Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars13
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2003
Only Spike Milliagan could be so brilliantly childish and observational.... so many try yet cant carry off the innocent yet deep poems and humour in this book.
Although I found reading the Goon show scripts sections a bit hard - and skipped most of them... (they wern't really of my generation, more my dads era....im sure i'll go back and read them later ).... but i really take my time reading the poems and re-reading them as they as genius yet silly and one can get.
A fabulous piece of escapism.... and his biography bits are great too..... a must read! A true eccentric!
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2003
This book is a stroll through the work of one of the most productive comic writters of modern times.This book contains extracts from his many books and scripts of some the most memorable Goon Shows.Also interleaved between these gems are poems ,silly verse for kids and letters he sent and recieved when championing his many causes.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2010
This career-spanning anthology (Millelany?) includes poems, sketches, stories and excerpts from Spike's novels and war memoirs. It is organised in sections such as "Cracking Up" and "Beaming Down", whose titles bear no obvious connection to the contents. Much of the writing goes for instant and momentary half-chuckles, both trivial and wearing in quantity. The poetry particularly (at least that selected here) is mostly throw-away nonsense, though there are a few more serious efforts that earn their keep.

Similarly, the prose is at its best when some feeling and sense of the man comes through, somewhere in the relentless barrage of wise-cracks. The excerpts from "Puckoon" suggest something of substance, and those from his war memoirs evoke both the fun and the strain of chaotic events. Near the end is the script for an episode of an ill-fated broad sitcom about multiculturalism: revelling in its political incorrectness, it's perhaps the funniest thing in the book.

Although I was only moderately impressed, Spike did have a facility with language and word-play. It would have been worth reading this entertaining collection just to acquire a few wonderful nuggets like these:

"The M.O. gave us all some foul-tasting pills that left you feeling like you'd slept with an Arab's toe in your mouth."

"Gad, it's hot... You can grab a handful of air and squeeze the sweat out of it."

And from that sitcom, an exchange in London between Van Gogh (a Pakistani) and Colonel Grope (a bigot):

VAN GOGH: We are told that you feed starving Indians.
COLONEL: Yes, but we don't serve the food here. You have to go to Calcutta, lie on the pavement and hold up one withered arm with a tin.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
Usual style of Spike, but lots of different things in it, not all the same, so not boring (not that he is boring!), got as a stocking filler for male partner and he does read it when he has time, good bathroom book, if you know what I mean!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Spike will always be loved for his wonderful anarchic & innovative ground breaking comedy, but there is so much more to the man, this book gives an insight to his range of work. Excellent!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Eddie Izzard has put together a great collection of the gems of the wonderful Spike Milligan.This book is a perfect way to bring cheer to a miserable winter day.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
A really great book to dip into to lift your spirits
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
given as xmas gift. receiver loves the stories.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Arrived quickly, as described, very nice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Interesting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.