Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars26
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2005
This is an excellent book, both in concept and execution.I bought it a couple of weeks ago and its already been used to produce pictures!
The "Getting Started" section covers equipment and media,use of colour and much more...even experienced artists can gain something from these pages.
The second section is devoted to drawing the specific subjects of the book...fairies, and includes how to draw faces, hands, wings etc with proportion and classic poses also covered...as well as fairy fashion and habitats.
Swipe files are included so the aspiring artist,from beginner to more advanced,can copy relevent bits to create their own fairy.
The Techniques section takes a step by step approach to producing a variety of pictures using different media.
The final section is a gallery of fairy art by some of the best in the business.
The text is interesting and informative...and never condescending.
Even if you're not in to fairies the book is a good guide to drawing and painting techniques for many aspects of the natural world.
This book is worth every penny of the very reasonable price from Amazon.Recommended!
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
This book is very useful if you want to draw fairies: it teaches you how to draw (and paint) the basics, then becomes more and more difficult and challenging but at a slow pace which will allow you to learn everything you need before proceeding.

There are lots of useful tips, from how to mix colours to get the right skin tone to using your imagination to see flowers, leaves etc. as fairies clothes or acccesories.

The only thing I didn't like was seeing the same style for almost all the book. I'd have appreciated it more if examples of fairies drawn or painted in different styles were shown earlier in the book, maybe explaining which elements for every painting could be used for inspiration. I found the focus on the same style again and again a bit boring after a while.
Also, I don't like the "copy/trace my drawing" thing; I think that giving a theme to work on, give tips and suggestions and then showing one of the author's drawing as an example would have been much more useful to discover one's style, not only imitating the author's one.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
Excellent book this one. Beautiful to look at and a joy to have around. Not to mention the fact that I couldn't draw anything, never mind a fairy, before this and now I'm already on my way to producing passable drawings. The instructions are clear and easy to understand and the 'swipe files' mean that you can copy or trace various features, faces, body parts, costumes etc. to make up designs that are unique to you. Some of my fairies have developed into quite interesting 'characters!' Well worth the money.
review image review image
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2007
This is a book that covers just about everything you need to know, do, draw and paint. With simple informative step by step instrutions, that dont treat you like an idiot. You will very quickly be creating, changing and dreaming up new ways to paint and draw Fairies.

I cant rate this book highly enough...this should be sold as the definative handbook on how to do.

Great value for money and if you buy no other book than this you will not go wrong.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2006
I love this book - its got gorgeous artwork and easy to follow step-by-step techniques to help you improve as an artist. The amount of colouring techniques shown make it great help for any style of artist, not just the fantasy/faerie orientated. The thing that really makes it stand out from the crowd is its emphasis on originality - there are "swipe files" included, showing different hands, feet, costume, lips, eyes etc - encouraging the reader to play with their artwork, developing their own style.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2006
Excellent details and shows you a variety of expressions on faces,even down to feet fingers and wardrobe to draw.There are even templates for you to copy if you wish to.Hghly recommend this to Fairy lovers everywhere.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2008
I bought this book as my little neice kept asking me to draw fairies for her and my results lacked magic. This is a great book for getting started with, particularly if you're not that good at drawing people and faces.I found the instructions clear and easy to follow and the gallery of complete artwork really got my imagination going. If you are not a confident artist the easily copied examples of eyes, lips, hair, clothing etc can be mixed and matched in your own drawings to get you started and give you confidence. My own fairy drawings are much improved and my neice a very happy little girl
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
This is a good book that explains several techniques in a comprehensive way. The only problem is that often the faces of the fairies are schematic and stereotyped, often expressionless . It is our task to give the right soul to our creations. Still offers some good ideas and good exercises. However is a great, good book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
This is a beautiful book. Whether you want to learn to draw fairies or just spend ages looking at them. I am not a natural artist and in truth found the instructions for drawing fairies hard to follow - but will SLOWLY persevere. If you are an experienced artist you will simply LOVE this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
It took me about a month to decide which fairy tutorial to purchase and finally decided on this one. Am I glad I did. Very well thought out and laid out to follow. Well recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)