Trade in Yours
For a 5.68 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide [Paperback]

Helen Aveyard
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (61 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback --  
Trade In this Item for up to 5.68
Trade in Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 5.68, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more
There is a newer edition of this item:
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide 4.6 out of 5 stars (8)
16.65
In stock.

Book Description

1 May 2010 9780335238859 978-0335238859 2
"This book is superb. Most undergraduates have to undertake some form of literature review which may be daunting, this book explains it in an clear, easy to understand format. Explanations are given as to why undertaking a literature review is undertaken. Summery sections at the end of each chapter allow the reader to reflect on what they have just read, allowing the information to sink in. This book should be on every university's recommended reading list."
Kerry Davis, Student Nurse, University Campus Suffolk, UK

"This book is fantastic! It gives a clear, concise guide to carrying out a literature review, which is of course a widely used formative assessment technique in a nursing program ... (it includes) in depth explanations and reasons as to how and why it is important to do a literature review ... the summary section at the end of each chapter is excellent, and allows the reader to review their understanding of what they’re just read. Overall an excellent book which is a must for any student nurse!"
Gem Smith, Student Nurse, Northumbria University, UK

"This book is superb. It explains the entire process of writing a literature review very clearly ... extremely helpful as the prospect of reviewing literature can be quite daunting."
Vicky Bain, Student Nurse, University of Nottingham, UK

"A comprehensive, easy to read guide which will help students to understand how to undertake a literature review, and how to use the resultant information effectively."
Anne-Marie Warnes, University of Central Lancashire, UK

"As a student, currently writing a literature review, I found this an extremely helpful book, which is invaluable in demystifying some of the more challenging elements, while at the same time providing clear, simple, appealing and appropriate guidance. This is a must have for undergraduate nursing students, and indeed all healthcare students embarking on such projects."
Audrey Grace, Trinity College Dublin, Dublin, Ireland

This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review.

The new edition has been fully updated and provides a practical guide to the different types of literature that you may come across when undertaking a literature review. It includes:

  • Examples of commonly occurring real life scenarios encountered by students
  • Emphasis on the importance of setting a question at the very start of the project
  • Advice on how to follow a clearly defined search strategy
  • Details of a wide range of critical appraisal tools
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care 2/e is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field - and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence.


Product details

  • Paperback: 184 pages
  • Publisher: Open University Press; 2 edition (1 May 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780335238859
  • ISBN-13: 978-0335238859
  • ASIN: 0335238858
  • Product Dimensions: 21 x 13 x 1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (61 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 6,757 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

Dr Helen Aveyard completed her doctoral study at King's College University of London, following which she has worked as a senior lecturer at Oxford Brookes University, UK.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
By Rosey Lea TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a truly brilliant book for anyone involved in public affairs research.

Following the guidance here produces a really high class literature review indeed, and the principle can be applied in any field, but the value of the book is well beyond just the literature review guidance. The explanation and discussion of research terms and considerations are worth their weight in gold. The book assumes no prior research knowledge, so the guides you right through the types of research available, pros and cons, right down to how to effectively phrase the question your review seeks to answer.

Even if not involved with literature reviews, this book really is an essential part of any researcher's reference shelf.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd found this book 2 years ago! 14 Feb 2011
By South Londoner VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a great little book that explains in a step by step fashion how to do a systematic review for your research project or dissertation. Its focussed on health and social care and is perfect for health professionals doing their first piece of original research as part of a higher qualification. It covers all the essential bits including how to select and refine a research question, how to search for research articles and most importantly how to appraise and synthesise the evidence. This book would have saved me a lot of time and effort if I would have come across it 2 years ago when I started my masters!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable aid for students and professionals 10 Jan 2011
By Misha The Penguin VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My day job requires me to work with medical evidence and evidence based practice so literature searches and reviews are commonplace. When looking at this book I thought I wouldn't be able to gain very much from it, however this was not the case. Old habits are difficult to break (!) and this booked flagged up a couple (and helpfully provided the solutions!). The book is clearly set out starting with how to define your research question through to searching the literature followed by reviewing your data and critically appraising articles.

There are helpful sections on quantitative and qualitative data which give simple explanations which appear brief, however if you really were looking for more depth on these subjects there are books dedicated to them. The overarching premise is that this book will help you complete a literature review for a piece of academic study but this book is also helpful for those people who are new to Evidence Based Practice and need to review the appropriate literature for practice purposes.

Overall I thoroughly recommend this book - whichever category you fall in.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent review on how to write a review 15 Jan 2011
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Starting from the basics, with no pre-qualifications required, it lays out a sensible approach to writing a literature review.

Some of the things covered include:
- effectively phrasing/defining your research question
- description & explanation of commonly used terms
- different types of types of research available with pros and cons
- searching the literature
- reviewing your data
- critically appraising articles

I have found this book really helpful, and has been a indispensable roadmap for me during the ardous job of writing my thesis!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Aveyard! 7 April 2013
By Sophie
Format:Paperback
I could kiss Aveyard for writing this book!! It's really clear and helpful and I can't imagine how my dissertation would have turned out without reading this book. The book is applicable for all health and social care subjects. It's been a god send and I would recommend this book to anyone completing a literature review..
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literature review planning and writing guide 6 Feb 2011
By misswise VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
As a scientist, I found this book to be a detailed and comprehensive guide on how to write a literature review. Many students struggle with how to plan and execute a critical review of their subject matter so this guide gives good explanations on how to write a review and the skills herein are transferable to other subject ares not just limited to health and social care. Its layout by section and summaries at the end of each one mean that the flow of text and ideas is easily understood. It is also good value for money at the purchase price and I would recommend it to both undergraduates and graduates undertaking any form of literature review write ups !
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for any nursing student 17 Jan 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I have nothing but praise for Helen Aveyard and her books. Ive read quite a few recently and this one comes very top of my list. Easy to understand and access for consulting individual concepts, well organised, written in plain language and not goobledigook! If you are a student within healthcare and you are undertaking a degree - this book will become a good friend to you - worth every penny!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Louisa
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book works well for those trying to decide how to conduct a literature review. It explains how to do appropriate searching and goes right through to appropriate approaches for writing a good review. I wouldn't be without it now...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Academic
Practical
Published 11 days ago by Caroline Doran
4.0 out of 5 stars Brill for Social Work Dissertation!
I found this book to be a very useful read whilst writing my dissertation. Aveyard breaks down each step and explains in depth without the jargon how to undertake a literature... Read more
Published 2 months ago by Jayda P
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Very Helpful book, great choice for science students doing a lit review or even just doing a write up of experiments. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Anjie
4.0 out of 5 stars lit review
A very good read and guidance. useful to those who have not written a lit review in a while. Get the sticky notes out.
Published 5 months ago by Sandra
5.0 out of 5 stars great
Great book, should keep me informed for the rest of my course, recommended by myself and most of my lectures!
Published 6 months ago by Michelle Kenney
5.0 out of 5 stars STOP!
If you are embarking on a literature review for the first time, do not proceed until you read this book
Published 6 months ago by jb
5.0 out of 5 stars Student Nurse
The book gives a clear step by step approach. It breaks down the daunting approach of doing a Literature Review.
Published 7 months ago by Jessica Carroll
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
Helped me with my assignment. Was interesting and helpful for my learning. Good value for the money and was delivered on time..
Published 7 months ago by s booth
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy!
Well you still have to do the writing but a good, logical way to approach study
A must for all students
Published 7 months ago by JRH
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear & Straightforward
This book has a very logical straightforward and readable format - making the topic very accessible for scared students! Excellent.
Published 8 months ago by H Robinson
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback