Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2011
In both films you find amazing action, I was never left bored, and I was captivated throughout by the action. The plots are run well and the film doesn't miss anything to make it greater, its that good.
It has moved straight into my list of top films and I would definitely recommend it if you like action.
If you are a fan of Parkour or practice Parkour or martial arts, I shouldn't have to tell you to buy this film.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
The bonus is you get two films for the price of one, if you are a fan of Luc Besson action films you won't be disappointed here the first film District 13 was co-written by Besson and has enough free running action and violent action and a bonus, no wires or CGU are used in the action scenes, the actual French actors Cyril Raffaelli and David Belle do their own stunts (both are stuntmen and actors!). The film has English sub-titles and has a storyline of a nuclear bomb destroying District 13 which is sealed of suburb of France. This is how action films should be made. Four out of Five Stars

The second film District 13 Ultimatum is a sequel and is the better of the two and has free running action, shoot outs, fight scenes and stars Cyril Raffaelli and David Belle again. The film has English sub-titles and has a storyline of the agents of the French Government secretly set out to destroy District 13. A group of gang's leaders who run District 13 set out to stop the corrupt agents with the aid of Cyril Raffaelli and David Belle. Four out of Five Stars
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
I can just recommend this double package of two high adrinaline action flicks. The films are a lot of fun: very stylish, strong, offering entertaining martial arts scenes and the birth of "parcours running" in action films (adapted in "Casino Royale").
This two disc set surprised me with a high quality package. Normally I do not buy double discs at all. But in this case the design of the cover and inlay manage to refelct the close connection of both films (the second begins where the first ends). Picture and sound are fine: D13 = very good (sharp and offering much more detail than the dvd) = DolbyDigital 5.1 English/French; D13: Ultimatum = close to reference (very sharp and dimensional) = DTS-HD-Master 5.1 French/English.

Suggestions:
a) Choose the original French tracks (subtitles are decently put within the picture and not in the black bars). Dubbing is never a good thing.
b) The French track for D13 (Part One) seems to be weaker in comparison to the English dubbed version: it is not! Just turn up the volume and it sounds exactly as powerful as the other one.
c) Even if you like low frequencies (and I do) you should turn down the bass for the French HD-Master-Track a bit (-2/3db). Then the whole track sounds more natural and you can enjoy the action instead of feeling like a teenager at the techno disco.

Have a good time with these two fine discs!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
2 discs also packed with extra features. The first episode seemed to be Region free. The sequel Ultimatum (Region B disc) is even better than the first episode. Excellent HD picture quality.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2009
Another great movie from the same people who made Leon and Transporter. If you enjoy watching the two latter films, I'm definitely sure you will love D13!

Full of action and explosions, specially the second disc (Ultimatum). I love everything on these films except the English dubbing. I don't really like subtitles so I chose to play the English dub.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
If you know what Parkour is then you will really like these films, the first one is about our "hero" living in a slum in Paris in the near future which is run by gangsters and the police try not to bother with it, his sister is kidnapped by a local gangster who also has a nuclear weapon in his possesion enter the local tough nut cop they team up and go after the bomb and the sister, it's an adrenaline filled action flick. The second one is the same 2 blokes again trying to bring all the districts together to stop crooked cops from getting the French president from nuking the whole lot and starting again. All in all not very good actors , but boy can these 2 fight and the action scenes are spot on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2010
while britain was releasing yet another danny dyer football hooligan film made only really for the british market,france had their finger on the pulse and released this internationally sucessful film.words cannot describe how good this film is!from the excellent filming,action,kung fu,car racing down to the comedic duo,this film has it all.its sort of an escape from new york action thriller.here on blu ray it looks great.oh,and please dont bother with the english soundtrack,stick to the french audio witth english subtitles.i would give this 10 starts however amazon only allows 5.so sit back with a few mates,lagers flowing and enjoy a thrills and spills from start to finish.excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
Love these for the parkour and action- some incredible and breathtaking scenes, the dynamic between the lead actors very good and it is great entertainment. Was very happy to discover there was a sequel. The extras about the film making and choreography of the action and fight sequences are interesting too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
I wished there was an English dubbed Blu-ray version and not subtitled. that would have been perfect as I already have an AVI copy of them both dubbed in English. But still great copy and movie overall 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
was quite disappointed that the vocals in this movie is, I think french,.. the subtitles are quite quick to read before the change but overall action looks quite good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.