Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars117
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: HD DVD|Change
Price:£5.97+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2007
This is Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window, but for teenagers. I don't mean that as a criticism - it's actually very watchable.

Instead of being stuck in a flat with a broken leg like James Stewart, the hero of this film has been tagged for punching his Spanish teacher. He's bored, he has a few hand shandies (well, he's a teenager!) and he begins to spy on his neighbours. One neighbour in particular begins to look suspicious.

To reveal any more would be unfair, but it's an intellient and very enjoyable film. It's difficult to be intensely original in this genre, but it's definitely worth a look.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2008
I didn't now if i would like this film as i am a fan of Rear Window, it's not as good as Rear window but as a modern day verison it comes a close second.It's high paced, and Shia LaBeouf is great in it. Well worth a buy.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2008
I'm a Lovefilm member, so I get to watch plenty of movies per month. I didn't really intend to watch Disturbia, because it sounded, well, 'disturbing', however, I also don't like missing out on new releases so I gave it a go. Boy, am I glad I did. Disturbia is one of the most entertaining films I've seen in a long time. Despite the somewhat gruesome title, Disturbia is a comedy that follows a teenager's (Shia LeBeouf) house arrest and his growing obsession with watching his neighbours' actions day in day out. He's completely taken in by two of them: the girl that has moved in next door and the middle-aged man across the street, who just behaves like he has something to hide.
Shia LeBeouf is an excellent actor. He can play anything from funny to scared. He has this natural charm and ability to keep the viewer engaged and kept us laughing throughout the movie. Disturbia is definitely one watchable film and is a perfect example that an action/comedy/thriller doesn't have to have a huge amount of blood, cut-off limbs and your usual screaming teenage group to become a cult classic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 January 2008
I watched this last night with my daughter and it was the first thing on my mind when I woke up. I kept wondering about things in a good way.

It tells the story of Kale, (played excellently by Shia La Beouf), who whilst driving home from a fishing trip with his father, has a head on collision with another vehicle. The crash in itself is worth seeing! Anyway, the father dies and we catch up to Kale a year later asleep in Spanish class while his best friend Ronnie is being the class clown. The teacher wakes up Kale and to cut a long story short, he makes a remark to Kale that has him lashing out at the teacher and giving him a black eye.

Kale is placed under house arrest rather than going to jouvie and he has to stay so for 90 days. His mother, (Carrie Ann Moss), is at the end of her tether with him and closes down his i-tunes and x-box and cuts the cord on his bedroom tv. She leaves him instructions to clean up his room and the kitchen. But Kale has found something much more interesting to do.

He has new neighbours move in next door and they have a great looking teenage daughter. Kale begins a ritual of watching her swim in the pool, do yoga and other stuff and he's quite content. Ronnie comes over and is equally impressed but accidentally lets the girl know that they're watching her. The girl, (Ashley), comes to the door and demands to know what they've been doing.

The boys quickly concoct a story about the neighbour next door being a serial killer. (Kale had watched a news report of a missing girl who was last seen getting into a blue 60 mustang which had a dent on one side.) This said neighbour owned such a car and had aroused his suspicions. So the three of them decide to do a stakeout.

There's some really funny stuff in here that us both laughing out loud. But equally there's stuff that makes your skin crawl with tension. Think of it as a modern day Rear Window and you're on the right track. It's definitely well worth taking the time to watch it. If you enjoyed Shia La Beouf in Transformers you will love him in this one. He steals the show completely. If you're looking for a horror I'd look elsewhere though.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2008
I saw this film and I loved it - Shia LaBeouf is hysterical and David Morse is intense and chilling at times as the antagonist psycho killer next door.
It is a very formulaeic film but the formula has worked for years and it still works a treat.
A rollercoaster of events unfold at the hands of LaBeouf that make for an intense end sequence that wraps up the story.
I highly recommend this film.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 October 2012
'Disturbia' (2007) had been sitting in my pile of unwatched DVDs for almost two years, last night I decided to give it a go and was very impressed.

A thoroughly modern, fast-paced (although much character development) thriller with plenty of twists and turns and soaked in suspense. 'Disturbia' is loosely based on the Alfred Hitchcock classic 'Rear Window' (1954). People will argue that this film isn't even in the same league (and as a big film buff, I would have to agree with them), but it's still a great little movie in it's own right and kept me engrossed from beginning to end. Very few modern thrillers have me genuinely on the edge of my seat like this one.

Unlike a lot of recent thrillers, this one doesn't rely on excessive blood and gore to be frightening. Instead, it uses plenty of mood and suspense, which usually does work better in my opinion, certainly in this case. The plot is serious and the film is full of genuine tension but despite this, there are plenty of real comedy moments from the start that made me laugh. This film will definitely appeal to teenagers, there is plenty of teen comedy and romance between the lead character and the new girl next door, all of this only adds to the many positives that this movie has. It would be difficult for me to pick out just one or even two stand-out actors in this film out as the performances from everyone are very good.

After attacking his school teacher, teenager Kale Brecht (Shia LaBeouf) has been living under three months' house arrest and is now passing his days by spying on his neighbours. It isn't long before Kale becomes convinced that his next door neighbour Mr. Turner (played by David Morse who is eerily convincing) is a serial killer and with the help of his best friend, he sets out to find the proof.

'Disturbia' was a refreshing film and one that I could certainly watch again. It has all the elements of a good thriller. Give it a go!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
There is no shying away from the fact that this film is first and foremost Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window for the modern era. All of the Hitchcockian elements that made the original film so popular are all here including when the main character sends a friend in to explore the neighbour's house while he is away and the classic moment when the spied on becomes aware of his privacy being invaded and looks directly at the spy and us as an audience. The film does not attempt to hide its homage to Hitchcock but it is its modern edge that makes it retain a unique appeal. Jimmy Stewart's camera and binoculars are shoved into nostalgia by Shia Labeouf's modern equipment, including cameras, computers, televisions and phones. At one point he is able to get a live feed of his suspicious neighbour shovel shopping via the internet and his friend's phone. Fans of Hitchcock (like myself) may be cynical of the film for 'stealing' the tone of Rear Window but there is still lots of newer elements to be found in this film. An adolescent twist sees Shia Labeouf's character on house arrest, filling his time with spying on his neighbours and the attractive girl next door. Humour also plays a large part in the film. One particularly funny moment sees him blast an old soul song from his hifi atop his roof in an attempt to gatecrash his love interest's party. The film keeps a nice balance between, shocks, tension and humour and although many of the scare techniques are unashamedly borrowed; in the same way that a period war film creates discussion about today's society, this film (among other broader issues) explores the utilisation of technology in a world undergoing 'a heightened state of paranoia.' Well worth a watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
This is a very cool, very good thriller. It's a bit like a modern day remake of Rear Window but with plenty of comic moments as well that it is also a bit like The 'Burbs, The girl next door. Overall a very enjoyable thriller and the pace really picks up towards the end with a few good "red herrings" along the way!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2007
A teenager Kale (Shia LeBoef) is tagged and put under house arrest, during this time he becomes convinced his sinister neighbour Mr Turner (David Morse) is a serial killer, and with help from his friend's Ronnie (Aaron Yoo) and new neighbour Ashley (Sarah Roemer) they set out to prove him guilty.

The first obvious comparison is "Rear Window", this time though the voyeur 'spies' on his neighbours not just with binoculars but with a video camera as well, he trawls the net too looking for clues and evidence.Nobody will believe him though, is he suffering from cabin fever, when it looks like he might catch him with guilty evidence, Mr Turner always delivers an alibi.

"Disturbia" is a thoroughly enjoyable, and very quirky, little thriller.There's no unnecessary gore or T&A, just a good old fashioned tense, exciting and well paced little film from director D J Carusso (who has also directed a few episodes of 'The Shield')
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
Disturbia really boasts a top cast and marks another fine acting performance from Shia LaBeouf (Transformers) but also stands out from the crowd thanks to the stunning presence of the relatively unknown actress Sarah Roemer who is gorgeous! The image transfer is of very high quality throughout with the opening scenes in the mountains really looking stunning in High Definition, almost 3D in depth and the sound is perfectly respectable too.
Underneath all this eye candy there lies a suberb teen thriller with plenty of shocks, including a very unexpected and horrific one just five minutes in which I promise you will never see coming!,a truly sinister bad guy at its heart who really delivers the scares and some very funny moments too which help relieve the building tension, leading you in to a false sense of security, before it gets racked up again!
I highly recommend this movie particularly in glorious HD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)