Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars15
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 1999
A real-life adventure from the author of the Katie Morag stories, this book is full of the witty watercolour illustrations that we are used to from Mairi Hedderwick. It gives an insight into the real characters that inspired the Katie Morag stories. Whimsical and light-hearted, it gives a snapshot picture of many of the Western Isles that we don't have time to visit. Real people are portrayed and we feel that we have met them in the flesh. A lifestyle so remote from the bussle of life on the mainland brings a breath of salt air to a fireside browse through the pages of this hippy adventure.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2001
Quite simply a gorgeous book. If you love the Hebrides, or any of the Atlantic fringes of this commercialised continent called Europe, then you will love this book. If you loved the Katie Morag stories (or reading them with your children) then you will love this book. The illustrations are lovely, I want them for my wall!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2005
Mairi Hedderwick's An Eye on the Hebrides is an evocative visit to all of the Western Isles. Travelling for 6 months in an ancient VW camper she has stories and facts which amuse and inform. She is a professional illustrator and the whole book is illuminated by her drawings and watercolours made as she travelled. They all appear on the relevant page as you read - even double page pictures are with the right island. This is a must read if you have been or intend to to go to the Western Isles, if you just love travel in the UK, or you enjoy watercolours of flora, fauna and island scenery.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
This is a series of brief glimpses of the Hebridean Islands from a lady who has travelled and lived in the Hebrides.

I bought this book while travelling in the Hebrides - it is not and does not pretend to be a guide.

It is an evocative "peek" into the authors travels around the Islands and has snippets used to describe the lifestyle of the Hebridean people. The illustrations and quality of the printing is lovely.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
A delightful and readable pictorial diary of Mairi Hedderwicks travels in the highlands and islands of Scotland. A genuine sense of place pervades her very professional watercolour drawings which are well supported by her writing.
Her observation and usual excellent draughtsmanship are a delight and make this a most enjoyable book indeed.
I recommend it unreservedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
The book's condition was exactly as described...very good for second hand, clean and not at all worn looking....would not hesitate to buy used books from you again.

Having just returned from a wonderful holiday on the Hebrides, I am delighted to be able to keep my memories alive by flicking through this lovely book and enjoying the charming watercolours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I love the way Mairi Hedderwick manages to find the essence of each island through the characters she meets and the scenery which she so magnificently captures in her paintings and drawings. A book you can dip into when you feel like it and a pleasure each time. I am thankful to the person who looked after their copy so well and sold to me for Ip - incredible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I returned this book as was classed as excellent condition but when i got it, it wasnt in a very good condition and had writting on the inside cover. It was bought for a present but there was no way i could give it as a present in the condition it was in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
For those of you who want to develop travel sketchbooks this book is a must. Ms. Hedderwick's drawings are an excellent guide to pencil drawings and watercolour. One can learn so much from this inspiring book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
I am part way through this book, and am enjoying the sketches and homely stories of the places and people visited.
I would reccommend it to anyone interested in island life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)