Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars88
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£16.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2009
Being a professional in auto-electrics, I purchased this torch for heatshrink connectors. The small design made it ideal for use all around vehicles and is simple in its ease of use.
However, it is a little cool for my liking as it takes just a little bit to long to heat the connectors and ultimatley the glue within. You also have to position the funelled heat right up close to the connector which can be a little tricky if using within a loom.
All being said though, not a bad product for the money!!!
11 comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Ideal for the electronics hobbyist for tidying up wiring using heat shrink sleeving. Only takes a few seconds to reach operating temperature and I like the way it relights by just turning on the gas if used relatively quickly between jobs. Quite small and light to use, but not really suitable for large diameter jobs.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
I wanted a small heat gun to use on shrink tubing and this does the job perfectly. It gives far greater control than you'd get with a full-sized heat gun. I was so impressed I bought the Draper gas soldering iron based on the same design. Both seem well made and really are useful items for the toolbox. Just looking for more jobs to use them on.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
It is a little low powered but seems well made. lights and heats up well.

For car or domestic wiring it is up to the job. Better made than the cheaper ' disposable lighter' type. It takes up only a little room in the tool box.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
I bought this to use with heatshrink when i was tidying up the electrics on my motorcycle. It gets to a nice heat quickly and is the perfect size. The cap also double as a stand. Great item
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
I'm a vehicle technician, i bought one of these for use on heatshrink connectors on vehicle wiring. Unfortunately the first one was faulty. Fair play Amazon swapped it out without issue. The new one works but just doesnt get hot enough to shrink the connectors. It can do the job but it takes an age to work and has to be almost touching the connector for the required hest to be achieved. For home use its fine and will safely seal wiring but in a work environment i cant imagine many bosses being pleased you've spent 20 mins shrinking 4 connectors when it should take 2 mins tops.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I was expecting great things from this device as I use heat shrink shielding on electrical items a lot. It does not 'burn' the heat shrink but then it takes that bit longer.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Excellent small flame less lighter and heat torch. Takes lighter gas. Lights first time and has the usual Draper excellence.
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
I considered buying this against the lesser known brand name and decided that this was the one to go for. I'm pleased with it, as unlike the other type, there are no additional parts like a cigarette lighter to install, and the torch is simply lit at a press of a button with fuel being supplied from the unit itself. The torch is easily and quickly refilled using butane gas cigarette lighter refill canister that is available in most retailers that sell tobacco and lighters.
The heat from the torch can be adjusted and it is fine and localised. This means that I can heat a section at a time, instead of the entire section and this means much more control.
As an angler, I use this torch to make welded loops in the end of my fly lines with heat shrink tubing and the control over the heat means that this torch performs this task admirably.
The lid doubling up as a handy stand is another useful feature as I can use the torch on a bench and have both hands free.
The torch is actually smaller than it looks in the photo but this makes it easier to store. For safety, keep it away from the kids!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Great tool ideal for the purpose of heat shrinking, safe and easy to use and at a good price, well packaged and prompt delivery. Thanks
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.