Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars167
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.62+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 November 2007
The quote mostly associated with this album by the music press was something like 'widely regarded as a return to form'. And yet, as a massive Oasis fan, I can't help but feel this album was a couple of decisions away from being a real classic. Or rather, there are a handful of songs on this album that are inches from being a return to form. And the reason I would argue that, is that in reality the combination that made Oasis one of the greatest bands in the history of British music was Liam Gallagher singing Noel Gallagher's songs. And there is a reason for that - both Gallagher brothers are brilliant, and are amongst the greatest ever in their chosen discipline.

Now no one can argue that the introduction to Oasis albums of songs written by Liam, Gem Archer and Andy Bell has meant that the songs Noel has contributed to an album are of a higher quality. He explained why this had happened himself - he simply had more time to work on the songs. The problem then, is not with songs being contributed by others, but with Noel's songs being sung, almost solely, by Noel. I would suggest that the only song on this album that it was necessary for Noel to sing is the great single The Importance of Being Idle, which with it's Kinks-esque chorus and lovely lyric is an Oasis classic. It also, of course, had a brilliant video (starring Rhys Ifans). Let There Be Love sends shivers down my spine throughout, especially when Noel comes in in the Middle 8. And Lyla, in some ways, was probably the best single since Morning Glory. But the chance to make Mucky Fingers one of the best Oasis songs of all time was there, but without Liam's growling vocals it becomes merely very good. Part of the Queue is a difficult one, but I can't help but think - if in doubt, let Liam do it. I'm certain that if either of those had been sung by the younger Gallagher, it would have been a single and a hit.

So what am I saying about the album - it is a return to form. The songs are great - particularly those written by Gallagher Snr. Particularly the singles. And yet, there is a feeling that we were inches from someone saying 'this is as good as Morning Glory'. Which is something that a lot of fans have been hoping for for a long time.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2006
This is a terrific return to form for Oasis, as the tracks here bristle with self-confidence and energy.
Much has been made of the shared songwriting, as Liam, Gem and Andy Bell chip in with some fine songs.
But Noel is really the star of the show. 'The Importance...Idle' is as good as anything he's ever written, and 'Mucky Fingers' & 'Part Of The Queue' find him stretching his wings into different styles.
Unlike the hideously underproduced 'Heathen Chemistry', 'Don't Believe..' sounds as strong as the songs. Producer Dave Sardy has done a great job in relighting the creative fire under Oasis.
A tremendous effort, with not a dud track on the disk. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2006
Oasis will forever be known for their earliest work and their laddish outlook on life in the mid-nineties. Don't Believe The Truth is a million miles away from the angry, confident swagger of Definitely Maybe and the commercially successful pop-rock of Morning Glory, but it should still hold a place in every Oasis fan's music collection.

Liam has learned to write a decent tune and Noel's contributions offer a more reflective and wiser stance. Gem and Andy's songs are more reminiscent of early-Oasis than the Gallagher's efforts, but Liam's vocals define them as late-Oasis. The album represents an age group that has grown older with Oasis, one that has settled down, started families and become increasingly mellow.

Musically the songs are still classic Oasis in style, but perhaps only Let There Be Love offers the anthemic chorus most would normally associate with the band. Singles Lyla and The Importance Of Being Idle reflect how much Oasis have changed since the mid-nineties, but the catchy melody is still there and songs like Part Of The Queue and Guess God Thinks I'm Abel indicate Oasis still have a musical future.

The album is never going to make any all-time top lists, but it is one of those albums that you will put on in a couple of years time and think I cannot believe I did not listen to it more than I did. A solid 7/10.

Best Track: The importance Of Being Idle
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2005
Now, I hate those folks in these reviews that either just bash the album or claim it's the greatest thing since sliced bread, so, I'm not going to be one. BUT reviewing this album it's hard not to eulogize it.
I'll start by saying that the Gallagher brothers have been (justifiably) accused of being stuck in the summers of 1995-6 and unable to move on, and I for one never quite liked that stuff anyway. This album however is totally eclectic with a whole bunch of different writers and styles - not just the Noel G show for once. Having said that, Noel's The Importance of Being Idle is probably the strongest song on the album and is something to look forward to in the first half and pushes the rest of the material along in the second half. Also the last track (an unsual Noel and Liam duet) is awesomely tender and quite moving, considering it comes from the kings of the sing-a-long.
Yea, I dig it and it's well worth a listen... especially if you're not a fan of the G chord driven drivel Oasis have been putting out for the last 10 years since WTSMG.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2006
A return to form by oasis as they produce their best work for 10 years.
1.Turn Up The Sun, 6/10, Good opening track, but goes on a bit.
2.Mucky Fingers, 9/10, Nothing like anything Noel has written before. Takes a while to grow on you, but a great song all the same.
3.Lyla, 8/10, Surprising they decided to release this one first. Although it isn't as good as some of the other tracks, is still a fun song to listen to.
4.Love Like A Bomb, 8/10, Songbird Part 2. Liam shows his softer side in this song, and shows how much he is progressing with his song writing.
5.The Importance Of Being Idle, 10/10, One of the classic oasis songs. Noel's musical talent really shines through in this. Would of been number 1 for months if they had released it first.
6.The Meaning Of Soul, 9/10, 90 seconds of blaring acoustic guitar and drums. Really gets the adrenaline pumping, and should be their next single.
7.Guess God Thinks I'm Abel, 7/10, Brilliant chorus, but slightly boring verses. However, Liam shows again how he has matured with his song writing.
8.Part Of The Queue, 8/10, Good to hear that Noel is leaving the meaning of life to someone else, and is back talking about the little things. Excellent vocals.
9.Keep The Dream Alive, 8/10, Another brilliant chorus, but takes a while to get into the song. Again the verses drag on a bit.
10.A Bell Will Ring, 8/10, Excellent lyrics, and an upbeat chorus.
11.Let There Be Love, 10/10, Pulled back from over-production, and this seems to have been a wise move because any longer would of ruined the song. Noel's verse will simply blow you away.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2005
What's the Story?......Autumn Glory.
The first good news here is that after 10 years of giving us the Beatles Oasis have got their Stones back. It is good to hear? Oh Yes!
There's a great photo in the booklet. The lads are in the garden of a country house. Big hedges, evening, autumn. His Satanic Majesty Liam eyeballs the camera, as does Jem who manages to look like all four Beatles circa Sergeant Pepper at the same time. Stage left Andy Bell is trying to offload copies of the Big Issue, stage right Noel is a man caught by the paparazzi stumbling out of the club at 5 am. Whatever holds these guys together it can't be temperament, it must be the music.
And now for the ground rules.
One - Definitely maybe was a great sussed, swaggering classic and Morning Glory was a patchy chancers follow up.
Two - I'm not going to go through every song ripped off on this album. Most of the steals are good enough to make this more than a train spotter's heaven, but occasionally guys....you are pushing it more than a bit. So, nothing new there.
Right. Lets get on with it.
From the first song they band nail their four square rhythm to the floor give us Turn Up the Sun, Mucky Fingers and Lyla. All fair songs, but by song number 4, Love Like A Bomb they are the dog that won't let go of its bone. Then in comes a lovely piano solo and the album opens up. The Importance Of Being Idle is a pleasant little bohemian waltz and The Meaning of Soul is a short sharp dose of snotty skiffle that is knocked on the head at just the right time.
Then comes the touch of genius as the spaced out chiming chords of Liam's Guess God Thinks I'm Abel take us for a walk among the stars. Noel answers with another gem, Part Of The Queue. Then it's the loose rocking and soaring choruses of Keep The Dream Alive. Three classic songs in a row.
A Bell Will Ring is a decent chugger. Last song Let There Be Love is a disappointment. It one thing to steal, this is just pastiche. I'll break my ground rules. The last thing we needed from Oasis was another second division Beatles/Lennon rip off.
But as a whole this album is pretty damn good, with the possible exeption of Let There Be Love there isn't a weak song here and for three songs is touches genius. Some people want Definitely Maybe Part 2, but this is a different band and you can't be in your early 20's all your life. What's the Story? Autumn Glory. All the pieces are in place for a real classic next time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
Seein Oasis live at milton keynes this year helped me appricate this album even more. Although not as good as the early days of 'Definitely Maybe' or 'Morning Glory', this is by far their best album since that era. Opening with one of my personal favourites, 'Turn Up the Sun', the album as a whole contains no 'bad' songs whatsoever - unlike works such as 'Standing on the Shoulders of Giants' and 'Be Here Now'.
What i really like about the album though is the mixture - every band member was involved in writing these new tunes, which shows the talents of the other members rather then just Noel. Personal faves from the album are Guess God Thinks Im Able (a subtle number from Liam) and Part of the Queue (a Noel track resembling The Stranglers Golden Brown). The band's references to influenced bands are thrown in all over here, which again makes it a nice listem.
To put it simply, this is Oaisis back on top form, and at last we can safely say they are back strongly in the music scene!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2005
i was a bit unsure when going out to buy this album, the reviews in magazines hadn't exaclty been too posative and standing on the shoulders of giants was probably their worst.
I can now highly recommend it to anyone. The first 3 tracks are alright but not anything special and i don't actually listen to lyla as it's been on the radio too much.
It's as you get to Loves like and bomb and onwards that it starts to shine and stand out. Let there be love is amazing and it makes you wish that Noel and Liam did more sharing of the singing of songs.
The only gripe i have is that they've nicked a chord sequence again. Instead of cigarettes and alcohol having the same start as T rex's Get it on...Part of the queue starts the same as Badly Drawn Boy's wet wet wet,except it turns out a better song.
All i can say now is buy it and enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2005
I've always been a casual listener of Oasis and as good as their efforts have been thus far i must say this is by far their best accomplishment......including Morning glory. I'm sold on this effort. Aside from the hook formula Lyla, every song on here is unique and a far steller from what's come before. I'll finally make an effort to catch them in concert.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2005
The problem with any new Oasis album is that it's never going to live up to their first two, simply because Definitely Maybe and Morning Glory defined a generation. If proof were needed, even the most staunch Oasis-hater from 1995 knows the words to Don't Look Back in Anger and has happily led a sing-along to Wonderwall at closing time.
Times may have changed and for various reasons Oasis may not be as big as they used to be, but that doesn't stop Don't Believe the Truth from being an excellent ablum. Let's take a step into an imaginary time where Oasis never existed until now and consider what people would say about this album......
(a) The two singers have excellent voices. One is the epitome of rock n roll, instantly recognisable. The other shows great range and provides the balance to the record.
(b) There's four songwriters giving the album variation but still there's a strange sense of cohesion.
(c) There's only one duff song on the album (Keep The Dream Alive), but even so, it's nothing less than distinctly average.
(d) It's very retro with some obvious influences.
(e) It's impossible to pick a favourite track. Well, you can pick a favourite, but it'll change from listen to listen.
(f) It's catchy but simultaneously it's a grower.
(g) No two songs sound the same - a pleasant change in the modern musical climate. Those who complain that all Oasis songs sound the same should try and compare Mucky Fingers with Love Like a Bomb. Or The Importance of Being Idle with the Meaning of Soul.
It may have become fashionable to criticise Oasis, but anyone who properly listens to this album without prejudging it will find that criticism hard to justify. If you love Oasis you'll love this album. If you don't you might just be pleasantly surprised. For me the best album I've heard this year. Definitely worth a gamble.....
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.