Buy Used
£8.64
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Used Good condition book may have signs of cover wear and/or marks on corners and page edges. Inside pages may have highlighting, writing and underlining. All purchases eligible for Amazon customer service and a 30-day return policy.
Trade in your item
Get a £2.86
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Elektra The Scorpio Key (Marvel Knights) Paperback – 1 Apr 2002

2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, 1 Apr 2002
"Please retry"
£19.50 £8.00


Trade In this Item for up to £2.86
Trade in Elektra The Scorpio Key (Marvel Knights) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £2.86, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Marvel Comics; First edition thus. Paperback. edition (1 April 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0785108432
  • ISBN-13: 978-0785108436
  • Product Dimensions: 16.8 x 0.8 x 25.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 919,316 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Synopsis

After being brought back from death, ninja assassin Elektra is hired by SHIELD to go to Iraq and retrieve a mysterious box that is currently in the possession of Saddam Abed Dassam, the nation's leader and Hydra's pawn.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
Elektra remains one of the more interesting comic book figures - she's a little more complex than most, and very conflicted. I'd highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys great graphic art, as it has a range of styles within it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 21 April 2002
This is no idle boast Elektra fans. When Marvel wanted someone to resurrect Elektra, Brian Bendis was the guy they chose. After initially turning down their offer on the grounds that he couldn't fill Frank's shoes, he decided to accept and gave us this cracking story.
Elektra is hired by Nick Fury (of S.H.I.E.L.D) to go to Iraq and steal a powerful artifact from an obvious Saddam Hussain Dictator and does so in explosive fashion. The dialogue in this story really kicks some and has Bendis stamped all over it! Special mention must go out to Chuck Austen who does the artwork, as his style is quite unlike any other i've seen and gives the story an eerie quality. A must buy for any Elektra fan (or Bendis fan:). Also check out his monthly work on Marvel's Daredevil.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 6 reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Good writing, horrid art 18 Jun. 2003
By Orlando - Published on Amazon.com
Brain Michael Bendis is one of today's greats.
His work on Alias, Ultimate Spider-man, Daredevil, Powers, Ultimate X-Men - not to mention his past works (Jinx, Goldfish, Sam & Twitch, etc. etc.) - is fantastic. He's a constant main-stay at the top of the charts AND he's a fan-favorite.
I was very excited when he was put on to bring back the Elektra title, especially on "Marvel Knights," with it's slightly harder edge.
I don't want to give away the story, but it basically gives insight into Elektra, an assassin-for-hire and an the interesting tale of the scorpion key. Her character has Daredevil roots, but you won't find daredevil as a character in this story. This is about her, and her post-mortem journey (she was killed with her own sai, and yet came back...). The story starts off pretty nicely, but later on, you get disconnected from Elektra's character. Overall, it's a good story - one that I would give four stars.
This is a graphic novel, a collection of comic books - a visual medium with equal importance to art as writing. The story is good. The art however, is absolutely horrid. Chuck Austen is currently the writer on many books, including Uncanny X-Men, Captain America, Superman: Metropolis, The Eternal, etc. He's known as a mediocre writer, with occasionally good stories. Personally, I like some of his stories, while hating others (i.e. - Endangered Species). However, he does the art on Elektra (as he did on U.S. War Machine - except this time with Colors), and his art (if you can call it that) is disgusting. Think Ugly, misshapen Barbie dolls. There is no passion, no emotion in his pencils and his inability to draw (even with computer assistance) at the calibre one comes to expect from professionals takes away from the book, especially considering how beautiful Greg Horn's covers are. The art gets two stars (with a BIG bump from the covers... Austen alone would barely deserve half a star).
So this book overall gets 3 stars. If you really want to get to know Elektra a little bit, maybe check out some of Frank Miller's work first, he's done a couple of quintessential Elektra stories. This book is good and worth buying only if you can get over the art.
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Great writing overshadowed by some very lacking art 15 April 2004
By N. Durham - Published on Amazon.com
Don't let the eye popping cover art fool you, the art contained in Elektra: The Scorpion Key is very lacking to say the least. Chuck Austen (current writer of Uncanny X-Men, and writer/artist for U.S. War Machine) has never been anywhere near solid as an artist before he became an exclusive writer, and it shows here in this book collecting the first few issues of Elektra relaunched under the Marvel Knights banner. Brian Michael Bendis (Daredevil, Alias, Ultimate Spider-Man) has a very well crafted story here, but the disfigured art drags it down. Were it not for Bendis' stellar (as usual) writing, this book wouldn't be worth reading, but if you can get past Austen's art, this is worth reading for Elektra and Daredevil readers.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
The writing may be good.... 7 Jan. 2008
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
But the art is too horrific to be able to tell. Seriously, this is THE SINGLE WORST EXAMPLE OF ART I've ever seen come out of the Big 2.

I'm not even an art buff. I don't know who draws anything. But I now know the name Chuck Austen because the art is SO BAD that even Bendis cannot save the book.

Yeesh!!
Graphic SF Reader 3 Sept. 2007
By Blue Tyson - Published on Amazon.com
Yet another take on Elektra, with not too much point it.

Elektra talks for a while to one of her targets. She is offered a deal by that head dude at Shield if she will perform just one small task for them.

To get off the planet's most wanted killers, let alone killer babes list, it is not going to be very easy, though.
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Elektra-fying 15 Aug. 2002
By Mel Odom - Published on Amazon.com
Ninja-for-hire, Elektra, once killed by Daredevil's greatest foe returns in ELEKTRA: THE SCORPIO KEY. In the past, she had been the world's most feared assassin. In the past, she had been Daredevil's lover. In the past, she had been killed only to rise again. The story opens with Elektra confronting the man who killed her father. She holds the guy at sai-point and begins telling him a story, letting him know she isn't going to kill him--yet. She tells him how the story began a week ago in Paris, how she was approached by S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Stanley Dreyfuss and commissioned to assassinate Saddam Abed Dasam, ruler of Iraq, and steal an ornate box adorned with two black scorpions poised to lash out with their tails. Of course, there is a kicker, HYDRA, the evil organization that constantly wars against S.H.I.E.L.D. and the Western powers, lurks in the shadows. Elektra turns the offer down flat until she is personally contacted by Colonel Nick Fury, legendary World War II hero and rough-and-tough agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. Even when talking to Nick Fury face-to-face, Elektra is reluctant to take the deal, in spite of Fury's offer to erase her record and take her off the Most Wanted list. Only when she finds out the true stakes of the high-level espionage capter--the fabled Scorpio Key--does Elektra swing into action. And her decisions are not going to be popular with the people trying to manipulate her.
Brian Michael Bendis is a very popular writer among legions of comic book fans. In addition to creating and writing his award-winning series, POWERS, he also regularly scripts ULTIMATE SPIDER-MAN, ALIAS, and DAREDEVIL. All of his work is fast-tracked into the graphic novel format. Chuck Austen is a good artist and has done work on U.S. WAR MACHINE, but has recently taken over the writing chores on UNCANNY X-MEN. The colorist, Nathan Eyring, developed a style over the books that was simply amazing.
Bendis' dialogue, as always with any project he touches, was great and lent itself to explosive artistic rendering. Even the scene where Elektra held Stanley at bay in Paris with the sai under the table showed the motion and the action about to break loose. The action sequences detailed by Austen are absolutely mesmerizing, and--at times--chilling in their execution (literally!) and raw savagery. In Austen's capable hands, Elektra becomes a poetess of death. Nick Fury comes through as the character most Marvel Comics fans know and love. He's tough and irascible, totally devoted to his view of the world and what should be done in it. Nathan Eyring performed an outstanding display of colors, shading mood, action, and suspense with a skill seldom seen in the comics format.
As good as Bendis is, he was a little loose on this graphic novel. Elektra begins by offering a story that lets the reader inside her mind and heart, but by the fourth section of the story, she is distant from the reader, only a series of images played out against a series of media interviews. The fifth chapter keeps Elektra distant, making the reader guess what she is feeling and thinking when there was so much more in the beginning. Also, the twist with Stanley's true nature was totally unexpected and seemed almost to come out of left field although it was planned. The final chapter in the graphic novel really doesn't mesh well with the first five that complete a whole story, but the inclusion helps Elektra fans keep the series all together in trade paperback format.
ELEKTRA: THE SCORPIO KEY is recommended for fans of Bendis' and Austen's work. Comics fans interested in the field of espionage and Elektra will also want to add this one to their collections. People who enjoy Ed Brubaker's and Greg Rucka's writing will want to give Bendis a try if they've not encountered him before. He knows a lot of tricks as a writer, and he shows quite a few of them here.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback