Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2011
This is a very accessible guide for students in all creative industries. All too often it becomes very difficult to extract key needs in a way that will engage young creatives and help them to realize what may in store after graduation - but more importantly, prepare them for it.

Branagan has hit the nail on the head for me. Purists might not be happy and up to date finance info is nigh on impossible... and will always change. If you are an educator who cares about the future potential of your young creative students, then this goes a long way to demystify what its all about - in a way that engages with innovative minds. It even considers dyslexic creatives in the way that it has been designed.

Bravo

Prof. Andy Penaluna, Chair - Enterprise Educators UK
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
I wanted to know about the art business but was apprehensive as to the complicated content.
I was relieved at the simple way the book is set out and how easy it is to understand.
As I am impatient I didn't want to trawl through loads of complex books to find a passage in one book and a passage in another one, so this book fits the bill nicely, coupled with Alison's 'Making Sense of Business' I had a good start to help me in my new business venture.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
The foreword by Sir James Dyson sums up the contents of this book - 'it cuts through the clatter and jargon of business giving clear, simple advice about how to make a success out of your arts practice or creative business' Alison sets out the key areas of running a business clearly and succinctly and pitches the tone at just the right level, so much so that we recently bought 40 copies for our graduate business course for jewellers and silversmiths. Highly recommended!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
An extremely useful follow up to the author's 'Making Sense of Business', targeted specifically at the creative industries. Branagan's longtime experience in the field is evident, her pragmatic but inspiring approach enabling artists and designers to understand their practice as genuinely having the potential to provide them a living. With all areas of business shifting so quickly today, this is a worthwhile addition to your business reference library, even if you have already enjoyed and benefited from the author's 'Making Sense of Business'. The recommendations for further reading are numerous but in line with the depth of business understanding the artist or designer needs to develop. I keep the book close at hand for regular reference.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
This book is a brilliant guide for those starting out as freelancers or setting up a business within the art and design industry. It manages to cover a great deal of what Alison has taught in her highly regarded lectures, and in many instances goes even further,illustrating the key points with case studies from a varied range of practitioners from within the industry.

There are also a phenomenal amount of highly relevant resources listed (both print and web) for everything from Tax issues to Self Promotion. It's the next best thing to having this extremely knowledgeable author on call as you set out on your venture.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to everyone. its like a really good brainstorming session, you will feel refreshed with new ideas
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
This book, 'The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers' covers everything a creative person needs to know to continue their career as an art practitioner. Its well written, informative and has a very practical approach to business in the world of Art and Design. Investigating the various roles an artist or designer has to undertake to become commercially successful, the book covers many subjects informally, from promotion, legal issues, book keeping and IT, all in a tone which is matter of fact and down to earth. A useful book to have for a variety of helpful tips and handy to have to hand. Great to see another book from Alison Branagan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
Having bought and read Alison's first book, I was keen to acquire this one. As a follow-up, this was equally informative and useful. I also definitely recommend this to any budding entrepreneur, and look forward to any of her future publications. Great stuff!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
I wish I had owned this book years ago. There is everything you could possibly need in here to be an artist who actually sells their work. Branagan has obviously been around numerous artists and understands the way creative brains are wired so there is no escape from her direct and relentless advice! I have been a freelance animator for 30 years and am now setting up my own business.I admit I knew nothing of business plans and (horror of horrors) spread sheets. All this is explained clearly and humorously with nice artist-friendly pictures to make it totally accessible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
I am a student studying Decorative Arts at Nottingham Trent University. We have a business modules within the course and we have to write business plans etc etc, this book is great for everything. it covers everything specifically for a craftsperson. It is written in a friendly manner and it easy to understand. We were lucky enough to have a crafts council hothouse day at NTU and we attended, where we met the author and got to flick through the book. I bought it that night and have been impressed by it. The book is five star!! Can highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)