Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2011
I was excited to get these mini-lp style reissues but the covers have been altered to look "old" and the incorrect artwork has been used on the inside of the gatefold for Shout At The Devil too.

To make matters worse and this is the bit that really makes these TO BE AVOIDED releases....each song has a 2-3 second gap between them so where tracks like T.N.T and Dr Feelgood once seamlessly mearged they are now interupted by a few seconds of silence...and the send of the song is abruptly cut off

EMI should be ashamed of themselves for messing this simple task up in such a big way....no wonder theyre going down the tubes!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
i had lost touch with a lot of the music i listened to when i was younger , but after watching a documentary on motley crue on telly couple of weeks ago the fire was rekindled a little, and well worth while i must say a great selection of tracks and great to drive to and have up loud , what makes me laugh is when i am sitting in traffic with this album playing loud people as bus stops give me the strangest looks as if to say what is that silly old fool (52) playing that music for but what the hell i found it that good i can`t think of a bad track on this and if like me you have been out of the loop for a while a great choice to get back into it pity i can`t head bang anymore as i have no hair to swish about now ahhhhhhhhhhhhh but the thought is still there !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2003
After some great years experimenting with leather, make up and satanic imagery, then sun drenched, bleached blonde good time beach music, the Motleys moved towards more of a Mick Mars inspired blues feel with this album. It's still summer listening in all honesty, but this album is probably their best since Shout At The Devil. From the sexy Slice Of Your Pie to the power anthem Kickstart My Heart to the classy Don't Go Away Mad to the tounge in cheek She Goes Down this album contains more classics than you would have thought possible, and somehow presents these diverse styles in a unified package. Unfortunately this was the last great album to be released by Crue as they went sadly astray after this - however those of us that remember the good times will always be able to put this album on and smile!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
Possibly the band's Black Album or Number of the Beast. Beginning with their first 2 harder rock albums, their evolution inbetween Theatre of Pain and Girls... into the commercial sleaze-rock they now embrace, everything came together for this release. Experience, success, a slathering fan-base and maturity all aided the transition from rocks upstarts into stadium dwelling behemoths. They weren't up to the calibre of the Bon Jovis or Aerosmiths of their era but this album was where they came very close to world domination. And for all the right reasons. Dr Feelgood is a great album, a classic of sorts and by far their best musically and technically.

The intro and title track herald their new beefed up variation of the sound they birthed on Girls... . Round, earthy riffs and sparkling high notes spar for space in an angular, metallic, yet deep-south-inspired song. At once anthemic and deep, while still retaining the fun, this was the perfect opener and intro to the album. 'Slice of your Pie' contimued with the southern swagger until exploding with a riff so dirty and full that it really does come as a surprise. The production, as you can guess, is second to none. It all sounds exactly as it should. 'Rattlesnake Shake' is catchy and fun, with a beaut of a chorus that keeps you singing for days. 'Kickstart My Heart' begins with a guitar duel as motorbike engines. And then one of my all-time best riffs hits the speakers. There's no volume too loud for this riff. The rest of the song is excellent also. 'Without You' is the obligatory ballad and it is a good one,at just the right juncture for the listener to need one.

'S.O.S' is both fun and close to perfect. There's no part of the track that isn't catchy. 'Sticky Sweet' and 'Girl Goes Down' are the filler material. They're not bad but the album would have survived their deletion. 'Girl Don't Go Away Mad' is both frustrating and great. It has a rather annoying chorus that grows into one you will not be able to forget. It's no classic but it is a good song. 'Time For Change' ends things on a 'be good to one another' vibe. It was de rigeur at the time to have these kinds of anthemic socio-ballads and probably did help to raise the view of this album a little higher-browed. And on the whole it worked.

As a complete piece of work this works better than any of their other albums. Girls... and Theatre... come close but this is their undoubtable triumph. And recently they have also stepped up to the mark again (as of 2011). Probably best to avoid the inbetween years...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
I got this on its release in August 1989 and remember how let down I felt on the first few plays. Mick Mars contributed his best work for this album, and is always overlooked, which is a shame, as he is the real force of Motley Crue.
Nikki Sixx's lyrics, normally so damned good, are average-at-best on this album.
Bob Rock does a fantastic job on production, but the radio-friendly 'Without You' is too schmaltzy for a Crue album in my opinion.
Stand-out track for me was 'Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away) which all 4 members are really on-track with their combined performances.
After the 'Girls, Girls, Girls' CD, I expected a lot more to be honest.
Its better than 'Theatre of Pain'..........just!
Re-issue has some live tracks thrown in as well.
Overall, a necessary inclusion for your collection......but after this, the band spiralled downwards.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2001
Being an avid fan of Motley Crue from around 1983, it is always with a more than a fond memory, when I reflect on all my wasted hours of listening to Tommy Vance on a Friday night, when he'd play all the latest import songs doing the rounds over here in good old Blighty from over the pond. This is where I heard my first Crue song (smokin in the boys room) and from that moment on I was hooked. I later went on to buy Dr. Feelgood on vinyl (which apart from the odd scratch still has a place amongst all the other greats in my record collection). I recently got the CD version, and to be honest they still beat most rock bands past and present hands-down with superb guitar rifts that you'd swear were sound samples of a passing harley davidson! Anyway if your a Crue fan, you probably own this one already, if not give them a try I'm sure you wont be disappointed, not one little bit! Buy this song and get the feelgood factor running through your veins!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
This album is a tour de force of classic 80s rock. This is Motley's Appetite For Destruction. Granted, it might not have aged quite as well as Appetite, but the meat and bones of the songs still stand the test of time. There are brilliant riffs, great solos and consistantly great songwriting throughout. The highlights? "Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)" starts as a beautiful melancholic accoustic number, before launching into a rockier second half and is undoubtedly one of the best Motley songs ever. "S.O.S. (Same Ol Situation)" is an unashamedly fun and catchy rocker, with more hooks than a fishermans tackle kit. "Kickstart My Heart" and "Dr Feelgood" are the albums megahits, both great anthemic rock tracks with chunky riffs and plenty of attitude. The album closer "Time For Change" is a great piano-laden rock ballad, it's cheesy as hell, but a solid track nonetheless.

The whole album is killer - there's not a weak track in sight. Definately one of the best rock albums of the 80s.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Dr.Feelgood was one of the defining albums of the 80's with it's sleaze factor and debauchery and Motley Crue were (and still are) at the forefront of glam metal.

This album has it all: great riffs, catchy lyrics, amazing solos and sick drumming, what more do you need?
my personal favourite songs from this album are:-

Dr. Feelgood
Kickstart My Heart
Without You
Same ol' situation (S.O.S)

In my opinion the limited edition mini vinyl replica CD version is the one to get simply for how cool the disc looks but if there's none available of that version i'd also recommend the deluxe edition of Dr. Feelgood.

10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
had this album on cassette tape (remember those?!) so was nice to hear it again. good for all Crue fans
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
a killer Crue album. this was the first album by the Sixx, Lee, Neil and Mars I`d gotten into. the first was with the John Corabi vocalist album. but back to the review there isn't a bad song on here. this is pure Motley Crue, awesome so if you need a Crue album buy this one review is for the vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)