Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2009
This was the first Fables book I read, borrowing it from the library. I was hooked after the first ten pages, even though I didn't know the whole plot line. The whole idea of 'fables' living in the community, being hunted down by the Adversary is just so brilliant and this volume sums it up. Having read this I went out and purchased every Fables book going. They are so well written and invoke our childhood memory of all those fairy tale characters (Disney, they are not!)that it is easy to be immersed in their/ our world to the extent of wondering if it really could happen/ is happening. The graphics in all the books are almost always brilliant as is the text and the tension. One can care far more for these characters than say, Batman or Judge Dredd, as these are drawn from inside of us because we grew up with them. Brilliant book/ series, read it and weep.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Another great instalment of this series that sees the folks of Fabletown face their deadliest challenge yet. Alongside the action and fantastic artwork, the continued development of relationships and characters lends this series the human touch that makes it so appealing and accessible. Great read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
There is a single issue prologue and a long main story as The Adversary comes knocking.

This is an excellent tale packed with drama, action and life or death moments. Willingham knows his characters and readers well and can manipulate both with ease. Previous and future threads are woven into an exciting storyline that really makes you fear for Fabletown and its residents.

The art is good and the borders are given a great deal of attention making them stand out. Even the page numbers have added flourish, most fitting for Olde-Worlde characters and their stories. The prologue has a different artist, and that fits perfectly, as it is a reminiscence of events in the Homelands.

Excellent work and a hearty Thumbs Up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
This was the best one so far. I've become a great fan of this series and after numerous failed attempts to make it last a few sittings, I ended up reading it all in one go! Exellent series. Looking forward to buying the next volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
The action and drama are stepped up a notch in book 4 of the Fables series. the book is full of surprises and has the excellent art and character moments I've already come to expect of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Following on from the previous books, the story starts to return to why the fables left the homelands and more about the fight they thought they had ran from.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
One of few comic book series Fables are getting better with every issue.

Everyone who likes original stuff should give it a try!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Really love this story world - if you've read the others and liked them you'll like this one too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
perfect
ps: as i bought 3 volumes could have made 1 postage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Great story with an even better cliff hanger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse