Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars133
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.97+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2013
If you love Xmas, the Narnia plot, you will love this. The Doctor without the companions, but new chums and a promise he is repaying, will bring a tear at the end !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Matt Smith is/was a great Doctor Who. Inventive, funny, serious and above all totally right for the role.

I feel sorry for him therefore to have been caught up in this puerile slice of stodge. Its AWFUL TV as well as bad Doctor Who.

The Doctor is not a kid's magician, he's a time travelling genius and yet here he is reduced to his lowest ebb.

Nice transfer and sound but oh dear, what was the writer thinking!!!!?
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Well I think that the 2011 Christmas Special of Doctor Who was a good episode. I mean some people say that this was not
a PERFECT Christmas special but in general terms I liked it. Once again I think that Matt Smith who is of course playing the nation's favourite Time Lord has stolen the show and he presents his imagination into the character superbly. The cast of the episode was particularly good. The famous faces in this episode that I know of is Claire Skinner who played the character of 'Sue' in the BBC sitcom of Outnumbered a comedian who worked alongside Ben Miller in the Armstrong and Miller Show. He is called Alexander Armstrong and a musician who is called Bill Bailey. There were all good characters. The casting of Madge Arwell's children were slightly average but I did not mind that too much. That is all I will have to say. Overall this a brilliant DVD for collectors who cannot wait when Christmas comes round again or I would recommenced it to any Doctor Who fan who is young or old of the show. Thank you Amazon.co.uk! Four stars all round.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
For a long while now Steven Moffat has been getting lazy with his plots and this Christmas "special" seals his reputation as the new master of corny Deus Ex Machina. Just when you believed they couldn't wheel out the "love conquers all" ending again, BBC Cardiff proves you can never have enough of a terrible thing.

I miss the old Doctor Who show, where the Doctor used to actually get put in genuinely threatening situations which he couldn't just cockily extract himself from with a flick of the sonic screwdriver or an exhortation to "believe". It's insulting to the intelligence of the viewer, but moreover, it's just plain boring telly.

Nice visuals, a creepy forest and a touching couple of last minutes are about all the good you'll be able to extract from this story unfortunately.

D- Must try harder.
2222 comments|66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Revamped Narnia story almost, mixing that with a very Christmassy theme during WW 2, some nice comedic scenes, wasn't too impressed with the forest spirits stuff, but still good viewing!!! ;0)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
It's like watching a sci-fi make of The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, but better, a Time Lord, and mother who wants her husband back from the dead to help take care of the children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Not the best Christmas special ever but this was a more thoughtful story. Was the ending predictable -- probably but then we don't get many sad endings in the Who universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Was not sure of this one at first but got it anyway because i have all others but its grew on me when watching it again. Quite a good story and overall episode
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
I thought this was one of the better Dr Who Christmas specials. I will certainly keep it in my "watch it again" section of my dvd collection. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
As always the Doctor Rocks!!! A great story - can't wait to watch Christmas Special 2012 tonight. I really like Matt Smith as the Doctor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)