Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2015
This is an eerie exercise in psychological horror by a true French auteur, Georges Franju. There is much to love, not least the gruesome depiction of the operating theatre (and its aftermath), the manner in which Franju elicits sympathy for both victim and 'villain' and the way in which his camera glides in doleful observance of the mysterious surroundings throughout the film. It is perhaps a little dated at times and there are moments where an illumination of the context to these characters could be made more substantial and would have been most welcome. However, if you enjoyed the likes of 'Judex' and 'Nuit Rouges', then you will certainly enjoy this melancholy tale.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
A unique horror movie with a ghostly atmosphere and horrifying storyline. A true classic. The restoration on the bluray makes ths the best available versionof Franju's classic shocker. The edition is chock full of interesting extras, including commentary by expert Tim Lucas, interviews with members of the crew and the star of the film, Ms. Edith scob, and 2 beautiful short films by Franju. A very, very beautiful edition of a truly great film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
This review is for the product itself; reviews of the film can be found elsewhere.

Many of us know it has been over a year since Amazon were taking pre-release orders, but now the product is finally available - yay! I have not seen the Criterion print so I cannot compare it (and I don't know if the BFI used the same print as Criterion), but this is beautifully clear and crisp. There is one brief scene, however, that seems rather grainy and soft(ish) focus - namely near the beginning when Dr. Génessier arrives to identify the body. Maybe other purchasers would like to comment on this, too? Audio is great with no fluctuations in volume. There is a very substantial, informative and well-produced booklet, all of which make this a must-buy purchase. I haven't had time to view the extras as yet.

One thing, though: I had forgotten just how long the infamous surgery scene actually is! And it still packs a punch today, even in a post-Saw and -Hostel torture porn era!

10/10
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Obviously special effects have moved on but I really enjoyed the genuinely creepy vibe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Firstly, it's rated 4 stars because 3 tools have decided to rate it a 1 star because the release was delayed. They are obviously such fans of the film that they would do this.

Eyes Without A Face epitomises "horror" probably more so than any other horror film I have seen. I don't think I have ever seen it feature in lists of the Top Horror Films Ever Made alongside the likes of The Shining, The Exorcist, Night Of The Living Dead, Psycho, etc. It should be. Sure there are no boogey men, no stalking and slashing, no one gets possessed, there are no zombies, no ghosts, no extreme torture or gore (although for it's day it must have seemed pretty extreme). But it is still a downright horrific, haunting, creepy experience that buries itself into one's subconscious and refuses to let go. It also has one of the best, most satisfying conclusions of any horror film I have ever seen. For that, and I don't throw these around very often, it gets a perfect 5.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
Quite simply put, this is excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Thank You, Very happy indeed!!! XXX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
ARRIVED QUICK. GREAT FILM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
To all of the hysterically impatient and petulant customers posting bad ratings due to the delay on this release - you're absolutely pathetic. The film itself - a masterpiece of cinema - is blameless here, and should not be the victim of emotional outcries. Blame the BFI, and complain to them, rather than posting ratings that only hurt the film that you love. Many of us pre-ordered this and had to wait over 15 months - so what? Grow up . . . oh, and kindly remove your ratings that have nothing to do with the film.
44 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Brilliant film and it's got a commentary track which the criterion bluray hasn't got
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)