Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars66
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2013
When disaster hits the Titanic, the Doctor uncovers a threat to the whole human race.

25 Dec 2007

Includes:
Mini Episode Time Crash
Doctor Who Confidential
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
This is the story that confirmed David Tennant as the most successful Doctor since Sir Tom Baker with over 12 million tuning in.
To begin with I didn't like the slightly re-worked theme. But that's a minor quibble.
This is more akin to the 1st Christmas special "The Christmas Invasion" (still my favourite xmas adventure)than 2006's high paced romp "The Runaway Bride". The story itself is no great shakes, it ticks all the boxes; new monsters, Earth under threat, new companion, Christmas references but doesn't hang together brilliantly.
But this being the Police Box Show, even when the plotting's a little wonky, you can just sit back and enjoy the ride, and it is a good ride.

Tennant is on good form as ever, totally the Doctor, not pining for Martha, but then he didn't love her. Once the crash of the Titanic space ship into the Tardis is sorted, no time is wasted getting him in the thick of things.

There is a good new companion in Kylie (whose acting I was never a fan of, but she's V. good here) although her fate's a little obvious. the host are a little like the Robot's of Death from Uncle Tom's time, but they work well.
There is a mixture of supporting characters, mostly working very well and some nice humour about Earth xmas customs and everyone stying in for fear of more "alien intervention".

There is a touch of disaster movie about the thing and it is clear writer Russell T. is a Poseidon fan.To be honest on the downside, it is a little long and needed better pacing to sustain it's 70 minutes but still enjoyable stuff.

2 important extra pieces are supporting this story. The 1st is a Dr Who Confidential on the Mkaing fo it which is the usual imformative mix of footage and interview and also the Children in Need mini-adventure "Time Crash". Written by Steven Moffat, this witty sketch sess the 5th Doctor appear in the 10th Doctor's tardis and the 2 argue and then try to sort the problem out. Witty dialogue covers topics such as why the 5th Doctor looks older, whether the 10th Doctor is a "fan" and how the Doctor was old when he was younger. A very enjoyable skit!

If you're a big Police Box Show fan, then you'll have fun with this package although it's a less obvious purchase for the more casual viewer.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
A great story. The Doctor is very well played by Tennant. His co-star (Kylie) is beautiful, bright and tragic. All you could want! The fat couple are really far tooo stereotypes, but I found I wanted to excuse this as they played it so well. As a spoof on disaster movies, it works well. As a Doctor Who, pretty well, as science-fiction maybe not so convincing (Doctor Who becoming more and more a spoof of itself).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2008
This is a Christmas episode. It is written specifically to keep the kids happy Christmas evening while the parents tidy up the wrapping paper.
It does just that.

No, it's not the best episode of Doctor Who.
No, the story won't change your life or your view of the world.
No, Kylie isn't the best Companion ever to be on the show.
But yes, it WILL keep you entertained for the duration.

If you have kids they'll love it.
If you are an old-school fan the buy it for the 'Time Crash' special.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Great excitement, adventure and emotion. Bought it and watched with 7year old daughter for a project on the original Titanic. We both enjoyed the science fiction 'spin' on the Titanic story and revelled in David Tennant's Doctor Who. We are both fans of The Doctor and this was a wonderful stand alone adventure. Perfect for a Saturday evening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Smashing. Loved it.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
Stuffed with Christmas grub I was more than happy to slump before the telly and watch Dr Who. I have watched it all my life and have enjoyed most of it. The recent shows have gone from OK to absolutely brilliant. The Christmas shows however I find tend to try and cater for anyone, and not just the fans, they don't seem to have much in common with the on going series and are really just mindless one offs - yet entertaining crowd pleaser all the same (We wont get a Christmas equivalent of 'Girl in the fire place' or 'Blink'. Nothing much to tax your brain over the turkey) You can see why they do it like this - it grabs the ratings. Christmas is a time when the makers have fun, its a pantomime really and nothing more. This seems to wind up many fans who seem to have forgotten the true spirit of Christmas.. bah hum bug! It's meant to be a bit of fun. It also keeps Who fresh in the viewers mind until the next proper show.
Having exhausted Evil Santa's, nasty trees and exterminating angels, one wonders what Crimbo themed enemy the Doc will face next year? A Cyberman in a pear tree? Rudolf the red nosed Rutan? Perhaps we will see A great escape themed show - will the Tardis leap the barbed wire into Switzerland?
Well I wont be buying this DVD release. I will be waiting until the next season DVD arrives next Christmas.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
A lot of cheesiness but that is to be expected from a Christmas Special episode but the ending (spoiler alert) were kylie minogue's character comes back as stardust is just plain silly. that and the waving queen,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
If you like the new Doctor Who series this is just a great christmas special for you. It has everything that I love with Dr Who. Love, brilliance, action, smarts and wonderful jokes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
I look forward, to watching this dvd, when I get down to it. Because I thoroughly enjoyed watching it, when I first saw it, on the BBC, a number of years ago now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse