I have never seen before tells a different story. Max Arthur has juxtaposed the photographs in chronological order and there is a real drama in the build up to the war from both sides and also in the lead up to the battles of the Somme and Arras. The consequence of the battles is poignantly told not only in photos but in words of the men who fought in them. I was particularly moved by the photo of the packs taken from the bodies of the dead, the photo shows British soldiers searching through for anything that can be sent home to the dead man's next of kin.

One particular photo is accompanied by the words of a young Lieutenant 'Now we die. It is the wet death, the muddy death, death dripping with blood. The bodies lie frozen in the earth which slowly sucks them in. The luckiest depart wrapped in canvas, to sleep in the nearest cemetery.'

But there are lighter moments such as the amazing shot of the Zulus dancing in their full battle costume and the tough looking Australian who the Kaiser loathed because he was always stealing from the German dead. There are many more like this in this memorable book.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I often find that 2 & 3* reviews are the most useful ones, in terms of learning something about a product; they tend not to be simple love it / hate it efforts, as 1 & 5* reviews frequently are. Not in this instance. Rufus, in his 2* review, is, I am afraid, talking nonsense. He makes two complaints - the first is that the photo's are just "same old, same old", and he then gives the impression that many are of poorer than normal quality.

Neither are true. I've been keenly interested in The Great War for 30 years or more. I have dozens of books on my shelves, and I've read dozens more, borrowed from libraries. I've seen hundreds upon hundreds of photo's. There's a few in this book that have been used before. Most notably, one of a German officer reading the Kaiser's mobilisation order to a Berlin crowd on 1st August 1914, German infantry marching across open country in open formation, and that of 8 stretcher bearers struggling through knee-deep mud in Flanders, trying to get one stretcher-case back. Possibly only the photo of the Tommy with the "thousand yard stare" is more iconic than the latter (and missing from this book, I might add!). The majority of these I have not seen before.

As for quality, in the first place, these are now century old photo's. In the second, if photography wasn't still in its infancy, it was certainly still in its early childhood. And war photography certainly was in its infancy. Are some shots of less than great quality? Yes. Again, though, the vast majority are fair or better. A few, a very few, are not so good. But then if the author wishes to show something in particular, and his choice is a poorer quality photo or none at all, what is he to do? Take Gavrilo Princip, who can be viewed as the one man that actually started the war, the spark to the powderkeg. There aren't that many extant photo's of him. Use the same one that usually gets used? Rufus will complain. Use another of lesser quality? Rufus will complain!

Basically, the photo's are fine, both in terms of their quality, and in their not having been used before, either widely or at all. What can be criticised is the authorship. Max Arthur is also the author of Forgotten Voices of the Great War. I criticised the limited selection of viewpoints in that book; I do the same again here. There are sections of pre-war & post-war photo's. There are some pictures from the Home Front, of civilians, of refugees, a brief section of half-a-dozen or so from Gallipoli.

But essentially, as with the FV book, this isn't a book of the War as a whole; it's a book of the Western Front Armies. If you read only these two Max Arthur tomes, you could be forgiven for thinking that the Navies did nothing during the War, that the Air Forces did not exist. That there was no Eastern Front, no Italian front, no fighting in the Middle East or Africa, and that the war was fought solely between Germany, France, and the British Empire (with a late intervention from the US) in France & Belgium.

The other criticism is that the captioning on some shots is rather dubious. I offer two examples. One is a shot of a Tommy sat on an abandoned gun limber, head in hand, that Arthur captions "An exhausted British soldier, lost in thought..." It certainly looks like he might be... But how does the author KNOW that he is exhausted? He gives no indication; is he just guessing? Or there is the shot of French soliders at Verdun throwing rocks (yes, throwing rocks!) at Germans. There are several reasons why I get the impression that this was a staged propaganda photo, but the author, on the basis of the caption, appears to take it at face value.

In other circumstances, I might well take away 1* because of those two points. However, you've everything from holiday celebrations to delousing & showering, recruits & training, soldiers in the trenches & out, even shots of firing squads and of serious war wounds. The breadth of the War may be missing, but the variety of experiences isn't. Along with their being mostly new to my eyes, I think this is still worth 5*. Imperfect, but 5* nevertheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
absolutely brilliant, amazing photos of world war 1 that you never heard about.. I never knew there were zulus on the western front... heartbreaking photos, images that rip at your heart and at the same time, perhaps just on the next page a photo that sings of love, compassion, humour, courage.... wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. such an important book. would recommend to anyone.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Primarily focusing on the Western Front, this magnificently illustrated history book provides a visually stunning [and at times quite moving] record of World War One. High quality photographs are combined with well-chosen quotations from soldiers and civilians on both sides of the conflict to create a comprehensive account of the First World War in words and pictures [many of the quotes are taken from the author's acclaimed 2003 book Forgotten Voices of the Great War]. From the optimism of 1914 to the despair of 1918, and all the suffering in between, the handpicked photographs capture it all.

As you'd expect there are plenty of grim images to be found here and the deterioration of both the men themselves and the conditions they fought in is plain to see as you turn the pages. However, there are some sparks of light amidst all the darkness. As Ian Hislop says in the foreword, it's striking how often "the men smile at the camera when, to our eyes, there can be so little to smile about" and there are numerous photographs of the soldiers smiling and laughing while engaged in everything from football matches to pillow fights.

One thing I did read in this book that I wasn't previously aware of is that in some regiments the soldiers used to play football together as they went 'over the top'. To keep their morale up they'd pass the ball to each other as they crossed over no-man's land towards the enemy guns. As one Tommy recalls about the very first time he 'went over': "I remember the ball dropping at my feet and I passed it to Captain Maxwell. 'That was a good pass you made, young Withers' he shouted, before he thumped it towards the German lines". A great little anecdote, I thought, of the kind that would make this book a worthwhile read for anyone with an interest in the First World War.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
I am very pleased to have purchased this as a Christmas Present for very good friend of mine. I purley based my purchase from the glowing reviews given by customers who have purchased this book from Amazon.
Obviously, before wrapping this I had to carefully scan the pictures inside, ('as you do'). I must admit I was bowled over by the quality and gravity of the photographs included.
War photography does not come more profound than the black and white images depicted in this book....perhaps I say this because it is of a war that everyone's' ancestors were affected by.
This book is grand in hard back form and I could not think it to be half as impressive in a paper binding, should one exhist.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
If you need to see the horrors of WW1 in picture form this is a nice starting point,There is not much of the written word in this book but it gives you an overview of all the pictures in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
this is a Christmas present so is not for me personally but looking through it Ithought it was very informative and tells more by the pictures than if it was the written word.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)