Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars273
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 November 2014
Dumb and Dumber is one of my favourite comedies ever - a five star comedy classic.

I decided to replace my DVD with the UK release of the 'unrated' version (rated 12a) on DVD.
I have checked over and over and over again, and maybe I'm dumb, but I cannot find the extended version on the disc.
There is the theatrical version, a trailer, a 17 minute documentary and deleted scenes.
But I'll be damned if there's an extended version on the disc (which according to the cover has 6 minutes added)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2006
This is undoubtedly the best comedy in the history of the world. Monty python, airplane!, borat etc etc seem all but mediocre in the presence of dumb and dumber.

The comedy timing and performance is amazing from both carrey and daniels. The script is hilarious and there are numerous occasions when you will be stuggling to get enough oxygen into your blood as you fight histerics.

And this is not a one off, i have watched this film over 20 times ands classic lines such as;

"fell off the jetway again"

"kick his ass sea bass"

"you wouldnt happen to have a cup of warm water would ya"

"that old romantic feeling, when youd do anything to bone her"

"you dont kil people you dont know"

"oh no howd it happen (pet dying) - his head fell off, yeah he was pretty old"

"youre it triple stamp, no erasees"

"an i.o.u is as good as money, sir"

"lets put another shrimp on the barby!"

"i wanna go where the beer flows like wine"

"hey wanna hear the most annoying sound in the world"

"Just gimmme the GOD DA.M NUMBER!"

"For fast effective releif"

"Mary, I desperately want to make love to a school boy"

"look at the fun bags on that horse hound"

Never grow old. If you havent seen this film it is a crime and you need to order it today, if you have watch it again, now.

Granted there are little features on this film but the film will give you everything you need (and the uncut version is not very good). Please dont think that i am just hyping this film up, this is the best comedy ever made, it will be worth the watch, enjoy.
44 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Jim Carrey plays a limousine driver whose roommate (Jeff Daniels) runs a dog-grooming service, although business is bad for both of them and they live in a dump. As the movie opens, Carrey is driving a wealthy but troubled woman (Lauren Holly) to the airport. He has fallen instantly in love with her. When he notices that she has left a briefcase on the terminal floor, he races into the building and snatches it - thus foiling a kidnap ransom payment.

Carrey and Daniels find themselves heading west in their dog mobile (a van that looks like a shaggy dog).

They intend to drive to Aspen, find the woman, and return the briefcase. Along the way they have the usual obligatory run-in with some tough guys in a diner, are pulled over by the usual cop, and are chased by gangsters.

The plot is silly, but that doesn't matter, because "Dumb and Dumber" is essentially pitched at the level of an "Airplane!"-style movie, with rapid-fire sight gags. Some of them work, like the karate fight that ends with a guy getting his heart handed to him in a doggie bag. Some of them don't, like a curious scene where Carrey is hugging a girl and lifts the back of her skirt for no apparent reason.

For Jeff Daniels, the role is a departure from his usual deadpan comedy roles and straight drama. He fits right in. The relationship between the two guys creates a lot of the fun, as they discuss their grim lifestyle and their bizarre plans to improve it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2004
OK, this film creates a new meaning for the word 'silly', but if you are a silly person then you will appreciate this film without a doubt. I have just completed a degree in Media Arts with Popular Culture and am about to go onto an MA, however my favorite actor is still Jim Carrey and my favorate Directors are the Farrelly Brothers. I must say that Dumb and Dumber is my favorite Farrelly Brothers film, with a-joke-a-minute and brillant acting from Jim and that other guy! Must be watched by all!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 December 2014
I remember when Jeff Daniels was doing interviews for ‘Dumb and Dumber,’ he stated that he had to mentally ‘dumb himself down’ when preparing himself for the role of Harry. I think that’s what anyone contemplating watching Dumb and Dumber needs to do in order to appreciate it.

Okay, so Jim Carey is the star (Lloyd) and he and his equally-clueless best mate Harry set off on a road trip across America in order to return what he thinks is a missing briefcase to its rightful owner. So, basically it’s a ‘road movie.’ Now, by definition road movies are pretty ‘low on plot.’ The ‘story’ is simply the two dumb guys moving from one daft setting to the next. Yes, it is low on story. But it is pretty damn funny. And isn’t that the main thing?

It was made at the height of Jim Carey’s fame, therefore he was somehow still fresh. If you’re looking for low-brow humour then you’ll find what you’re looking for here. Yes, it won’t tax you mentally and, by the time the credits roll, you may actually be thinking with a few less IQ points. However, if you’re prepared to trade a few brain cells in for a lot of laughs then you’ve come to the right place.

Best dead bird laughs since Monty Python’s parrot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
Dumb and Dumber is one of my all time favorite funny films. The transfer to blu-ray isn't the best I've seen to date (for a brilliant transfer see I-Robot), but is an improvement visually on the original.
As for the extra scene's, I think the film was funny enough without them and they do not reall add much extra value, infact I think a couple of scene's are better without them!
All in all if you want a good laugh, there is no funnier film for £9.99.
Thanks.
DL
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
If humour is simply a way of coping with the overriding misery of existence then Dumb & Dumber emerges like a cure for cancer. Lloyd Christmas (Jim Carrey) and Harry Dunne (Jeff Daniels) are the knuckle-headed losers road-trippin' their way to the sunny climes of Aspen to deliver a lost briefcase to the mysterious Mary Swanson (Lauren Holly). (Lloyd fell in love with her, you see, while he drove her to the airport.) Along the way they steal from a blind kid, poison a hitman, and give a motorbike cop a swig of moonshine he'll never forget... And that's before they've even reached Colorado.

Writers and directors the Farrelly Brothers forego the cutesy angst that blunted There's Something About Mary and go flat-out on the sick and the scatalogical. It's puerile, of course, but Carrey's clown has never had a better home, and Jeff Daniels shows expert comic timing to add to his impressive dramatic range. The script they share is sharp as a shiv, as well as being endlessly quotable. Does the gag count sink ever so slightly in the final reel? Perhaps. But just wait for the epilogue: probably the funniest comedy pay-off since Some Like It Hot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2002
The film is brilliant-funny, clever and...well funny! Thats the good part..the bad part is the DVD itself. There are only a couple of extra features on offer, when there could have been so much more-ie: Commentry, documentary etc.. Also, the film is cut! Although not much is cut, its enough to be angry at..most noticable cut is when they pick up the hitchhikers-in this version..well, they don't. Also the subtitles are off, I mean, when Lloyd says 'You have that crazy look in your eyes', the subtitles say 'You have a crazy look when you arrive'..I mean whats that all about?
A great film, but a very poor DVD, lets just hope they re-release it sometime soon..
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A couple of intellectually challenged friends get mixed up in the criminal under world when an attache case gets accidentally swapped at an airport and they travel across America to return it to its owner. The comedy is slapstick but extremely funny and politically incorrect. Laugh out loud scenes throughout especially the broken toilet scene if you have a sense on humour like mine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2007
I first saw this when it came out on video first time round, and it instantly became my favourite film, and has remained like that since! Although usually I'm not all that into such up-front humour; this film had me in stitches all the way through! And what's unusual in a film like this, was that there was actually a storyline that made sense! A little bizarre maybe- but most rely on just the laughs and don't seem to bother. Although I am a fan of Jim Carey, I would say that this is his best role and film so far in his career and would take some beating. Jeff Daniels also shines and doesn't let Carey steal the show which could have easily happened had they not had such good on-screen chemistry. There's also some great quotes on this film which I'm sure will keep you and your mates entertained for a while! All in all I seriously can't fault this film- it's fast paced and doesn't let you get bored or stop laughing- you need to see this at least once, and I'll reckon that won't be enough and it'll become a firm favourite in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)