Drink Deep: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Drink Deep: A Chicagoland... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by reusabook
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Product dispatched in UK within 48 hours. Thanks.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Drink Deep: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series) Paperback – 10 Nov 2011


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 10 Nov 2011
£7.99
£2.00 £0.01
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Drink Deep: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series) + Biting Cold: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series) + Hard Bitten: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series)
Price For All Three: £25.96

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (10 Nov. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0575113405
  • ISBN-13: 978-0575113404
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 123,959 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in the US Midwest. SOME GIRLS BITE is her debut novel and the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series.

Product Description

Book Description

The fifth entry in Chloe Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley Armstrong.

About the Author

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in the US Midwest. SOME GIRLS BITE was her debut novel and the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series. She is also the author of the YA Dark Elite series.

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Sotek on 18 Nov. 2011
Format: Paperback
I'm at a loss how this book currently has a four star rating.

Let me say I am a huge fan of Chloe Neil and books one to four of the Chicagoland series are amazing, each and every one worth a five star rating on their own. Merit is a fabulous character and the universe Chloe has created is one I couldn't wait to return to. I didn't even mind the end of 'Hard Bitten' which a lot of fans didn't like for obvious reasons.

What I cannot understand is why this book falls so far short of the previous ones. Gone are the wonderful sarcastic one liners, the laugh out loud moments, the great interplay between the other memorable characters that populate Merit's world. Instead we have a book where the first 90% is effectively Merit investigating several mysterious supernatural events with the plot unravelling at such a slow and pedestrian pace that, for the first time ever, I was tempted to start skipping pages. Nothing much happens, characters are seemingly introduced at random and yet with no bearing on the outcome. Merit does little more than go from place to place and talk to different people. However that is still not the greatest crime of this book. Momentous events finally happen in the last part of the book but scenes that deserve entire chapters to themselves are skipped over in a single sentence. Emotional events are either treated in the same slapdash way or glossed over entirely and a previously good character effectively turns bad overnight. Suddenly it feels like I am reading a young adult novel. This alone has almost ruined my appreciation of the entire series. The ending also sets up the next book but I cannot say I am looking forward to a road trip and time spent away from most of the supporting cast that are such an important part of this series.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By AyJay TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 2 Jan. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
** The order for the series is Some Girls Bite, Friday Nights Bites, Twice Bitten, Hard Bitten and Drink Deep **

I have to be honest and admit that I was a bit disappointed by DRINK DEEP. The series up until this point has been pretty solid, the previous book in particular was extremely enjoyable and had a surprising ending. So I was consequently expecting this Chicagoland Vampires entry to hit the ground running and keep on throwing twists at me.

Once again Merit partners up with Jonah [the Guard Captain of Gray House] as she goes undercover for the main plotline. In the last book I thought that this partnering up and cross House cooperation was a exciting glimpse of the future directions in the series, but in all honesty I find Jonah's character dull now we've got to 'meet' him and know him a bit more fully. And the fact that the author has pushed the other secondary characters to the sidelines in order to feature him more prominently, has lead to me coming to suspect that he's going to serve the author in another round of 'all these hot men want me, but I just can't make up my mind' fun and games. In short; I began to dread seeing his name pop up in the book, as he could derail the way all of the plotlines so far are running and building, which could make me lose interest in the series.

For the first third of DRINK DEEP the plot doesn't really seem to be going anywhere as the vampires have nothing to do with the problem of the blackened lake and, since they aren't magical, they don't know the answers to the who, how and/or why; Oh look, the lake is black. Oh, yeah, did group A do it? No, how about group B? No? Shrug, what should we do? There has to be a group C somewhere to pin the blame on.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Seren Ade HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWER on 12 Nov. 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Book 5 in Chloe Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series picks up a couple of months after the shock happenings at the end of Hard Bitten: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series).

Merit is back, and Cadogan House is still under investigation for its rule-breaking by Greenwich Presidium receiver, Frank Cabot. Frank has has instituted several rules of his own, including banning drinking directly from a living source, a moratorium on junk food, an a severe cut-back on the amount of bottled blood the vampires of Cadogan are permitted to drink. His motives are, at best, questionable - but with Chicago's new mayor showing herself to be distinctly hostile to the vampires and weres, her best friend going into an exam-induced emotional meltdown, the sinister influence of the former mayor still making itself felt, and some significant elemental disasters than seem to be magically-induced affecting the city, relative newbie vampire Merit has an awful lot of problems to attend to.

Even without thinking about Ethan.

Merit's some-time investigative partner, the Grey House chief of security Jonah, is still keen to get Merit involved as part of the secretive Red Guard organisation - but he's also making his personal interest in her known, adding to Merit's confusion.

For me, although still a passable read and decently put together, it's not one of my favourites. The plot for this book feels at times quite derived ('Willow Rosenberg', anyone?!). Indeed, there are several aspects where the influence of the Buffyverse is apparent - evil mayors, the role of magic, even the Cadogan librarian has a distinct Mr Giles vibe!
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback