Dying to Sin and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.78

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Dying to Sin on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Dying to Sin [Paperback]

Stephen Booth
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
RRP: 7.99
Price: 6.39 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 1.60 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 3 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.99  
Hardcover, Abridged, Audiobook, CD --  
Paperback 6.39  
Unknown Binding --  
Audio Download, Abridged 9.80 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial

Book Description

6 May 2008

Detectives Fry and Cooper return in another supremely atmospheric Peak District thriller, perfect for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill

Building work at an isolated farm has unearthed more than just the usual remains… two human are discovered, seemingly buried years apart.

With little forensic evidence to go on, Detectives Diane Fry and Ben Cooper have to look back into the farm's history, where they uncover decades of abuse of migrant workers. Is the truth to be found somewhere in this piteous history?

Or does the answer lie elsewhere, hidden in the ground, and still waiting to be discovered?


Frequently Bought Together

Dying to Sin + The Kill Call + Scared to Live
Price For All Three: 18.67

Buy the selected items together
  • The Kill Call 6.29
  • Scared to Live 5.99


Product details

  • Paperback: 560 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (6 May 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007243448
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007243440
  • Product Dimensions: 11.1 x 17.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 120,486 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Stephen Booth is an award winning UK crime writer, the creator of two young Derbyshire police detectives, DS Ben Cooper and DS Diane Fry, who have appeared in fourteen novels set in England's beautiful and atmospheric Peak District.

Stephen has been a Gold Dagger finalist, an Anthony Award nominee, twice winner of a Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel, and twice shortlisted for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year. DC Cooper was a finalist for the Sherlock Award for the best detective created by a British author, and in 2003 the Crime Writers' Association presented Stephen with the Dagger in the Library Award for "the author whose books have given readers the most pleasure". The Cooper & Fry series is published all around the world, and has been translated into 15 languages. The latest title is THE CORPSE BRIDGE.

A former newspaper journalist, Stephen was born in the Lancashire mill town of Burnley and brought up by the sea in Blackpool. He attended Birmingham City University and worked on local newspapers in in the North and Midlands before his first novel BLACK DOG was published in 2000. He lives in Nottinghamshire.

Visit the author's website at: http://www.stephen-booth.com

Product Description

Review

Praise for Dying to Sin:

‘Clever, intricate plot… Cooper is an ascendant Lewis to Fry’s lonely, bitter Morse in this… gripping procedural’ Financial Times

Praise for Scared to Live:

'It's easy to see why Stephen Booth's novels are so popular. The Peak District's awesome scenery is an ideal background for a murder or two; he has developed his two principal characters into rounded personalities and he always gives them an intriguing mystery to investigate' Sunday Telegraph

'A modern master of rural noir' Guardian

'Booth's aim is to portray the darkness that lies below the surface… in this he succeeds wonderfully well' Daily Mail

'Ingenious plotting and richly atmospheric' Reginald Hill

Praise for Stephen Booth:

'Stephen Booth creates a fine sense of place and atmosphere … the unguessable solution to the crime comes as a real surprise' Sunday Telegraph

'The complex relationship between [Cooper and Fry] is excellently drawn, and is combined with an intriguing plot and a real sense of place: Stephen Booth is an author to keep an eye on' Evening Standard

'Stephen Booth makes high summer in Derbyshire as dark and terrifying as midwinter' Val McDermid

'Sinks its teeth into you and doesn't let go … A dark star may be born!' Reginald Hill

'A leading light of British crime writing' Guardian

'Best traditional crime novel of the year' Independent

About the Author

Stephen Booth was born in the Lancashire mill town of Burnley and has remained rooted to the Pennines during his career as a newspaper journalist. He lives with his wife Lesley in a former Georgian dower house in Nottinghamshire and his interests include folklore, the Internet and walking in the hills of the Peak District. This is the eighth in the series featuring Derbyshire detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downbeat, but great 13 Aug 2008
Format:Paperback
A tourist advert for the Peak District of Derbyshire this aint! It's cold, it's wet, it's bleak mid winter and the natives are unfriendly and uncooperative. Detectives Fry and Cooper have two unidentified skeletons on their hands at a deserted farm in the middle of nowhere. Slowly they piece together a tale of crime and violence coupled with superstition and "The Old Religion". Meanwhile the body count starts to rise. To add to their misery, they've a new boss who is out to stamp her authority on the local force.

One gets the impression that maybe this is a bit more like how real police work goes, albeit condensed into a relatively few days. But don't get me wrong, despite the downbeat tone of the book, I thoroughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to picking up more of Stephen Booth's novels in this series.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Booth is back. 17 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Went off of the boil a bit, but I perservered and this book brought him back to his best.
Has me hooked again.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down 21 Jan 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I am a big Stephen Booth fan and have never yet been disappointed by one of his books. I know that I can settle down and look forward to a good read, time flies and at the end I know it has been time well spent.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars XMAS PRESENT 12 Dec 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is for a Christmas present which was a requested present and I am sure it will be pleasing to her.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Booth 30 Nov 2013
By Anbob
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One of my favourite authors, set in Derbyshire where I live. Always a joy to read, get through them far too quickly, could do with being twice the size. Can't praise them enough.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Booth 5 Nov 2013
By Fred
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Another good book by this brilliant author! I love the murder/suspense side of books .. another one for my collection!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant. 25 Oct 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
"Dying to Sin" is simply brilliant. Stephen Booth is a great story-teller and he really draws the reader in. His descriptions of the Peak District provide a great backdrop to this tale which centers around secrecy and superstition in a rural community. I loved it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Dying to Sin 22 Oct 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Love the author, enjoy the continuity of the books and am enjoying getting to know the characters. I will have to start reading the series from the beginning now I have updated my collection!
If you love Peter Robinson's DCI Banks novels, I'm sure you'll enjoy Stephen Booth!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback