Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.47

Save £11.52 (72%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.
Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for £0.00
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The Enigma Strain (Techno Thriller Science Fiction Best Sellers): Military Science Fiction Technothriller (Harvey Bennett Thrillers Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 37 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.47

Length: 366 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready
  • Similar books to The Enigma Strain (Techno Thriller Science Fiction Best Sellers): Military Science Fiction Technothriller (Harvey Bennett Thrillers Book 1)

Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 1 million titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more
Get a £1 credit for movies or TV
Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle ebook from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle ebooks) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at on Friday, 26 February, 2016. Terms and conditions apply

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3073 KB
  • Print Length: 366 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1508452830
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Turtleshell Press; 1 edition (27 Nov. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00N5GZGNC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 37 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #81,695 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
Not sure where my previous reviews went - though having typed them from a Kindle - anything's possible!

Anyhow - onto the book. While I ultimately got this book as part of the "three book giveaway" I'd already read it through the Amazon Unlimited 'all you can eat' book library deal. I had initially thought that the book seemed like a formula piece, the usual near end of the world, then unlikely characters pair up and save the day type of stuff.

I was surprised though. The characters were well developed and actually quite interesting, indeed we were learning about them all the way through to the end of the story which is quite unusual. Additionally, the narrative actually followed the story rather than getting bogged down in the detail which often leads an author off on a tangent. For example, without giving anything away, a fairly momentous event, very loud and explosive, shall we say. occurs near the end of the story, and yet despite this happening almost on top of them, our heroes dusted themselves off, and kept on going. It did leave me questioning the consequences of them being right next to said momentous happening - but really it was not important to the story.

Ultimately, a solution to the 'strain' which is obviously a nasty contagious virus wotsit is found, but rather surprisingly it does not involve lots of science type stuff - it is a matter of promoting social behaviour.

I'm on tenterhooks for a sequel as some bad guys were introduced as being the culprits behind the affair, and they were just starting to get interesting. Clearly the Enigma Strain was just one piece in their cunning plan - so I do hope Mr Thacker picks up the thread in a future novel.

All in all, five star excellence from what could have been a first 5 page bust. Bring it on!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I have no hesitation whatsoever in awarding The Enigma Strain five stars, for me it was Nick Thacker's best book yet and I look forward to many more in the same style/genre!
Up until reading this book I felt the Golden Crystal was the best, but The Enigma Strain was (for me) way way better! The book had me gripped right from the first few paragraphs. It's one of those books you just know you're going to really enjoy - I wasn't disappointed!
Well developed, believable characters I could visualize right from the start, that have you rooting for them when things start to go wrong - and believe me they do!
The two main characters Ben and Juliette were absolutely brilliant, totally convincing. As this is the first book in the Harvey Bennett Series I look forward to many many more.
Harvey "Ben" Bennett and Juliette Richardson I'm sure will have a long and happy relationship!
If you haven't read Nick Thacker Novels yet then you are missing some really good books. Whatever you do don't miss this one!!
I highly recommend this book - it's my first five star review!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
interesting story line, but the mysterious figures in the background seem added to allow a sequel, and rather detract from the narrative. The main problem I had was that all the excitement including a nuclear explosions and plague, seemed to have little of no effect on the country. There were quite a few "have you heard...?" questions. I imaging everyone would have heard about a nuclear explosion. Nor did the characters themselves seem at all affected by being attacked, beaten, shot at, witnessing murder, infected with a deadly virus. It seemed they reacted rather like they'd had an unpleasant visit to the dentist.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I read a lot of thrillers and I mean a lot (like 4/5 per week!) and plots can get a bit samey if I'm not too careful at what I pick out. Having never read any of Nick Thackers books before, I didn't know what to expect, but I really got hooked on this plot and can't wait for the sequel(s). The plot was memorable and intriguing with both the bomb and the virus to worry about. I'm also interested to see how the relationship between the 2 main characters develop. I will definitely be looking at Nick Thakers other offerings. It's great to discover a new author
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I was misled by the 'Military science fiction' genre as there were no military personell involved, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.
Ben was a great central character, we learn a lot about him throughout the book, the other characters were well executed too, including the shadowy figures in the background.
The story itself flowed well, though not fast paced it was full of detail and intrigue. Plenty of action was involved along with a few surprises here and there.
It will be interesting to see what comes next.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Another book by Nick Thacker that I read through in one session, as I wanted to know what happened. I have now read three of the author's books and the stories are all different from each other. All are worth reading and I now look forward to further books. The only minor point I have is that,they didn't draw me in straight away, but I knew from experience that I would get sucked into the plots and end up enjoying the books. If you like thrillers with a variety of plots I recommend Nick Thacker wholeheartedly.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This story starts steadily, then picks up pace and pulls you in . I ended up that every spare minute I had ( or that I could create ! ), I just had to pick it up and read some more.
With bombs, viruses/bacteria and the inevitable rollercoaster ride the afore said things create, you have an quite intense plot that really gives you ( as said in my title ) more bang for your bug !
Recommended to those people who enjoy thrillers in the vein of Michael Crichton and Dan Brown.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Customer Discussions