Start reading I Don't Know What It Is But I Love It on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
I Don't Know What It Is But I Love It: Liverpool's Unforgettable 1983-84 Season
 
 

I Don't Know What It Is But I Love It: Liverpool's Unforgettable 1983-84 Season [Kindle Edition]

Tony Evans
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £16.99
Kindle Price: £5.69 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £11.30 (67%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £5.69  
Hardcover £11.89  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)


Product Description

Product Description

I Don't Know What It Is But I Love It by Tony Evans - Liverpool and the most unlikely success story in football



Kenny Dalglish. Graeme Souness. Ian Rush. Alan Hansen. Bruce Grobelaar. They rank with the very greatest players ever. But the heroes of 1984 were an unlikely group to make history.



Led by a 63-year old first-time manager and a captain show-off better known for his moves on the dancefloor, Liverpool's greatest season was a booze-fuelled journey to three trophies: the first division title, the League Cup and the European Cup, won on a remarkable night in Rome. The team's theme song was even the much-derided Chris Rea hit.



Eye-watering, hilarious, and utterly unbelievable, this is the story of how they did it, and how their season was the last year of innocence in English football.



This book is essential reading for fans of Red or Dead, 43 Years With The Same Bird: A Liverpudlian Love Affair and the memoirs of Steven Gerrard, Jamie Carragher and Kenny Dalglish.



Tony Evans has been football editor of The Times for five years and was born a Liverpool fan. He writes a weekly column for The Game, The Times' weekly football supplement. He came to journalism at the age of 29 and spent his 20s following Liverpool and playing in bands, including a stint in The Farm. In 1983-84, he saw all 42 league games and most of the matches in other competitions.

About the Author

Tony Evans has been football editor of The Times for five years and was born a Liverpool fan. He writes a weekly column for The Game, The Times' weekly football supplement. He came to journalism at the age of 29 and spent his 20s following Liverpool and playing in bands, including a stint in The Farm. In 1983-84, he saw all 42 league games and most of the matches in other competitions.

Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trebles All Round 4 Jun 2014
Format:Hardcover
Dealing with it first and for those that aren’t aware of it, the title of this book comes from the Chris Rea song that was fearlessly bellowed out by the Liverpool players right in the faces of the Roma team as the two sides waited in the tunnel before walking out one spring evening in Italy to decide the outcome of the European Cup. Singing this in Rome was a reminder of the close bonding the players had enjoyed during their pre-final jaunt to Israel, where the song had been adopted as a kind of anthem by the Liverpool players as the season reached its finale.

Seven football clubs have faced the herculean task of having to play a European final at the home stadium of its opponents. Only three have been successful. This is the story of the first club to achieve that almost impossible against-the-odds task. It is very, very rare. But this is more than just the story of one cup final. The success of a football club’s season is usually judged by the trophies that have been won by the end of it. That isn’t always a true reflection of the way a team has performed but, because there are so few trophies to be handed out annually, it is usually a fair reflection. If your history is as full of trophy-winning seasons as Liverpool Football Club’s is, there are many to choose from and there will always be arguments about which was the best. Was the 1978-79 team better than the 1987-88 team, for example ? The passing of time means that success in the tangible form of trophies can often become just a year in the printed Honours’ List of a club in its home programme or the fading memory of an older supporter who lived through the time.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Memories of a Wonderful Season 7 Jun 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This is a book that will appeal to all Liverpool supporters young and old. It is the history of what turned out to be a fantastic season under the stewardship of Joe Fagan. Tony has written it in a way that captures the reader in an enthralling way and it is one of those books that you can simply not put down. I would and have recommended to everyone I know who enjoys reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 10 July 2014
By Mrs K
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Liverpool fans will love it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars I certainly loved it! 30 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Intelligent, perceptive and highly evocative - recommended for Reds' fans and students of 1980s' Britain alike - Dr Malcolm Purbrick.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Good nostalgia. 26 Jun 2014
By Colsa
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A good read about one of the best seasons Liverpool FC have ever had. Interesting quotes and stories from some of the squad. Good to get an inside perspective. Interesting read for any Liverpool FC fan, especially if your like me and remember that season well.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonddrful 24 Jun 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Wonderful anecdotes from an often forgotten season. Joe was a gentle genius, Souness his general, a genius on the pitch.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category