Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2001
Elmer has his cousin Wilbur over and the delights begin! Wilbur can throw his voice and make other objects seems as though they can speak. Every child will envy this talent and delight in the tricks Wilbur plays on Elmer and the other elephants. A beautifully designed book destined to be a classic.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2007
This is a lovely book. The story is very amusing and the CD is beautifully read. Its particularly handy for those nights when you haven't got the engergy for several bedtime stories! Plus my 4yr old loves the version which dings when its time to turn the page as he can hold the book and do everything himself. Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
Readers who delighted in the antics of Elmer the patchwork elephant in the first title in this series will be delighted to discover that he has an equally mischievous cousin, Wilbur. Wilbur is a ventriloquist, who can make it sound like his voice is coming from all sorts of different places. He uses this to have great fun as Elmer and the herd come to look for him, but for a while it looks like the joke is on him!

David McKee's illustrations are full of warmth and humour. The story of Elmer and Wilbur is well-written, and a pleasure to read.

This review refers to the paperback edition of 'Elmer and Wilbur' published by Andersen Press in 2009.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Both Elephants different, both adorable..especially for elephant lovers! Another must for little people's book shelves.
Goes nicely as a continuation from the original.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2010
A lovely story for pre-school children. I bought an Elmer toy to accompany it and am in the process of making a story sack for my pre-school. The story introduces 'playing jokes' on others and a good discussion can follow this story talking through emotions from Elmers perspective and Wilbur's too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Great for fantasy settings in Year 1. The children love stories and this book looked very appealing.
Gave it five stars as I felt the story was great. would recommend this to teachers or parents alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
This is a great book for a bedtime story. I read it to my two little girls every night and they love it! They even kiss Elmer & Wilbur goodnight before curling up and going off to sleep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
Same as other David McKee books, I love reading this to my 4 month old daughter. Admittedly she is more interested in the colours at this stage, but she will grow to love the story too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
I bought this book with Elmers special day and the Elmer toy for my great niece's 3rd birthday she loves the stories, and keeps the toy with as much as possible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Nice length of story for my 3 year old who is obsessed with Elmer and berries. Think this is one of his favourite stories now. Lovely to look at and read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.