Elgar: Cello Concerto / E... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Elgar: Cello Concerto / Enigma Variations
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Elgar: Cello Concerto / Enigma Variations

Price: £28.77 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Quick Discount Sales and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
5 new from £11.95 16 used from £1.44
£28.77 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details Only 1 left in stock. Sold by Quick Discount Sales and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Performer: Andre Navarra
  • Orchestra: Halle Orchestra
  • Conductor: John Barbirolli
  • Audio CD (20 Aug. 1991)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI Classical
  • ASIN: B000002S2G
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 168,055 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Variations On A Original Theme ('Enigma') Op. 36 Theme (Andante)
2. Enigma Variations I C.A.E. (The Composer's Wife)
3. Enigma Variations II H.D.S.P. (Hew David Steuart-Powell)
4. Enigma Variations III R.B.T. (Richard Baxter Townshend)\
5. Enigma Variations IV W.M.B. (William Meath Baker)
6. Enigma Variations V R.P.A. (Richard Penrose Arnold)
7. Enigma Variations VI Ysobel (Isabel Fitton)
8. Enigma Variations VII Troyte (Troyte Griffith)
9. Enigma Variations VIII W.N. (Winifred Norbury)
10. Enigma Variations IX Nimrod (A.J.Jaeger)
11. Enigma Variations X Intermezzo Dorabella (Dora Penny)
12. Enigma Variations XI G.R.S. (George Robertson Sinclair)
13. Enigma Variations XII B.G.N. (Basil G. Nevinson)
14. Enigma Variations XIII Romanza:***(Lady Mary Lygon)
15. Enigma Variations XIV Finale: E.D.U. (the composer)
16. Introduction and Allegro Op. 47
17. Cello Concerto In minor Op. 85 I Adagio-Moderato
18. Cello Concerto In minor II Lento-Allegro molto
19. Cello Concerto In Minor III Adagio
20. Cello Concerto In E Minor IV Allegro, ma non troppo
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Bacchus TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 31 Dec. 2010
Barbirolli made later recordings of all the works on this CD and these have become cornerstones of the catalogue. I have all of them in my collection.

These are earlier recordings that he did with his own orchestra, the Halle, in the 1950s. Being satisfied (and deeply impressed) by his later recordings of the works on this CD, I have avoided this one - what a loss.

To start with, the recording quality is pretty amazing. They were recorded on 35mm film tape rather than half inch recording tape by the Mercury team and have astonishing immediacy and amazingly lifelike. Barbirolli uses an organ in the finale of the Enigma Variations (something he did not do in his Philharmonia remake I seem to recall). This is a very heavy moment and I am not sure my speakers can quite cope with it. The recording is a little bass heavy but this is a small caveat.

For people who consider Barbirolli to be a bit indulgent as a conductor, these recordings may come as a surprise. The performances are very direct and nicely flowing. They therefore complement rather than compete with the later recordings.

Of course, Barbirolli's later recording of the Cello Concerto with Jacqueline du Pre is a very famous and special rendition of the work. However, it is not without its detractors. I sometimes found her tone a little bit steely. Andre Navarra, by contrast, plays with golden tone. He plays gorgeously and I have been very happy to listen to this particular recording.

Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
A "desert island" disk 16 April 2013
By Mahler fan - Published on Amazon.com
I've had this CD for years. Its remasterings, especially of the "Enigma" Variations and the Introduction and Allegro for Strings, are wonderful, and the performances are the best of Barbirolli's several recordings of these works. The concerto is also one of those great moments in music recording history. As much as I love Barbirolli's collaboration with Jacqueline du Pré, Navarre's Cello Concerto is a gem without qualification. This is one of the disks I would grab to save if disaster were eminent. It is one of those disks that should be in every music lover's collection. It is of course out of print, but used copies are widely available. Get it and weep with joy as the organ pedal enters in the final "Enigma" variation.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions