Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars67
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2005
Ok, lets be honest here. Regardless of whoever star in the new Dukes of Hazzard movie, they can never come close to emulating what was achieved in the TV series. When you come to watch the movie, it is best to try though it may be difficult to forget about what was done before. If you can, you will find an extremely enjoyable film, that blends comedy and action together Smokey & the Bandit style with a few nods to the TV show thrown in along the way. The plot which has be said is extremely thin on the ground sees cousins Bo,Luke,Daisy and their Uncle Jesse fighting to keep hold of their farm from the greedy town mayor, Boss Hogg who wants to use the land for coal mining. Johnny Knoxville and Seann William Scott make a reasonably good pairing as Bo & Luke - much of the comedy moments stemming from their verbal bickering. Jessica Simpson does what Jessica Simpson does best as Daisy Duke - look good in bikinis, short skirts etc. On the down side Willie Nelson has very little to do and Burt Reynolds is completely wasted as Boss Hogg. But forget all the human stars. The real star of the movie is of course the General Lee which has never looked better and the car chases & stunts are as good as anything produced in the TV series.
Highly recommended overall but for all you fans out there, if you really want to be picky & make comparisons with the TV show I would say that:
1. There is a bit of swearing - eg: Uncle Jesse swears in one scene - something that would NEVER EVER happen in the show.
2. Sheriff Rosco P Coltrane is the disappointing character and brings none of the humour to the movie that James Best did in the show.
3. There is a lack of the family values that was evident in the show - in the movie Uncle Jesse is as much a lawbreaker as his nephews.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When I heard they were remaking the Dukes of Hazzard, I groaned inwardly, and refused to watch it on the big screen. But, at home on the TV (the way The Dukes Of Hazzard are in any case meant to be seen), it really isn't as bad as I expected.

Basically, what you've got is Willy Nelson as a very creditable Uncle Jesse, a Dodge Charger that really does have the look and feel of the General Lee, and an Enos who really is quite reminiscent of the original. Sean William Scott does a good enough job as Bo, and Johnny Knoxville as Luke, to not bother you. Jessica Simpson isn't _quite_ cut out to be Daisy, but she sort of makes sense in context. M.C. Gainey, who was a guest star in the original series, is ok as Rosco P. Coltrane, but Burt Reynolds as Boss Hogg is really an entirely different character from the short, fat, and ludicrously self-important Sorrell Brooke that we all knew and loved to hate.

Actually, it really is the Boss Hogg character that distances this movie from its original. 'Our' Boss Hogg was greedy but not really evil. He would occasionally call a truce with the Dukes when someone really nasty turned up, and, over the seven series, it turned out he had a lifelong rivalry which was a kind of friendship with Uncle Jesse. Burt Reynolds's Boss Hogg, though, is unremittingly evil -- something which the director makes absolutely clear when he burns Rosco's nose with shrimp tongues which he has pulled out of boiling water.

The other thing which separates this from the original is the slowness of the plot, and the amount of explanation that the director seems to think we need. This isn't just limited to telling us who and what all the characters are -- fair enough if many of the target viewers had never seen the original. Crucial bits of plot are explained over and again, such as when Boss Hogg tries a ruse to get the Duke boys to go out to the Duke farm. In the original this would have been done with a knowing look to camera. In this film, we get it spelled out in three different ways. Likewise, despite the frequent car chases, which are as good as (but not better than) the TV series, the plot moves along very, very slowly.

I want to write that this is a feature length show which has the same amount of plot as a TV episode. But, the truth is, it doesn't actually have that much. Bits of plotting that often found their way in, such as a country singer being stung by Rosco's speed traps and forced to sing in the Boar's Nest to avoid the consequences, are missing, and even the main car chase at the end lacks racing drama.

If you loved the original series, you may well be better off getting the seven series boxed set. But, even if you haven't seen the original, you may find yourself working out the plot about 1/3 of the way through, which is a bit disappointing.

So, what's this film got going for it, then? It's reasonably faithful to the original, at least on the Duke side. The car is very, very good. And, if you can get over the simplistic plot and awkward attempts to bring it up to date, it's a fairly fun evening's viewing.

Don't imagine you'll be watching it twice, though. It's just not that kind of film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Dukes of Hazzard is quite an achievement - a $53m film that's worse than any given episode of a downmarket 25-year old TV show. The plot is serviceable enough but the mindless fun is rarely to be found and the casting is pretty atrocious: Johnny Knoxville is more passenger than protagonist, M.C. Gainey's Sheriff Roscoe is a bland thug, Michael Weston's Enos tiresome, a seemingly ideally-cast Willie Nelson just seems to be waiting for the check to clear and Burt Reynolds, stuck in some purgatory where he's doomed to relive his old movies as a bit player in remakes and imitations, is a curious choice for Boss Hogg to say the least but does have one good moment with a heckler and a hundred dollar bill. You know a film is in trouble when Seann William Scott and Jessica Simpson are the most charismatic screen presences... But worse than the script or the casting is Jay Chandrasekhar's hopeless direction: seemingly born with no conception of comic timing, unable to do much more than basic two-shots and seemingly clueless as to how to shoot a car chase let alone the couple of decent stunts in the film, he seems determined to sap the film of any signs of life before they materialise. There are a couple of neat post-modern moments revolving around the Confederate Flag and Daisy's stereotypical role in every episode, but no film that makes you pine for the days when Hal Needham was directing this sort of thing (and badly) can be a good thing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
This film is certainly aimed as a feel-good film. it has the typical structure. an aim (to win the Hazzard county race), a dilema that gets in the way and a solution that they solve/win both.

Although it has a cliche structure, you manage to not see it through the humour and the chaos the film has.

I found the funniest bit when they're pretending to be Japanese scientists when they had to find out about the coal.

Overall a good film, and i'd recommend you watch it! :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
"Hey. You Anus?"
"No, that's Enos, Mr. Prickett."

This is a light American-style comedy like "Hot Shots", "Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back" and such. Unlike those, though, I actually watched this one to the end, and watched it again.

Hazzard is a sleepy smalltown in the US state of Georgia - you know, the kind of place where police officers are actually polite to the people.
One of the movie's heroes is a gorgeous Dodge Charger nicknamed "General Lee". It's driven recklessly along the country roads, fields and hills by testosterone-bursting Luke Duke, accompanied by his no less adventurous cousin Bo. Luke has won the local traditional car race four times in a row. Only one other man has ever done that - Billy Prickett. He's become a big star by now, but this year he's returned to his hometown to race against Luke.
Things are made much more complicated by the local sheriff who passionately hates the Duke family. The latter aren't exactly model citizens, and this time it really looks like the local law enforcement has got them by the balls. But Bo and Luke just won't be discouraged. They set to fight against the overwhelming odds and are determined to do whatever is necessary to save the family from utter disaster.

Many things they do are impossible, and some things are quite cliche, and those dozen bare breasts are really implausible under those circumstances. But it's still one hell of a good movie. Very funny, very captivating, very satisfying.
Maybe one reason to that are the fabulous characters. They are too many to describe them all here, but one to stick out is undoubtedly Daisy, played by a Jessica Simpson. (She's mainly a singer, as I found out.) Not only is she gorgeous-looking (much more so than on Jessica Simpson's photos I've looked up). She is so perfectly cute, a textbook good girl like they don't make them anymore. Most importantly, I found her loyalty to the family and her resourcefulness most admirable. The boys do the dirty work all right, but they keep getting in big trouble, and time and again, Daisy uses her, um, natural gifts to save them. Daisy is indeed one of the most fascinating characters I have seen for a long time.

Oh... As you may have guessed by now, I had no idea that the movie was based on a TV series with the same name. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2009
If you're lookin' for high brow then keep on truckin'. This is low brow, low down hillbilly heaven.

It's Sean William Scott and Johnny Knoxville doing what they do best with Jessica 'Eye Candy' Simpson in short shorts. To cap it all you've got country legend Willie Nelson as Uncle Jesse, Burt Reynolds and Lynda Carter in some fine turns. It's the Dukes meet the Bandit for the Jackass generation. Let's not chew the fat here, with these actors you know what you're gettin'. So sit back, kick yer boots off n'crack open a jar o'moonshine. Adios.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2007
Alright, this was always bound to dissapoint fans of the series, but if you kind of push the thought of that out of your head it makes a decent enough film Sean William Scott and Johnny Knoxville make a suprisingly good double act.
The simple fact is that a classic series had to be degenerated for this generation, which happens to be a generation of morons (I'm a part of it, and I can admit it).
Another problem is that it doesn't really have the same feel of Hazzard County-ness; annoyingly this could have been avoided but occured anyway. The problem is that to make up the bulk of a feature length film based on single-episode stories the writers of this film decided to make them leave Hazzard County. Remember how the League of Gentlemen film felt completely different because they left Royston Vasey? It's the same thing.

But, despite all this, it remains a decent enough film. There are some really funny moments, and, for a modern film, the scene transition is quite good. Just try to tug your expectations down a few notches.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2006
That about sums up this film but the film is centered around the Dodge Charger. In that respect and as a action, teen comedy this is a good film. Many reviewers have given poor ratings in comparison to the old TV series, which I can just about remember. With films like this not everyone will be happy, to make a film from a very popular TV series was always going to be hard. Any remake is bound to be changed and updated for todays audience as well. If they stayed too faithful to the TV show the younger generation this film is aimed at might not like it so much?

Basically the Duke Bros stumble across a lot of trouble as always as they discover Boss Hoggs plans for Hazzard County. Cue cars chases, huge jumps, big western style bar brawls and the sexy Jessica Simpson as Daisy Duke trying to get the Dukes out of trouble by wearing as little as possible. Sean Scott is perfectly cast as one of the crazy Duke Bros. The real star though is the The General Lee, Dodge '69 Charger, as it is put through its paces in all types of stunts. This isn't quite the family fun action of the TV series as this seems to be aimed at the 15-30 male, there are a few topless girls in a scene and a lot of innuendo, weed jokes as well. Overall if you don't compare it to the TV show and see it as a fun, action comedy you will enjoy it!

There are quite a few extras but nothing that in-depth. A feature on how short they can make Jessica Simpsons shorts! About 25mins of deleted scenes. Unseen deleted scenes, in other words the rude or naughty stuff. A blooper reel and unseen blooper reel. A feature on the stunts and car stunts from the film. A few behind the scenes snippets and Jessica Simpsons sexy music video "These boots are made for walking". Overall a good fun film with plenty of action. 7/10
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2006
On my first watch of the film I wasn't expecting much as I thought Jessica Simpson acting would be something to never witness. Strangly though Simpson is actually quite effective as well as easy on the eyes. This low expectation of the film may have been the reaosn why I enjoyed it so much. I never saw the original myself and I have also never seen the TV series. I had nothing to compare it to and no anticipation which means I wasn't set up to be disapointed.

If you like comedy films and you are a fan of Seann William Scott's movies then you will enjoy this. It has some great moments and I thought it was extremely funny as well as action packed.

I recommend to the fans of the series that you just take the film as it is. It's a modern take on an old story, they are not aiming to surpass it and they could never equal it in the eyes of the fans. Watch this movie with no prior expectations and you will love it. There was no way that a modern film could live up to the series.

If you like comedy films then I suggest you add this to your collection as it's funny and action packed. The soundtrack is also brilliant.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
Yes , I am a big fan of dukes , and I am not a racist . I love the 1980s show and am collecting the seasons .This is a good modern film take on the TV show and Jessica Simpson is a complete Betty in this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£3.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)