Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars15
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2013
coudnt finish this book. i think the author must be seriously disturbed. little characrter definition but reims of gruesome details of torture rape and murder
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Like an old slash movie, its page after page of slice and dice. It may be a great story but I couldn't stay with it long enough to find out. After a paragraph or two, it seemed to me that all that had happened was two differing central characters had killed and mutilated some hundreds of people for no other reason than it makes for juvenile titillating reading.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
This is a very violent book completely drenched in gore, dark in tone and grim in outlook from the outset. There's none on the black humour which characterises the work of Joe Abercrombie etc.

That being said it read well and the story sped along, it wasn't very taxing following the narrative and there was a grim satisfaction seeing how far the author could push things.

I did think that all the 'reveals' that followed one on top of the other were slightly ham fisted and somewhat disappointing, but a least went some way to explain the depravity of a lot of the action. Overall 3 stars, easy enough holiday read and I will look for the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Sometimes a book starts off with a great rush daring the reader in,this book does, but then for some reason just meanders along ,filling ig in strange gaps that have no relevance to anything in the original story , the plot disappears somewhat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Fantastic, I couldn't put it down. Can't wait for the next installment. I put it up the with A song of ice and fire series if not above it, which I know for me is the highest praise I can give
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
spot on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
A enjoyable journey the twists take you by surprise and push you on to read a bit more you can't put this book down for long enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
This book whilst flawed in places due to story inconsistencies was such a good read I felt that it deserved the full five stars. The characters are deep enough to let you care but distant enough also to allow for their flaws to be seen. I can't wait till the second book is released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
A great story with good background details, the story keeps you reading to see where it goes next. Eagerly awaiting the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.