Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

  • EMP
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars29
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2014
David is visiting his parents in the town of Kenton. He is having marital problems so takes a trip to check up on them; his father has heart problems, his mother Alzheimers. During the night they wake to find strange lights in the sky and no power supply.
This is the story of how Kenton struggles to cope with not only no electricity, but with limited water, dwindling food and drug supplies, and little chance of outside help.
If you want a disaster book with lots of action this is not for you. It is an account of how a town struggles with day to day survival in a changed world.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Never read any Wilson Harp before, downloaded it on KU read it - very good and entertaining, What happens to the world after a massive EMP? good question and he gives an interesting view of events. Looking forward to reading more of his work..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Solidly written, this provides empirical evidence that the writer is able to employ skills to create a well crafted novel.

So many post apocalyptic novels focus on the emptying of the well of social cohesion. It was refreshing to read one where the emphasis was on the possibility of an alternative.

One could empathise with the characters, some empowered by the change, others left with a certain emptiness.

A minor peeve, but I understand the logic, as an empoverished emptor of reading material, I regularly download free books, as this was. But try to avoid books in series, so I have to buy further instalments. Beware, this is definitely a pre cursor to another book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
The first three chapters are basically about David, the protagonist, travelling to meet his parents (complete with directions), meeting his parents, talking to his neighbours, eating, and other mundane, boring things, like brushing his teeth. The dialogue is forced. The action is non-existent. There's no character development at all. No sense of urgency, no tension. It's disappointing, because EMP-themed apoc fiction isn't well covered in the genre. Give this one a miss and read Flare instead, which is a much more enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
A very engaging read. Characters I liked and wanted to survive. A well written, easy to read tale that kept me page turning right to the end.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Covers the staples of surviving all electric stuff failing, but reads more like the manual rather than an adventure.
Its a three star rating for me it lacked ruthlessness in some aspects, several times I caught myself saying "die already, need to get going"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Good starter book but feel a bit mislead as I assumed it would be a man off to find his family.in effect it's a man who thinks about going to find his family but gets distracted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Some parts were a bit slow and repetitive. It is interesting to consider what might happen in the event of an actual EMP which destroys our modern life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Hailed as a man's journey to rescue his wife. He was hanging around farming, not too much of a hurry, specially as there was an old flame to rekindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Brilliant ! Love these books, although I have been having nightmares about EMP's and being the only one left on the Earth !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.