Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 2.57

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Endgame [Unabridged] [Paperback]

Andy Secombe
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
Price: 6.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, Unabridged 6.99  

Book Description

21 Sep 2007
From one its most talented new exponents, comic fantasy in the vein of Douglas Adams and Jasper Forde


Product details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Tor; 1 edition (21 Sep 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0330439987
  • ISBN-13: 978-0330439985
  • Product Dimensions: 18 x 16 x 2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 519,307 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

'An entertaining and original read'
-- South Wales Argus

'hugely enjoyable page-turner of a read, Endgame never runs out of steam...great fun, silkily written and very thought provoking stuff.' -- Death Ray

Book Description

At a cocktail party to launch his latest creations: Adam and Eve, God is challenged to a bet by the Devil. The fallen angel, unimpressed by the Boss's new toys, wagers that, far from becoming the custodians of Earth, mankind will inevitably destroy itself. God, alas, can't refuse such a wager in front of all his guests. If Satan wins, he gets his place back in Heaven and control of what little is left of the Earth. If he loses, he will retire into outer darkness and never bother his ex-boss further. Coming down to Earth, we meet Martin Gray, a simple dentist at the end of his tether, who finds himself assisting the angel Gabriel in a desperate attempt to stop the Devil laying waste to the Earth by means of a fiendishly cunning computer game. But when Martin’s wife is kidnapped and dragged down to Hell, it is clear that the problems are just beginning . . . ‘Secombe occupies his ground with confidence and never lets logic get in the way of his plot’ Guardian ‘I enjoyed it immensely . . . a comic fantasy that actually delivers on its premise. Douglas would have enjoyed it. He might even have been a bit jealous . . .' Simon Jones (‘Arthur Dent’ in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
There was nothing remarkable about Martin Gray. Read the first page
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Enormous fun and an easy read. 12 April 2013
Format:Paperback
I read this in a day and enjoyed it enormously. Basically God and the Devil make a bet at a cocktail party to launch 'Man'- if the newly created Man destroys the world within a certain time, the Devil gets to return to God's right hand. No interference is allowed, but that hasn't stopped the Devil before - cue a suicidal dentist, angels, soul collectors, a broken escalator, a golf playing God and some (brief) nasty torture.
This just twigged with my sense of humour and I am looking forward to trying another book by him. It's a really easy read and suitable for reading at bed-time (nothing to give you nightmares!) and I loved the situations and that angels can be just as grumpy as the rest of us if they get stressed...
Is Andy connected to Harry Segoon?
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Endgame 2 April 2007
Format:Paperback
A really funny read, haven't read a book this quick in ages and laughed all the way through.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but could be better. 4 Sep 2011
By Skylark - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
In 'Endgame', God and the Devil wager the Earth in a bet, and it falls on an average English family to ensure that the world isn't plunged into World War 3.

I found this book to be a nice, everyday diversion, which sits squarely in the middle of the quality spectrum of books. For a comedy, I didn't find it particularly funny, but the plot was full of action and it was easy to read.

However, it really fell down on character development. The main character, Martin, is not very likable, and remains unlikable throughout the whole story - and he was the most developed character in the book! It really annoyed me how he treated his parents-in-law like scum for no justifiable reason, and assaulted his coworker (who hadn't done anything wrong) and got away with it. I was also annoyed at the highly derogatory tone employed towards many of the other characters such as the parents-in-law and gamer geek Henry, who was portrayed as a sad and deranged loser throughout the whole book despite the fact that he did more to help save the world than Martin did.

The other thing that disappointed me was the fact that the characters were overwhelmingly male, and the few females there were didn't get to do much except nag the men and slap people on the cheek - oh, or be rescued by the brave hero (the dislikable Martin) and fall head over heels in love with him for no other reason than that he saved their life. It's hard to get any more stereotypical and one-dimensional than that.

So overall, not a bad book, but not one I'd read a second time.
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback