Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars135
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2015
I received this book as a much appreciated gift along with the companion H.P. Lovecraft volume as a Christmas present. What first struck me was the sheer immensity of the book. It weighs in at 1020+ pages and is about three inches thick! The next thing of course was the iconic and understated image on the dust jacket.

The book is rammed full of all the classic horror stories and poetry from this melancholic master of gothic horror. The verses include Lenore, Annabel Lee, The Raven, among what must be the most comprehensive collection I have seen.

His detective stories including Murders in the Rue Morgue considerably predate Sherlock Holmes and invented the modern detective story as we recognise it and as would be expected, are included here. And then there are the horror stories The Masque of the Red Death, The Pit and the Pendulum, The Black Cat, The TellTale Heart, - a total of sixty in all. Again as comprehensive a collection as I have ever seen.

There are no frills, no leather bound gold embossed cover, no gold edged pages, no sketches or illustrations as with some of the expensive alternatives, but at the price an absolutely fabulous bargain for the most comprehensive hardback collection of such a classic and influential writer. Buy it now or be forever haunted and tormented by your guilt.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
A great collection of tales and poems without equal. Horror to make your skin crawl and poems to sooth it
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I have a large collection of Edgar Allan Poe publications - well... not large, but several hardback books. I have been a fan of the master since I was a demented teenager back in the 1960s! Anyway, I decided to buy this Kindle version because I noticed some titles that I did not have copies of, so I am completely satisfied - and in addition there is a list of films, TV series directly and indirectly inspired by the writer and a reading guide included. An essential addition to any collection for any fan of Edgar Allan Poe...
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These stories really are spine chilling and also translated well to the big screen.

I don't think anyone of that era can compete with Poe for the sheer grotesque value of his stories.

I learnt the Raven off by heart as a teenager and still recall most of it now.

A brilliant book worth having as a paperback, hardback and as an e-book.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've always had a liking for Edgar Allan Poe, with his tales of horror, mystery and suspense, done in the atmospheric prose of a master writer. Since I live close enough, I've even made some trips to his gravesite, a place that is always surrounded by a sense of sadness.

Poe was a tormented genius who died young, under mysterious circumstances, and at the time of his death he wasn't deservingly popular. Certainly his work was not cute romances for the masses -- he explored the darkness of the human heart, love, satire, and the earliest whodunnit stories. And "Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe" brings together all of his poetry and writings in one book.

Poe's fiction writings include short stories and novellas, which tend to be rather weird -- a treasure-hunt and a golden insect, a ship caught in a whirlpool, a hypnotized man talks about the universe, and stories of despair, madness, and occasionally beauty. There is also his trilogy of Monsieur C. Auguste Dupin stories, which were the first to feature a brilliant detective solving an impossible crime.

Most people know about "The Raven" (which even has the Baltimore Ravens named after it) but Poe actually wrote a lot of poetry, most of which readers never heard of. Sometimes dark, or whimsical, or even both. "By a route obscure and lonely/Haunted by ill angels only/Where an Eidolon, named NIGHT/On a black throne reigns upright..."

And, of course, the horror. This is what Poe is best known for, including such well-known stories as "The Fall Of The House Of Usher." But there are also lesser-known gems -- tales of a plague invading a party, being buried alive, a portrait that siphoned the life out of its subject, and a nightly visit to an Italian crypt leading to madness.

Don't read "Complete Stories and Poems" all at once. It's too intense. It's better to soak it in a little at a time, so that you can get a better feel for the different kinds of writing that Poe did, and how he excelled at pretty much everything he put down on paper. Most great writers can't boast of that much.

Poe's writing is what makes even his least story or poem come alive -- he brought a gothic, misty vibrancy to his stories, and could make his quiet dialogue seem utterly chilling (" "I have no name in the regions which I inhabit. I was mortal, but am fiend..."). It's not hard to see why he was an influence on authors such as Fyodor Dostoevsky, Oscar Wilde, Arthur Conan Doyle and Franz Kafka.

"Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe" is a must-have for anyone with an appreciation for great literature and beautiful, dark writing.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I've wanted this for ages and was delighted to find it on Amazon for such a great price! Great buy
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Well tried and tested, macabre, chilling, interesting: dip in , hop out , enjoy! The perfect travelling companion for solo trips, with head under the duvet on spooky nights!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
An excellent collection of writings by (arguably) one of the greatest American writers of all time. It has everything, ranging from the well known 'The Raven', 'The Pit and the Pendulum', 'Tell-Tale Heart', 'The Fall of the House of Usher', among others and all at a very reasonable price. Other reviewers have criticised the paper covering for the book, but it presents a very nice touch (in my honest opinion) and looks very natural in a book shelf, not that it will spend much time on the shelf, with as many poems and short stories in it. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Edgar Allan Poe's stories are excellent and it is hardly surprising that many have had very good film and TV adaptations. They are the stories that stick in your mind *even when you don't want them to*. Edgar Allan Poe had a fear of premature burial for example. Anyone who has read his tales will now share that fear to a greater or lesser extent.

The close and strange relationship between the brother and sister in The Fall of the House of Usher creates a narrative which stays with the reader. This is helped by the "texture" of the language used in the tale. The way he presents the tales is at least as important as the (sometimes groundbreaking) content.

Read it late at night when you are alone in the house :)

Salt Wars
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
no words for that really... powerful, atmospheric, emotional... if you looking for some beautiful words that is read for you
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse