Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2015
Nearly two decades since it was recorded, it is surprising how mixed the reviews for End Hits are. Since while it doesn't have the recognisable fan favourites of the first two albums, musically this represents far and away the peak of the band's career.
The appeal is in the loose, jammed out nature of the songs. Gone is much of the overwrought emotion of the earlier records, replaced with a confident, experimental indie band coming into their own unique territory, defined by angular riffs and lyrics and twists and turns in the song structures. There are hints of Television here, Slint there, Wire or PiL elsewhere. If you're more interested in those bands than in Minor Threat then there will be much to like in this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2006
The decision to name this album one of the five albums that I would take to a desert island is entirely disputable. Not because End Hits is undeserving of 5 stars but because each Fugazi album is individually awesome, and to single out one was nearly impossible!
I chose End Hits in particular because for me, this album is Fugazi's Sgt. Pepper. Now I'm not sizing Fugazi to the Beatles musically, but I believe that this album marked a musical transcendence for the band. Like Revolver or Sgt. Pepper, this album is a bridge, a fusion of old and new where the bands musicianship and song writing has budded and developed. Where the song arrangements matured and the structuring grew richer and thicker. I won't attempt to categorize each track or compare and contrast them to other music and bands to help you the reader better identify with this album. Doing that would defeat the identity of the band and minimize the significance of their music. I will say this though; Fugazi is a rock band in the truest sense of the saying. They put their souls into what they do and what they take back is the ability to personally connect with their music and the talent to structure and perform it sans ego.
For those of you new to Fugazi or for those who have only heard the song "Waiting Room" I would not recommend this album to you. I would suggest starting from the beginning with 13 Songs and chronologically progressing forward until you find your favorite niche. Mine is right here with End Hits.
Fugazi's End Hits is truly one of the best albums of all time. With Fugazi it's really listeners choice, in my opinion every album is a classic. To a new comer this album will grow on you like a weed. A beautiful, hard hitting, guitar smashing, bass pumping, lyrically ambigous weed. Cause that's End Hits.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2002
Upon first listens, end hits may seem like a distant and disjointed release. These perceptions are waved after a concerted and concentrated listen of the whole album from start to finish.
For example, closing track "F/D" appears an appauling closer with it's random parts stitched together somewhat superficially, but after listening to the whole album from the start(try listening to it on a walk in the countryside) the track's anticlimatic nature is what makes it a perfect climax to the album. The opening tracks are explosive and brilliant. "Break"'s rumbling rhythm and stinging guitars are bolstered by it's piano plinks and yelling, and "Place Position" is a tense guy-sung stormer with one of the best riffs ever written by fugazi. Elsewhere, "Five Corporations" is an old-school bohemian mackaye rant, with an excellent call and response between vocals and instruments. "Recap Modotti", "Floating Boy", and "Pink Frosty" are territories to which fugazi has never ventured to before, and as with most experimental music, the results are mixed. Recap has an incredible vocal melody but lacks musical direction, Floating Boy constantly raises the question, "so what?", and Pink Frosty is whispering, haunting, but lacks a climax. "Closed Captioned" is another poor track, which comes out much better in demo form(see the instrument soundtrack). Guilford Fall is disjointed but fantastic, caustic acrostic and no surprise are more typical fugazi moments, with solid verse - chorus transitions. Closing track "F/D" appears an appauling closer with it's random parts stitched together somewhat superficially, but after listening to the whole album from the start(try listening to it on a walk in the countryside) the track's anticlimatic nature is what makes it a perfect climax to the album.
Viewing end hits through it's individual tracks would be a crime, viewing it as a whole document reveals an exciting, at times chilling, experimental take on classic jazz influenced post hardcore as created by fugazi themselves. This is fugazi's most interesting and challenging moment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2002
I'll put it bluntly: this isn't one of Fugazi's better albums.
There are certainly some good tracks here, particularly "Caustic Acrostic", "Place Position" and "Arpeggiator". The clearer production also allows the interesting instrumentation on "Pink Frosty" to shine through. However, the album is bizarrely disjointed, with lots of stop/start dynamics that mean songs never get off the ground or build to a climax. This problem is worst throughout the second half of the album. "F/D" for example ends the album not with a bang, but a whimper of lo-fi noodling.
If you're looking for the harder Fugazi songs, get Repeater instead, whereas if you're looking for Fugazi songs with more varied instrumentation and polished production, Red Medicine or The Argument are the ones to go for. Maybe I'm being a little hard on End Hits and it needs a lot of listens to sink in, but this is the way I feel about it at the moment.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
its what I expected..quality...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2000
i think this is little differ from the other fugazi albums. its not only hardcore. you wait the song finish but it still going on you wait the refrain but it never come again i think its something different i called it avant hardcore i think you realy like it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Great Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)