Buy Used
£3.66
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: SUPER FAST SHIPPING, DISPATCHED SAME DAY FROM UK WAREHOUSE. NO NEED TO WAIT FOR BOOKS FROM USA. GREAT BOOK IN GOOD OR BETTER CONDITION. MORE GREAT BARGAINS IN OUR ZSHOP.
Trade in your item
Get a £3.81
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Elfslayer (Gotrek & Felix) Paperback – 26 Jul 2008


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£91.58 £3.64


Trade In this Item for up to £3.81
Trade in Elfslayer (Gotrek & Felix) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £3.81, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: The Black Library (26 July 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1844166635
  • ISBN-13: 978-1844166633
  • Product Dimensions: 10.8 x 2.7 x 17.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 155,143 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By T. Brown on 2 Feb. 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I will go on record and say that this book is the best out of all the gotrek and felix books so far, something i wouldnt think i would be saying about one of nathan long's versions but it really is that good.

This book has 2 totally different tones to it. The first is showing a gritty side to life in the empire, alongside some psychological profiling of gotrek by felix. Although nothing new to any warhammer book this helps set the foundation of the story very well.

The interesting part happens later on when the dark elves appear. The dark elves are probably the major player in the warhammer world right now, with malekith's fingers in just about every evil pie on the planet. They make a good enemy here, and ou get to find out of lot of stuff about dark elf culture you never read about anywhere else. Be warned those of prudish nature, as the druchii themselves are very nasty and also sexual perverted creatures. Probably not a good book for younger readers, although the sexual references arent too strong.

Overall the writing quality is strong, with the action fast paced, and felix being in more types of impending peril than ever before. Max Schreiber also makes a welcome reappearance which helps flesh out the characters. With Malakai and Ulrika appearing in the last book, and max in this one, im willing to guess Snorri or another character will be turning up in the next one.

If you like the gotrek and felix saga so far you will not be disappointed by this.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 16 Oct. 2008
Format: Paperback
There aren't many fans of the Warhammer world that don't know of the exploits of Felix and Gotrek that's been thrilling fans since its original release in 1999 (although the tales that appear in Trollslayer were released in the 80's). If you haven't heard of the duo then Gotrek is the biggest failure as a Slayer known to the dwarves (basically because he's still breathing) who has battled everything from Trolls to Daemons, the Greenskins to Undead along with Dark Elves and Dragonkind. Here in their latest adventure (written by Nathan Long) they fight the Dark Elves who seek to retrieve one of the lost treasures of the elves and bring about the fall of the world. Wonderfully written with cracking dialogue it shows that whilst Nathan is relatively new to the characters, he has a made them his own bringing them to a new generation. As usual with Nathan's writing, its bolshy, its combat packed and above all it's a gripping ride to the last page.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Detra Fitch VINE VOICE on 10 Oct. 2008
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Felix Jaeger has been the companion of Slayer Gotrek Gurnisson for most of his adult life. During that time Felix has battled alongside the dwarf to defeat trolls, dragons, skaven, daemons, orcs, and so much more. Gotrek was never more happy than while in battle, hoping for the glorious death in which Felix has promised to write up and publish for all to know. The pair had traveled a great distance to battle evil, only to learn that they were too late. Since then, Gotrek seems to have done what Felix thought was not possible. Gotrek has given up. All the dwarf did now was drink horrid-flavored, weak beer and mope.

The pair travels to Marienburg to fulfill the death wish of Felix's father. Felix is to retrieve a letter from Hans Euler, a blackmailer. While doing so, the pair runs into their old companion, the wizard Max Schreiber. Max and a beautiful seeress, Claudia Pallenberger, have been sent to investigate evil portents off the north coast of the Empire. Gotrek agrees to join them even though it meant sharing a ship with a high born elf and his men. This begins the duo's most dangerous adventure to date. In the Sea of Claws they must battle dark elves, skaven, and an ancient weapon that the druchii will use to cause earthquakes, tidal waves, raise valleys and lower mountains into the sea bed, utterly destroying their elvish cousins in Ulthuan and all humans.

***** Author Nathan Long has done a terrific job since he took over the series a few books back. The only difference I have really noticed is that Felix has become way too nice. Here is a book you CAN judge by its cover. The story is as wild and adventurous as the book's cover suggests. Dark elves, sea dragons, black magic...the works! Highly recommended reading! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
When one author takes over from another writing such popular characters then criticism from many fans is inevitable. This is because change is inevitable and people are afraid of change.

The first couple of Gotrek and Felix books by Nathan Long were adequate continuations of the saga, I feel it is only with this book that Long truly relaxes into writing these novels and is able to bring much needed depth and realism to the characters and the series. As a fan of all the Gotrek and Felix novels I feel that Long has 'turned on' something in his writing that perhaps he had held back from in his previous Gotrek and Felix publications, perhaps this represents his personal evolution as a writer but I think it more likely that the writing talent was there already and it was simply a matter of building momentum with the series. That and not wanting to shake things up too much out of respect to the fans and the original author.

Without giving anything away for those who haven't read it, Elfslayer sees our heroes embroiled in an adventure the scale of which rivals previous efforts, there is no shortage of action here! The ending is second to none in the entire series and the humour used throughout really adds to the depth of story telling.

If you are not already a fan of the series but like fantasy novels with a heavy emphasis on action I think you will enjoy this book but I would recommend getting one of the omnibus books as they are effectively three books for the price of one and you could start at the beginning of the series. For fans of Gotrek and Felix, I think this novel marks a turning point as the first of the Nathan Long novels to really leave a lasting impression on me.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback