Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2010
I am fortunate to have an original copy of this book which has been the basis for creating a plethora of superb fine home made wines. It's a real shame it's out of print because home brewing seems to be enjoying a resurgence in this economic downturn.

It explains in basic terms what home brewing is all about and allows some leeway with ingredients (With practice). I would class this book as a must have for the hobbyist or the serious self sufficiency enthusiast.

If you see a reasonably priced copy, buy it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
A lovely book. beautifully produced and illustrated. Has all the information needed for making one's own wine from garden produce - flowers (roses) and even weeds (nettles). All the instructions are clear and easy to follow.
It won't save any money, at least at the beginning, because you need to buy all the equipment, but the list of equipment is exhaustive and very clear,
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
I have the 1982 edition of this book. Drink Your Own Garden? I've drunk the best part of Hampshire gathering fruits, berries, leaves etc just to try a new wine. I have several wine and beer books but can honestly say this is the one I always go back to. Highly recommended.

Steve T.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A different, quirky book that could with a bit of effort give you some totally new taste sensations.

Essentially this is a book about making your own drinks - whether alcoholic or non-alcoholic, from ingredients that you might find in your kitchen, your garden or whilst on a walk in the countryside. Just browsing through this book shows drinks being made from ingredients you had not considered could be the basis of a libation. Making a grain wine from maize or corn, a beer from nettles or a cordial from rhubarb, this book will keep you occupied and intrigued for many hours, even if you never intend to make something. Of course, it is better if you DO make something...

The author gives a great overview and introduction to the techniques and methodologies involved in home drink production before it is on to the 140+ recipes on offer. The recipes themselves are concisely written but contain sufficient information to get to the point. There are not so many illustrations in this book which is a bit of a shame as they could help draw you in to try things you hadn't considered could be "tasty" (after all, we "drink" and "eat" with our eyes!). The content however does come to the fore and delivers this with aplomb.

It is pleasing to see that the author has resisted the temptation to evangelise and nag. Any positive comments about the benefits of making your own drinks are almost embarrassingly hidden away, as if it was something to be shameful about. One senses the author's enthusiasm and focus on the subject. This is a great little book. All you need to do is find one drink, possibly something that takes you by surprise, to have a lifelong favourite. The odds of finding more than one favourite with this book is very high though. Definitely a title to consider adding to your bookshelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I really like this book and it was my first inspiration to make country wines. The recipes are really clear and if you follow them to the letter then they turn out great. The Victorian reproduction illustrations are really nice too.

The two things that I would remark about are that there are a few typos, a couple of the recipes in the index are numbered up incorrectly, but nothing that has effected the recipes. The book is also a re-print from one done in the 70's, which is great on one hand because some of the best country wines have been made for years, long before the 70's, but if you are wanting some contemporary recipes you might be a little disappointed.

All in all, I really like the book and would recommend it. Glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 March 2015
This is a fab little reprint from the 70s containing loads of tried and tested recipes for country style alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks straight from your back garden or local hedgerow. Don't buy this book if you want contemporary recipes or anything out of the ordinary, this is definitely an old school recipe book. Also don't buy this book expecting loads of illustrations and images, you won't find many at all but on the bright side this does leave more room for plenty more recipes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Walking round the estate we collected 12lb of blackberries. What to do with them. The answer was here. Now they are bubbling away very nicely. Another few months and we will try the result. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Purchased for my husband as a stocking filler. He has many booze making books and considers this to be one of the best. In depth detail on each fruit, best use along with recipes. Very impressed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Easy to follow instructions I haven't had any bad batches of wine yet. This Is a good book to have in you collection if you are a novice or an expert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Clean and in better condition than the library copy. Easy to follow and not complicated. Arrived quite quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)