Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 November 2007
This practical guide to locating rarer species of butterfies in Britain is beautifully produced and appears to be pleasingly factually accurate.

"The Millennium Atlas of Butterflies of Britain and Ireland" of a few years ago set a really high bar for books on this subject, and this slimmer work by D F Newland in no ways tries to compete with the massive, authoratative "Atlas..." Instead, it is a labour of love by one writer, passing on details of 100 or so sites to explore where interesting butterfies can be found.

The fact that it is such a personal work is the real strength of this book, modern Nature works do not always convey the enthusiasm of the author(s), something every word and photograph accomplishes here. In his acknowlegdements, Newland thanks his wife, who has accompanied him on his field trips; in fact she has contributed to the work too, adding a short poem to many of the site descriptions. These could easily have been twee, but in fact, are uniformly enjoyable, often a little odd, and do add a sense of place. For example :
"At Grafton,when bluebells abound
Prepare to walk on muddy ground."
A rather unusual aspect to a book of this sort and good fun.

Personally, I would have preferred more site descriptions to the descriptions of species that fill the last part of the book, but at least these give the author a chance to display more of his fine photographs.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
I looked through this book at a sitting I could not put it down. I've never had such a clear way to identify butterflies and to know where to look for them, The pictures were beautiful and the directions were clear. The only slight criticism is that the book os too big to put in my pocket!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
The author's passion for butterflies shines through this well illustrated book. For me, however, my expectation was not fully delivered. In reality only one site per butterfly is featured with a mention of some of the other butterflies at those sites. Also West Sussex seemed to hardly feature at all. Apart from these petty gripes, the book is interesting to read and it inspires by sharing a little of the magic of butterflies.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Discover Butterflies in Britain is a real delight particularly to a layman, as it shows beautiful pictures with excellent descriptions, plus clear site locations. The addition of Poems makes the book more than a fascinating butterfly study having become a well used coffee table contender in our house.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
the author gives a range of excellent sites to visit for all of the British Butterflies, including small maps of the site itself. it also includes very good photographs of the Butterflies with all the identifying features you would need. The book is a hardback and a bit too big to carry around with you all day so I would recommend keeping it handy in the car.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
Professor Newland has written a very comprehensive guide to all of the resident butterflies of Britain and some of the principal sites, many of them nature reserves, where they can be found. A deep passion for his subjects comes across in a very informative but easy to read guide. As a fellow enthusiast I have found his guide to sites most helpful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
When I initially received this book I was very impressed with its quality - hard bound on good quality glossy paper with beautifully designed pages and excellent photographs. I must say that the content matches the quality with the reading being thoroughly engaging and informative.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Super book. Would recommend it to anyone interested in butterflies - lovely photographs and good site maps. Liitle poems an interesting feature as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Big fan of the wildguides books and in my opinion this one by David Newland is the perfect companion to his wildguides butterfly book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Very well illustrated and laid out guide to finding butterflies in Britain. Looking forward to using it in the summer
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)