Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2013
Seriously, who buys an economics book for some light reading? Well me actually. I know, my brain isn't quite wired correctly but there you go. Anyway, I bought this in an attempt to understand what those untrustworthy, money grabbing, economy derailing, second house expense claiming, nonsense speaking politicians are actually talking about. It turns out they've mainly been reading this book. If you wanted to understand what fiscal policy is, why do interest rates matter, how does the micro and macro economy work? Then this book is for you. Not only does it make you look smart at dinner parties (does anyone have dinner parties anymore?) but it helps you understand a little bit of what they're jabbering on about on the news.

All in all, if you've reached that stage in life where you want to learn something new and you're unsure of what to invest your time in, give this a go.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2008
I used the 10th edition for A level and am assuming the 11th is as good or better.

This is an absolutely excellent text book. It is perfect for A level and I'd think for first year degree.

It is very good for understanding the fundamental concepts and is also well written and engaging, with lots of interesting real-world examples, and very prettily presented so pleasant to work from.

Beardshaw/Brewster/Cormack/Ross "Economics - A Student's Guide" is also good but is better for information and not so good for concept.

Both these books are at the advanced end of things for A level - it's worth having a simpler A level text like Stanlake too.

Anyway - this was my indispensable and favourite A level book.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
I do recommend this book. It is full of examples and details. Very useful if you are pursuing your Bachelor through LSE.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
Recommendable to anyone who has a good text comprehension, written in a very very clear and straightforward manner, not much superfluous talking. Excellent summaries and practical applications at the end of every chapter!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Economics is interesting but I couldn't continue to read this after a couple of chapters. I am now reading economic and political classics such as Thomas Paine's 'Common Sense' and Rousseau's 'Social Contract' and can't put them down. The problem now is that the only thing that's important in academic books is getting the information in people's heads at great expense to good, interesting writing. How do you expect the general population to be interested in the most important things in their lives (Politics, Economics, etc...) with this boring attitude that treats learning as a chore for people who want a degree so they can get a job. I'm sure there's a lot of important factual information on this book but it's mind-numbingly boring to read and contributes to the massive problems of disenfranchisement with our political system which is a threat to our democratic tradition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2007
This book was an alternative to Sloman for my Econ101 course at Lancaster University. In my opinion it is much clearer and easier to understand than Sloman.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
This book is a lifesaver - it has been a great tool so far to help decode and understand the concepts and models that are so horrendously protracted out in the University of London external Introduction to Economics guide. This book is, admittedly, only very basic in applying mathematical concepts to Economics (University Economics courses typically require a bit more analysis), but as a companion text it will provide you with clear examples, explanation of theory in precise, easy-to-understand terms and relevant real-life examples to help put the theory in context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Good text for BEGINNERS or students vaguely interested in economics. Large use of graphs, NO mathematics, hence very limited in terms of what you will actually understand about economics. It gives you a very broad idea of how economies work. It condenses both macro and micro in less than 650 pages, therefore the result is a general introduction to economics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
I primarily used this textbook for A-Level and found it alright. It contained more than was necessary for the A-Level syllabus, but what I needed was there and was explained thoroughly to an A-Level standard.

Fast-forward and it's university time. This text is primarily a university text and is advertised as such. The reality? It's unsuitable for university if you're studying Economics. It might be alright if you're doing Management or Engineering but taking one optional economics module, but if you're doing a BA/BSc Economics, then this book is useless.

It's not mathematical in the least. The content isn't concise or clear. It's extremely basic even for an introductory course. There aren't many questions. There aren't any answers to the few questions offered. The diagrams aren't clear or intuitive. This textbook is probably the worst available... it's confusing, lacks intuition, and lacks any mathematical basis. Honestly, who would buy/use this textbook?
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
some thing to think about, before you buy.its reasonable value but you may get some thing better. look at other products too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£42.94

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)