Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

See Wishlist
Elgar: Symphony No. 1, In The South & In Moonlight
See larger image

Elgar: Symphony No. 1, In The South & In Moonlight

14 Jun 2010 | Format: MP3

£4.99 (VAT included if applicable)
Buy the CD album for £11.16 and get the MP3 version for FREE. Does not apply to gift orders.
Provided by Amazon EU Sàrl. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations. Complete your purchase of the CD album to save the MP3 version to your Amazon music library.
Song Title Artist

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 7 April 2003
  • Label: Halle Concerts Society
  • Copyright: 2003 Hallé Concerts Society
  • Total Length: 1:16:23
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B003O6ZOU8
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 29,188 in MP3 Albums (See Top 100 in MP3 Albums)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Classical Musician on 9 Jan 2012
Format: Audio CD
It has now been around ten years since this recording of Elgar's Symphony No. 1 was made and the Halle have gone from strength to strength under Sir Mark Elder's inspirational directorship. I recently saw them at the 2011 BBC Proms and was so impressed by their collective musicianship and warm, glowing sound. They truly are one of the finest British orchestras around at the moment, able to compete with London's best.

If you're looking for a good, solid modern recording of this symphony to complement the old classics by Sir Edward himself, Barbirolli and Boult, then look no further than this magnificent account. Both BBC Radio 3 and the Gramophone magazine have given this recording top marks for it's consummate musicianship, style, virtuosity and energy - in addition to the fact that the recording quality from the Halle's house label is top notch (certainly when compared to the early LSO Live recordings from around the same time!).

Elgar's music is the life blood of the Halle, indeed apart from the LSO it is probably the one orchestra outside London which has had the longest experience of performing this music. One can really sense that the players have the Elgarian style at their fingertips - the rubato and sudden dynamic shifts are brought off so elegantly and naturally in addition to the general pacing of each movement sounding so 'right'.

Under Mark Elder, the first movement has just the right amount of noble tread, but never loses that strong pulse which must always run through the music. There is such a quiet intensity in the playing that it is hard not to be immediately drawn in to the magic of this opening theme. Elder has a wonderful grasp of the long line in this music and as a result everything sounds so inevitable.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers


Look for similar items by category