Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars8
2.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2011
i found this book very engaging and interesting and its not written by tom clancy so its no suprise it takes a very different tone to his other books so you cant compare this to clancy because his names on the cover, also i think the plot of this would be a lot more interesting and easyier to understand if you played the game but not only played the game you had to love the story as i did, the story is basically the prelude to war section of the game but a bit different and i found it very likeable in fact I read over half of it in 2 days and there are 41 chapters so for the cheap price it is I would recommend it to those who like the story of the game
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
This is definatley not Tom Clancy's best book by a mile. However if your bored, on a holiday or waiting for another book it makes ok reading just to fill in gaps. However if you want to read Clancy's work at his best i recommend Red Storm Rising.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2008
To be honest, I was never expecting a good book, but this book was just horrific. After reading about someone performing feats of agility that would be tricky for a gymnast (someone slamming onto their gut just scans badly - slamming onto the stomach is better), I was constantly jarred out of the feeling of immersion. Reading a story based around the Paris sequence we saw in the first few trailers for the game would have been better, as would having the book written by Tom Clancy himself! The characters were interesting enough, but the plot didn't really seem to give them much room to breathe properly. Major Dennison in particular seemed to be chewing the scenery...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2008
Absolute utter rubbish,no substance no characterisation.....how Clancy can associate himself with such drivel after penning Red Storm Rising is beyond me.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2008
It's hardly Red Storm Rising.

Attempt at a Clancy type novel for 10 year olds.

No in depth tech descriptions.
Poor characterisation.
Badly written.

Can't understand why he has lent his name to it (all though he now has an extra few quid of mine as I bought it due to his association).
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
This book was not to my taste, I do not like books writen by other authors under the original name. I think yhis is done for profit only!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2008
I got this in April , as I was waiting for the game to appear. Well, the game still isn't out...but sadly the book was! Less engaging than a video game and with a tedious narrative.

If the game is like the book this might be the first Clancy I avoid....
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Clancy's collection always reach Clancy's own books.
His heritage is worth continuing buying this kind of books, whether it is the original or a translated version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.