Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dylan Thomas Omnibus: "Under Milk Wood", Poems, Stories and Broadcasts Paperback – 17 Aug 2000

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, 17 Aug 2000
"Please retry"

Trade In Promotion

Free One-Day Delivery for six months with Amazon Student

Product details

Product Description

Book Description

All Dylan Thomas' major works gathered together.

About the Author

Dylan Thomas, born in Swansea in 1914, is perhaps Wales' best-known writer, and celebrations throughout 2014 will mark the centenary of his birth. He is widely considered to be one of the major poets of the 20th century, and many of his greatest poems, such as 'Fern Hill' and 'Do not go gentle into that good night' remain among the nation's favourites. As well as poetry, Dylan Thomas wrote numerous short stories and scripts for film and radio - none more popular than his radio play UNDER MILK WOOD, which is considered by many to be his masterpiece. He led a fascinating and tempestuous life, permeated by love affairs and reckless bouts of drinking, which led him to claim that he had beast, angel and madman within him. There have been several film adaptations of his fascinating life, which ended all too soon in 1953 when he collapsed and died in New York shortly after his 39th birthday. A memorial stone commemorating his life and work was unveiled in Poets' Corner in Westminster Abbey in 1982.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Delicious Dylan Thomas 29 Sept. 2002
By Ron Romanowski-CPC - Published on Amazon.com
From the glorious cover photograph of the pensive bard to the last word of poet, prose writer and playwright Dylan Thomas' "Under Milkwood" this is a volume most fine! The soft cover edition even has a milky patina to it, as much a pleasure to hold as the words inside are to read.
All the famous poems are here: "If I were tickled by the rub of love", "And death shall have no dominion", "Fern Hill" and everything else. This is an omnibus, after all. The short stories are almost as intense as the poems. Also included are transcriptions of some of his broadcasts. And here a suggestion, get the associated recordings to round out your Dylan Thomas experience for his voice was a wonder. He had been a radio broadcaster and on tour he was an unforgettable reader and the best interpreter of his own work there has ever been.
There is also a timeline of his career. The brief biography could be longer but that is being picky for who doesn't know his life was tragically far too short. His oeuvre speaks for itself. He was the greatest meddler of words since Shakespeare. Thomas' work will be read as long as English is spoken and this volume will be cherished by anyone who loves our language, for a lifetime.
Was this review helpful? Let us know