Start reading Eastern Intrigues on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Eastern Intrigues
 
 

Eastern Intrigues [Kindle Edition]

Humphrey Hawksley

Kindle Price: £5.98 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

Humphrey Hawksley's name is familiar to millions as a leading BBC Foreign Affairs correspondent, shouting over the gunfire in Kosovo or Iraq.

But he is also an acclaimed international thriller writer, and for the first time three of his best works are collected here in one volume:

Ceremony of Innocence:

Mike McKillop was once a respected Hong Kong policeman. But now, living alone after his Chinese wife disappeared to the mainland with their two children, he is a pen-pusher, wallowing in alcoholic self-pity.

He thinks the glory days are long over.

But the past is about to catch up with him.

Red Spirit:

Early 1989. The Soviet Union is about to collapse. And a new superpower is about to emerge. China.

But it is a country of secrets - which only one woman can unlock.

If she can stay alive...

Absolute Measures:

Twins. Left orphaned, and abandoned. And with a burning desire to wreak vengeance on the world.

After British special forces accidentally kill their parents in the Sudan, Samira and Yasin Omer are adopted by a wealthy Filipino businessman. They are raised in a world of luxury and privilege. But when the Asian economic crisis plunges their country into chaos, Yasin decides that this time he will retaliate.

He conceives of a terrible plan: one that will shake the world, and leave thousands dead.

Only two people can stop him.

Humphrey Hawksley's books are perfect for fans of Lee Child, Robert Ludlum, Frederick Forsyth and Robert Harris.

All three thrillers have been brilliantly reviewed:

'This is the low-down on Foreign Affairs which won't make the Nine O'Clock News' (Alan Stewart)

'A gripping story, told with great imagination, but also with the knowledge and authority that one rarely sees in such thrillers' (Jon Swain, Sunday Times)

'Provocative and topical' (The Daily Telegraph)

'Exotic settings...exciting thriller fare...a tense climax.' (Phillip Knightley, The Mail-on-Sunday)

'A complex and convincing thriller ....an intriguing, if violent, vision of the near future.' (The New Scientist)

'The scariest milieu since the Cold War washed out.' (Kirkus Associates)

'Packed with authentic details... keeps suspense levels high.' (Publisher's Weekly)

'Humphrey Hawksley is one of only a handful of writers taking the thriller in important new directions.' (Craig Thomas)

Humphrey Hawksley has been a BBC correspondent specialising in Asia for many years, and has reported from troublespots such as Kosovo and Iraq. In the 1980s he was in India, the Philippines and Sri Lanka - from where he was expelled while covering the Tamil war. From 1990 he was based in Hong Kong and in 1994 moved to Beijing to open the BBC's first television bureau in China.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1628 KB
  • Print Length: 1088 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd.; 1 edition (21 Nov 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00ABGLTMQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #714,128 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category