Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.94+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 June 2007
`Burnout Dominator' on the PSP has all of the high speed, action packed thrills of the previous Burnout games, but is a little different and not for the better.

The first thing that you will notice if you have played either Burnout 3 Takedown, Revenge or Legends is that traffic checking (smashing traffic going the same way as you out of your way) has been removed. This makes the races a bit harder as when you touch another car, you will crash - just like in the original Burnout.

The next bad point is that Crash Mode (one of the best modes in the more recent Burnouts) has been removed and seems to have been replaced by some new modes.
First is Maniac Mode where you earn points by basically driving on the wrong side of the road, execute near misses and by drifting around corners. Fun as it may sound, it does get a little repetitive after a while.
Next is Drift Mode where you earn points by simply drifting around corners.
And then there is Near-Miss Mode which can get frustratingly hard as the aim of this is to earn points by driving as closely to other traffic as possible. This generally results in a lot of crashes until the time runs out and if you are one to like to get all of the gold medals (like myself), this can make things a little difficult. There also seems to be a lack of traffic on the track to be able to build your points up to get the gold!

On the plus side, `Burnout Dominator' is great fun to play and quite challenging, with very impressive visuals for the PSP and also a pretty decent soundtrack. It is a game I'd definitely recommend for fans of the Burnout series and newcomers alike, but there are better Burnouts out there.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 March 2009
My eyes ache, my head hurts, but boy have I had fun with this game!

I'm a big fan of racing games and so far this is the best one on the PSP I've played apart from Wipeout Pure.

Brilliant, perfect Arcade racing with the added tension of trying to take out opponents and dodge traffic!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2008
I would never have gone out and bought this game. It's just not a genre that has ever really appealed to me.

Burnout Dominator was bought for me by chance and it has quickly become one of my favorite games of all time. There's loads of different types of game, all of which are great fun in their own unique ways, my favorite being Maniac mode, where you quite simply have to drive like a nutcase!

The speed of the game really gets the adrenaline going, and whilst the game is a challenge, the learning curve is perfect and it's almost impossible to get frustrated with it.

It must also be said that it is an outstanding showcase of the graphical power of the PSP.

This is highly recommended to all gamers everywhere!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
Purchased Burnout Dominator for my son's fifth birthday, he loves it! Prompt delivery, and what an amazing price! will definately buy again, thank you!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
This game has some very good graphics for a psp game.

It has some new modes as well as other modes from previous games. The drift mode is something new and fun.

There is no crash mode which is a shame but the varity of other modes does make up for it.

Very much fun and does brighten up long tube journeys.

I would recommend for not just burnout fans but also racing fans who own a psp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
Burnout once again brings handheld users blistering paced driving action.

The first thing you will notice about this iteration of the franchise is the absolute eye candy factor. Not a single frame rate drop and wonderfully detailed city scapes to fly through.

The usual mechanic of taking out rivals, racking up points for dangerous driving, filling your boost gauge and firing about as rapidly as possible is in full effect once again.

You are presented with several categories of race types, starting with the less beefily customised cars moving onto series such as hot rods and super cars as you progress through the game and unlock more and more of the content. It is this mechanic that keeps you driving on attempting to get golds in all race types and trying to hit elusive achievement trophies.

Each series of car is made up of races that can be straightforward road races, takedown challenges, rival takedown races, maniac mode (read as: drive like a mad nutter against the clock and rack up as many points as possible) and so on. Plenty of variety there.

Everything is set up for the arcade racer.

Against the game, I personally found the courses, wonderfully rendered as they are, lacking in personality. I just bombed into a race, didn't really care about the backdrop and just focussed on the challenge set to me. This is how the game is set up to be however.

Those who have fond memories of getting to learn every inch of courses like on Gran Turismo, won't find the same joy here. Also the pace is so fast that you rarely find yourself fighting the beastly roads like you would on a rally game. As I say, its all merely a backdrop for the carnage.

With GTMobile scheduled to appear after PS3 GT5 is complete, and allegedly running at GT4 detail levels. Road freaks will get their kicks there. This will suit for those who just want to dive into some pure arcade fun with no hassles. Perfect for the platform really and a hell of alot better than the competition (namely Ridge Racer).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
loe it playing it now ! great game brings bk memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2007
To start off with I am a big fan of the Burnout series I have played all of the games and there hasn't been one that wasn't fun to play and this one holds no exception. For starters the graphics are very good even though it's on the PSP and the game play although fast, is fairly easy to use with the PSP controls. The only thing that lets it down is that once again the makers of Burnout have tried to make the game more exciting by adding complicated new challenges in. Normally when you first play a Burnout game it starts with all out action, but now they have decided to make you endure about 5 different races in which all you do is drive round the track on your own, instead of the typical Burnout we more commonly know where you drive like a maniac trying to destroy the other drivers.

Apart from this small point I think that this Burnout is very good, there are new cars, tracks and most of all they have kept what makes Burnout Burnout, fast game play, great music and cool crashes. A must buy game for anyone who likes racing games or anyone who owns a PSP.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
its a Christmas gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
My partner loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)