Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2007
The synopsis says it all as far as contents go, but it doesn't tell you how amazing the books shown inside are, nor does it tell you how inspired you'll be to keep all your trial pieces as a record of your work, bind them together and make a fabulous book for yourself. You can use all your skills, quilting, patchwork, embroidery, beadwork, braidmaking, laces, buttons, fabric printing and painting - all can be separate (or combined) pages in your own journal. It will encourage you to have a go at types of embroidery you may not have tried - knowing that they won't be consigned to the bin at the end - you can keep them as your own fabric journal to have a record of your needlework progress. The book has plenty of projects - the button bound book and coptic bound book are both lovely, instructions on closures and attaching trims,transferring images and pictures are all included. Plenty of colour plates, clearly presented instructions - a lovely book very easy to follow.
0Comment49 of 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2008
This is a wonderful book, Pam explains how to make the books and hints and tips to inspire you to make your own personal book!! Its just a great book to have on your shelf if you are at all arty.Plus you can use up all those little remnants you have stashed away!
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2009
I loved this book from the moment it was delivered. The photos of the journals are beautiful and really inspire you to have a go at whatever level of sewing your at.
I love reading through it anytime because there`s always something else you discover in the photos.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
Such a wonderfully written book, with lots of colourful pictures........easy to read and i have already made a Journal, it is very inspirational and you will keep looking at it over and over.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
I'd had this book on my wishlist forever and in the end, being unable to get a new copy, I tracked a used one down from the US via Abe's Books. I was not disappointed. I'd been wanting to have a go at making purely fabric books for a long time and other books I'd looked at on the subject were about altering or embellishing paper books not working directly onto fabric and creating a fabric book ready for my own embellishment and decoration.

As a quilter this book has many parallels with quilting and would be a great off shoot for quilters who want to develop and use other techniques on a smaller scale than a full sized quilt. The book includes different types of fabric book construction suitable for beginners/intermediate or advanced book makers. Whilst each type shows a book design by the author you could use the basis of each book for your own creations. There is also a useful section on different techniques. I liked the photographs in this book and the gallery at the back as it's inspired me to want to create straight away - and I have started!

One slight criticism - ok two. First one is there are some templates in the back of the book which you have to enlarge by a certain percentage on a photocopier which always frustrates me - although in this case I think you could measure and not require many of them. The second criticism is the book appears to be out of print so you have to get a second hand copy if you want one.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
A lovely book with excellent photography in it. A pure pleasure to read and browse through. Some great ideas too.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
A wonderful amazing fantastic craft book with clear instructions, brilliant diagrams and inspirational projects.
Book arrived promptly and was well packaged.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Very inspirational & helpful book, a must for anyone interested in the craft
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I used this book on a workshop and it has been on my wishlist for sometime. This was a secondhand book which is in very good condition and arrived well within the time specified. I haven't used it to date but know I will as there are many ideas that appeal and I cannot wait to get started.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Good. Useful advice. Thank you.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Huge Selection of Fancy Fabrics! Costume, Dance, Cheer, Swim, Trend