Start reading Every Woman For Herself on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Every Woman For Herself
 
 

Every Woman For Herself [Kindle Edition]

Trisha Ashley
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (218 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.00 (75%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.99  
Hardcover £17.19  
Paperback £3.85  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook £44.73  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

'One of the best writers around' Katie Fforde; 'Trisha Ashley's romp... makes for enjoyable reading' The Times

Product Description

First comes marriage. Then comes divorce. Then it’s every woman for herself …

Every Woman for Herself is a hilarious account of divorce and dating from Sunday Times besteller Trisha Ashley. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews,the country setting and rom-com storyline make this the perfect summer read.

When Charlie’s husband Matt tells her that he wants a divorce she has to start from scratch. Suddenly single, broke and approaching 40 she is forced to return to her childhood home in the Yorkshire moors.

Living with her father and eccentric siblings could be considered a challenge but soon Charlie finds her new life somewhat refreshing. Now that she’s single she’s got no need to dye her roots nor to be the perfect wife and she can return to her first love- painting.

But just as she begins to feel settled, handsome, bad-tempered actor Mace North moves in down the road and starts mixing things up for Charlie in more ways than one …


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1246 KB
  • Print Length: 241 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0312313721
  • Publisher: Avon (8 May 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00GLGIH2U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (218 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,488 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Trisha Ashley writes romantic comedies, and her latest novel, a reprint of Every Woman for Herself,was her sixth consecutive Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller. Her novels have twice been shortlisted for the Melissa Nathan award for Romantic Comedy and Every Woman for Herself was nominated by readers as one of the top three romantic novels of the last fifty years.
She is from St Helens in West Lancashire, and believes that her typically dark Lancashire sense of humour in adversity, crossed with a good dose of Celtic creativity from her Welsh grandmother, have made her what she is today...whatever that is. Five of her novels are set in rural West Lancashire and three in Wales. They frequently explore aspects of the three F's that are a constant in her own life: Food, Flowers and Friendship and include delicious recipes at the back.
Nowadays she lives in North Wales, together with the neurotic Border Collie foisted onto her by her son, and a very chancy Muse.
She is the founder member of NW Novelistas Ink, a group of twelve novelists, several of whom are bestselling, who meet regularly in North Wales; she is also a long term member of the Society of Authors and a member of Literature Wales.
Her new novel, a reprint of Every Woman for Herself, will be published on May 8th, 2014. The dysfunctional Rhymer family, the result of a failed attempt by their father to recreate the Brontes, gather together at the Upvale Parsonage for what might well turn out to be the last time....
Trisha has a website at www.trishaashley.com where you can find out more about her, sign up for her newsletter, or see a complete list of her books. You will also find her on twitter as @trishaashley.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly unique and original 21 Nov 2002
By A Customer
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Oh Lord, I can't begin to communicate how funny and wonderful this book is. I'd read and enjoyed The Urge to Jump, but this one just blows by it in comparison. The official description of the book is true - but just does not do the book justice. Charlie (short for Charlotte - her nut case of a father was trying to recreate the Bröntes) finds herself on the back side of 40 and single. Her husband announces, on his way out of the country, that he wants a divorce. Then, she has an unfortunate episode with his best friend and a frying pan. She's got nowhere to go but home, to the moors and her beyond-eccentric family. Emily runs the family home with an iron fist and dabbles in the dark arts. Anne, a hardened war correspondence has come home to fight her toughest battle on her own. Brother Bran - well, is he an imbecile or a genius? Then there's Mace, the glamorous actor-turned-playwright, who lives down the road with his young daughter. All the women in town are in lust with him - except Charlie (at first) who isn't the least bit impressed with him and his bright red duvet. Mix in a handful of truly funny extra characters, a vengeful woman or two and you get quite a wonderful yarn. The dialog is ultra clever, the plot twists imaginative, and you somehow find yourself believing that this all really could happen. Ashley has a rare, rare talent and I look forward to reading more from her. More than worth the postage to the US!
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A novel you will want to live inside 23 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Although I am a huge fan of Trisha Ashley, particularly her Sticklepond series, I started this story with a tiny tremor of trepidation. A republication of an early novel, I was worried I would not like the style as much as since Wedding Tiers I have read them as they have been published, and got used to the evolution of her writing voice. This came about having read the sample chapter which was included at the end of a previous novel, and it did feel slightly different to her more current works.

How lovely it was to have all my fears allayed, as I loved the story and loved the writing, and had the bonus of seeing the seeds of future stories and styles captured in the book.

Once again, Trisha's description of life in a little Northern village made me want to be able to go and live there, and I love the idea of the Christmas mouse hunt. This is the thing that is so great about these novels, Trisha creates characters your are about, a world you want to live in, and a great story too.

The heroine Charlie is really likeable but doesn't believe in herself which is something I think a lot of people can identify with. The hero, Mace North is gloweringly broodingly handsome - in my head he looks like the actor Richard Armitage - and while you want Charlie and Mace to get together, you also want to pinch him for yourself!

The only ba dung about this is reaching the end!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book 14 April 2013
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
wasn't so sure for the first few pages if I was going to enjoy it, and was surprised as I love this authors other books and style of writing but totally loved it once I got in to it, and it was a great read and worth buying.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice is seen to be done...laugh out loud fun! 17 Jun 2002
Format:Paperback
This is a wonderful book, which should not be read in public if you are embarrassed by people staring at you when you laugh!
Set against the contemporary background of a man who thinks he has fathered the new Bronte Family - and named his childen accordingly - Charlotte is forced to find her own identity. Many problems beset her along the way, resulting in some madcap moments (the incident with the saucepan is just the beginning!).
The invention of the new periodical 'Skint Old Northern Woman' is comic genius:- who will ever be able to forget the advice it gives? And what a cast of characters to meet!
I urge you to buy this book now...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different but funny 9 May 2014
By Agi
Format:Paperback
My reading relationship with Trisha Ashley is really like a roller coaster ride - either deep, deep down or very high. Kind of love - hate relationship. I seem to either adore her books or... not:) But I am happy to say that Every Woman for Herself was unputdownable for me. For me this book was totally different to other Trisha's books, written in a different way, different style but it worked for me. Yay.

Charlie is married and thinks that there is nothing wrong with her marriage, so it's a kind of surprise to her when her husband, on his way out of the country, announces that he wants divorce. Charlie doesn't have any choice because it's actually a fait accompli for Matt. There follows a very unfortunate episode with Matt's best friend, and a frying pan, and a death and as a result Charlie must move out of the house. There is nothing else where she can go bar her family home, inhabited by her famous writer father, his present mistress and her two twin - daughters, her sister Emily, dog, and a very controversial siblings helping at the house. Charlie's other sister, Anna (yes, their father was really trying to recreate the Bröntes), a war reporter, is also shortly home, fighting her own battle, their brother Bran is on short "holidays" from work at the university, so it's really a Full House. Add to this mix other inhabitants of the village, witch - meetings, magic, a very famous actor and you have the picture. Don't forget the very vengeful Angie who wants her revenge on Charlie and you are being drawn into incredible adventures and witty dialogues, and a fusion of those two factors made a brilliant, funny, bitter - sweet book that I really couldn't put down.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category