Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars166
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2012
Unashamedly silly, joyous and optimistic, on first watch `The Muppets' seems to be mostly aimed not at children, but at the adults who grew up watching Jim Henson's characters from the much loved Muppet Show' series during the 70s and 80s. There have been a number of Muppets movies since `The Muppet Show' long since went off air, the best of which are `The Muppets Take Manhattan' and `The Muppet Christmas carol'. I am happy to say that this new film is wittier and more enjoyable than any of them. Hopefully this excellent and insanely cheery piece of family entertainment will succeed in introducing Jim Henson's creation to a new generation of admirers.

The Muppets is based on the clever (and somewhat correct) premise that the once popular Muppets are now a group of washed up has-beens, long since pushed out of the limelight by awful shows like `Punch Teacher'. Sweetly cheerful couple Gary (Jason Segel) and Mary (Amy Adams) take Gary's brother (and Muppet) Walter on a trip to Hollywood. As long-time Muppet fanatics, they pay a visit to their heroes' famous studio in L.A (actually The Muppets was filmed at Borehamwood Studios in Hertfordshire), only to be horrified that the theatre has fallen into neglect and disrepair and about to be demolished for profit by oil tycoon Tex Richman (Chris Cooper). Intent on raising the money to buy the theatre back, Walter and Gary seek out Kermit, now dejected and living alone and in the past, in a bid to get the gang back together for one more show. The group have had mixed fortunes since they went their separate ways. Fozzie is singing in a sleazy bar with Muppets tribute act `The Moopets'; Gonzo has become a millionaire in the plumbing business; Animal is attending anger management therapy and Miss Piggy is a plus-size fashion editor in Paris with, yes, a snotty secretary played by Emily Blunt.

The storyline will likely not win any prizes for originality and not every gag hits the mark, but the whole thing is carried out with such an infectious, anarchic energy that you won't care. In any case it is really just an excuse to pepper the film with song and dance numbers which are mostly excellent, particularly the very clever `Man or Muppet'. As in Muppet tradition, there are plenty of celebrity cameos: Jack Black, Dave Grohl, Whoopi Goldberg and Alan Arkin to name a few, but the irony is that in their heyday the Muppets would perhaps have attracted even bigger names (remember Elton John, Peter Sellers, Julie Andrews, Bob Hope?)

The Muppets is a terrific family film that works on a number of levels and will be enjoyed equally by adults and children alike. But for many it will also be a piece of nostalgia, unapologetically extolling the virtues of friendship, innocence and good old-fashioned charm without sentimentality and maintaining its giddy, chaotic appeal throughout.

It's time to play the music; it's time to light the lights; it's time to meet the Muppets.....
11 comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
The Muppets is a great feel good movie filled with charm, humour and musicals. It was a household name throughout seventies and eighties. It still maintains popularity amongst audience in the present day. Disney acquired the rights to the Muppets production . Disney's fondness of animal characters has added a new dimension to the muppets. The whole family would enjoy the movie. I love watching this movie, as I share fond memories of watching the Muppets as a kid.

I love the characters as they are so cheerful and full of life. The new movie features most of the original characters ( Kermit, Fuzzie, Gonzo, Ralf, Miss Piggy, Animal and so on) and new characters. The characterisation is excellent,as each muppet reflect their own distinctive personality. It really livens the film. The human characters compliment the muppet characters perfectly. Amy Adams and Jason Segel plays their parts beautifully and so charmingly, as you can tell this type of the movie is their main forte.

The plot is about the closure of a theatre, where the muppets share special memories.Gary (Jason Segel) and brother Walter embark on a trip to Hollywood and find out the muppets are in trouble. There is a connection between the brothers and the muppets as it becomes clear in the film. The two brothers help them out by reuniting the muppets, as they have headed to new pastures in life. A ruthless businessman threatens to close down the theatre until the the desparate muppets can raise certain amount to save the theatre and re-light the happy days remembered from earlier films. It relieves the nostalgic days that made Muppets a household name. The muppets are on a special mission. They achieve this by attracting TV companies and a well known celebrity to broadcast their show in true muppet style as we saw in the TV series. It shows funny sequences as the muppets are known for creating chaos and humour, but everyone cannot help adoring them as they are so innocent and harmless.

I really enjoyed The Muppets and really welcome the idea of adding another Muppets film to the big screen. It is a nice family movie to enjoy.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Muppets were a TV staple in my childhood, and I look back on their zany humour with incredible affection. On film in more recent times they have been poorly served. But now there is an all singing, all dancing new Muppet movie that promises to banish the bad memories and allow fans old and new to revel in the glory that is The Muppets!

The story follows two brothers, Walter (a Muppet) and Gary (Jason Segel) as they embark on a journey to resurrect the Muppet entertainment troupe in an attempt to stop the old studio being knocked down by a boo hiss evil corporate boss. It's a well scripted piece that allows us oldies to revel in nostalgia, with quite a few references to past glories, and will hook in a young audience of fresh Muppeteers. It has a frenetic, fast paced humour and delivers jokes and laughs at a machinegun pace. There are big song and dance numbers, romance, Muppets, plot, jokes, and a whole helter skelter of good entertaining stuff. You'd have to have a heart of pure granite not to be entertained by this great film. It delivers a great message, that though the world has moved on, the gentler entertainments of yesteryear are still funny, and still entertaining.

It's a Muppet Classic, and after some of the previous films (where the essential characters of each muppet was subjugated to the needs of the character they were playing in a particular story) it's great to see the Muppets back to what they once where, an all round great entertainment troupe putting on a show.

5 stars, this is a must see.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2013
Before the release of this movie the last time the Muppets had a theatrical release was way back in 1998 with Muppets From Space. Since then they have mostly stagnated with straight-to-DVD and TV movies. Someone at Disney reckoned a reboot was in order so now we have the unimaginatively-titled "The Muppets". I was surprised to see Jason Segal's name as a writer in the opening credits, and I had hopes that it would feel original and inspired rather than something made by a Disney committee.

With the gang disbanded and pursuing their own paths their theatre is at risk of falling into the hands of a greedy oil magnate. A young misfit Muppet decides to get them together and save their legacy. Sound familiar? It's virtually the exact same plot from It's a Very Merry Muppet Christmas Movie, by way of many repeated scenes from the original Muppet Movie. I have to say I wasn't smitten, despite really wanting to like it. The human interaction with the mop-puppets didn't seem natural (you know what I mean) and felt stilted and difficult. They're just in the background with no decent story.

There were too many songs, a couple being completely superfluous. Despite the numerous cameos I just didn't feel that this movie had any star power. I longed for Michael Caine to show up and add some credibility to it. Sadly it was just too TV-ish, with many TV actors filling out the various parts. This ranks somewhere towards the bottom of the Muppets long list of movies, even beneath The Muppets Go Medieval starring Troy McClure.

The Blu-ray looks very good in 1.78:1 1080p with Jason Segel's many warts and moles offending my delicate eyes. The sound is in punchy DTS HD-MA 7.1 and there are a fair amount of extras.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 22 November 2012
The Muppets is a superb showcase for the lovable creatures of sponge and felt, and they come up irrepressible and buoyant in their energetic antics. Kermit has such amazing facial expressions and a kind of melancholy that gives the film a sense of depth in its regret for what is lost to time, but here, in the fantasy world of the Muppet Theatre in LA, it seems to be about to be brought right back into the limelight. All the cast are brilliant, both muppet and human; the central character, a muppet called Walter - unusually shy by their normal standards - has a human brother, endearingly played by Jason Segel, while his girlfriend Amy Adams hits the mark as perfectly as she did in Julie and Julia. The villain is also uncannily good in the form of Chris Cooper - always a wonderful actor and here judging just the right degree of ham to bring to the role ... speaking of which, the resplendent Miss Piggy brings a porcine glamour to all her scenes, splendidly abetted by Emily Blunt reprising her role in The Devil Wears Prada, more or less ... of course, many of these things are in there for adults, but I would imagine children would be captivated by the bright production values and numerous song and dance routines. The whole thing is just joyous, proof that, with stars of the talent of the muppets, it would be hard for any director not to turn out a corker - you just get them to do their thing, and let the cameras roll ... or so it seems!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Shock! Horror! A dastardly villain plans to destroy the Muppets' old studio so he may get at the oil underneath. Walter vows to prevent this happening - although loved by his human brother, he himself is a Muppet at heart (and in appearance). So what if they have for so many years been scattered! He must round them all up and raise the $10,000,000 needed.

A "Let's Put on a Show!" movie - unashamedly feel-good, full of fun. Everything works a treat. Witty, inventive, great production numbers, unexpected famous names involved. A particular joy is the reuniting of one of the screen's most romantic couples - Kermit and Miss Piggy.

What may surprise, amidst all the laughs, is how moving the film sometimes is - can Walter at last be where he truly belongs?

The bonus disc contains seven classic episodes from the series itself. Rising most splendidly to the challenge are guest stars Harry Belafonte, Lesley Ann Warren, Danny Kaye, Spike Milligan (in his element), Leslie Uggams, Elke Summer, Sylvester Stallone.

Unreservedly recommended to all young at heart.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Walter is a Muppet whose ambition is to visit the Muppet theatre in Hollywood.

One day, he gets the opportunity to go, with his brother, Gary and his girlfriend, Mary. However, when they arrive they are saddened by the state that the theatre has got into.

When Walter discovers that oil magnate Tex Richman intends to buy the theatre to drill for oil, he, Gary and Mary travel far and wide to reunite the disbanded Muppet's.

Together again, the Muppet's must put on a show and try to keep their theatre....

For a big comeback movie, the Muppet's have gone for the most simple of stories. Evil corporation turning a beloved place into something else. The Muppet's only have a certain amount of time to claim it back.

It's simple stuff, but the way this film is executed is something awe-inspiring. It's clear that Segel is a huge fan of the Muppets, as there is much love and attention given to secondary Muppet's as much as the regulars.

It was a huge risk to start a 35 year old franchise from scratch and introduce it to a new demographic. After all, the last movie was criminally bad.

The songs are good, and just offer the right amount of cheese, rather than going all out soppy. The performances are great and a lot of the cameos are a funny inclusion, but did Jack Black have to be so annoying.

All in all, it's a massive feat t make something so old, feel so fresh and up to date, and also make a film that's funny for the whole family.

Brilliant, feel good stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
I have to admit I was never a muppets fan so I might be missing something, but this film never quite seems to settle into styles. It starts off feeling like a musical, but then gives up singing for a while before switching back closer to the end. I do not think this mixing of styles works for children as there is no rythym for them settle into.

It occasionally tries to have something for the parents too, but apart from a nod to the Blues Brothers rebuiding their band and some cameos - of which some work better than others - not much, and the villian, he who wanted Jason Bourne in a body bag by sun down, well I just sat there in his rap wanting to be in a body bag really.

Jack Black does OK though and carries off the Barber's shop quartet scene.

There is a lot of emotional 'down' too and visually the muppets lose, only verbally do you hear that they've won and our three year old was by that stage too sad to understand that the 'nasty man' had lost.

If your child is a muppets fan, then this might work but otherwise it is not great and I think a risk for sensitive kids.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 October 2012
While never as artful as, say the best of the Pixar films, this has a sweet heart, and a goofy sense of self-deprecating humor.

Definitely aimed at kids first. But with enough clever twists on old movie clichés, jabs at 1980's culture, great little celebrity cameos
and kidding of standard Hollywood storytelling that there is plenty to keep a grown up smiling and entertained. Alan Arkin has a priceless
couple of minutes, and Jack Black proves himself a good sport indeed.

A tip of the hat to the lead human performers Jason Segel and Amy Adams who catch just the right note of real emotion, mixed with a friendly
wink at the audience so that we care, but it never feels sappy.

Segel was a co-writer as well, and created a story where we can actually be touched by his over-dependent relationship with his
inexplicably Muppet brother Walter. A really 'nice' fun family movie, where 'nice' is not a backhanded compliment, but as an honest one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
I purchased this dvd for my 6 year old to watch. She loves it! the first time i saw it, i missed parts and didn't think it was as good as other muppet films, however, having rewatched it there are some very funny muppet moments and i would definitely recommend it as suitable for all ages. Kids will love it as it's the muppets and so will mum and dad if like me they enjoy the odd misplaced comedy kick!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)