Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2014
Wonderful resource for anyone involved in any way with young people. Whether you already do alot of outdoor learning or you want to introduce some, this book has such an easy to follow guide, there is something for everyone. I loved the practical advice given & the honesty from the author. A must have for all educators.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
A lovely resource to have on hand. I found it useful to show other colleagues who were not as keen on outside learning as me that small manageable tasks were just as valid as massive den building, tree swinging activities and just as valuable to the children. Easy to understand not full of educational theory but supported by it. I am not Early Years trained but have come into it over the years and have found this book full of little, inexpensive tips for resources and ideas and has validated some of things I have already instigated in my setting.
A good read too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
This book certainly deserves 5 stars. Juliet has anticipated any doubts you might have about the efficacy of outdoor learning and illustrates with clear examples how to get out there with confidence. What I like most about this book is that she doesn't gloss over the difficulties. She faces them head on, acknowledging the fears and exploring solutions.Outdoor learning demands a high level of skill and commitment and opens a whole other world of being with children.Juliet looks at this world alongside the reader, encouraging a creative approach to the curriculum. In thinking for oneself the reader is also invited to consider their own professional development and needs. A reciprocal learning process is advocated here between children and adults, people and their environment. This book is a must for everyone who works with children.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
A good sourcebook for schools who are wanting to take education outdoors that will get the children fired up. Juliet Robertson also uses tried and tested ideas from some of the outdoor greats e.g Joseph Cornwall, Thom Henley et al. A book that is very easy to dip in and out of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Excellent book - clear and with great ideas.
Easy to dip in or read cover to cover.
Would recommend this to all the teachers interested in outdoor education
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
This is a wonderful book and importantly it's useful! Great for teachers but also excellent for parents wanting to drag their kids away from a screen. I can't recommend it highly enough!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
WOW lots of ideas I will be using in our garden/outdoor classroom, Given us new insight to using the outdoors on a budget - thankyou :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Fantastic book taking teachers from their first forays into nature lessons to stretching science and values based learning making use of every type of environment children might encounter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Very well-written book by an authoress who obviously has taught for some time, and really knows how to use the outdoors for learning. It's packed with great ideas for teaching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Great resource for teachers. I would also recommend any courses run by Juliet. I was on one last weekend in Cumbrae Scotland and it was inspirational. Thanks Juliet!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)