Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2010
I put this review on the German version for some reason, so here it is again!

This book is a great resource for the beginner or more advanced Brazilian Jiu Jitsu practitioner.

Marc Walder was one of the first UK black belts in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu under Mauricio Gomes. He has trained with many of the Gracies - Royce, Roger, Carlson and Royler for example - and his experience and knowledge are evident in this book.

The book contains great advice for anyone beginning or already training in BJJ - the way Marc explains things gives the whole book a very good 'feel' and has shown me of better ways of approaching and training in BJJ quite often.

The layout is very well done as well. Positions, escapes, etc. are presented in a great way graphically - far better than just a bunch of photos listed on a page like so many other technique books do.

The whole thing is very clear and straight forward, and I quite regularly refer back to this book to 'touch up' or remind myself of the details of certain moves.

Well worth the purchase.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
pro: good pictures and step-by-step explanations
con: too little content - IMHO this book covers less than half of the essential BJJ
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
I purchased this book as a white belt and still refer to it at purple. The illustrations and instructions are very detailed yet easy to follow which makes for a great read. Whether it's complex attacks or basic escapes this book covers it all for all levels!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I love this book because it is simple and well illustrated. Concentrates on the basics which you need to master to have a good game the further you progress. I would recommend this for beginners. It helped me quite a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
Nice introduction to BJJ with excellent large-size photography to break down individual submissions and escapes. Well worth a look if you're coming into Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Progresses logically from the basics to advanced techniques. Clear diagrams and step-by-step explanations of each technique. Very easy to understand and apply.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
The best book on the market for BJJ beginners. Marc Walder is a legend and I can't wait to get back to training.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
A very basic introduction to the crazy complexity of modern-day BJJ. If you want to learn - join a club (Aspinall BJJ in the NW is very good).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
For new students, a clear and concise book.
The basics explained well, which is often what you need when starting out in bjj.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)