Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars150
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 January 2013
**UPDATE 23/1/2014
Still works as good as new!

===============================

Bought this because I wasn't sure if my dial-like analogue thermometer was still reading the outdoor temperature accurately this winter.

I decided to buy a digital one so it was easier to read at a glance, and after much research and homework on my options here on good ol' faithful Amazon, I settled for this one. It has the best reviews, unlike most others there where the reviews are very mixed. An upside to this is that it also measures the indoor temperature of my house which is a bonus.
Came through the post within days in a slim package, unpacked it and stuck an AA battery into the back and away it went! It takes a couple of minutes for the readings to settle down but after that, it works perfectly. I stuck the outdoor probe just outside of my staircase window and it reads great. Now whenever I go up or down the staircase, I know what the indoor and outdoor temperature is at a glance :)

How do I know that the thermometer is reading accurately? I checked it against both my old analogue thermometer which I wasn't sure if it was working properly, and my cars own reading - they were all showing the same reading, give or take 0.5C either way.

Also another little feature I love about this - at a push of a button, it can display the highest/ lowest tempreture it has recorded that day (both indoor and outdoor)

Would I recommend it? Yes. It has the most positive and accurate reviews about it when it comes to outdoor thermometers. Other digital outdoor thermometers have VERY mixed reviews and sounds as though they only last a few months before something goes wrong with them.
review image
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
A very cheap but accurate indoor/outdoor thermometer but it is not wireless as stated in the advert. Instead, there is an outdoor probe connected to the indoor unit by about 2 metres of wire that you have to feed through a hole in the wall.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
This item appears to be accurate compared to a couple of other thermometers I have and it was very cheap and easy to set up.

Can't go wrong at this price and I can't find fault with this product.

The exterior sensor cable seems reasonably chunky which is good as previous weather stations I owned suffered from the more fragile cables gradually breaking due to the opening and shutting of the window.

So far so good with this one.
33 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Product is OK, but English instructions please.

Example "The instrument has one string to deduct location behind one's back prop up the board"
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
This is the only product I have ever ordered through Amazon that is utterly rubbish. It is basic, and I knew it would not be the best, but... the instruction manual appears to have been written using google translate, and makes little sense. I did not foresee needing it, as the product is similar in design to other Temerature monitors I have, but I needed to check, as I couldn't get the buttons to do anything, and I thought I might be having a stupid moment. But, no, it is simply that none of the buttons work. The 'instructions' are useless. It is cheap, plasticky, and not worth the money. I have bought better models for less.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Unfortunately, as some other reviewers have found, the item received was not the one described/photographed on the Amazon listing. In fact on taking it out of the cardboard packaging, the item was even different the one that was shown on the box it came in! The digital indoor/outdoor thermometer supplied cames with a hygrometer reader, which was unexpected (and unwanted). The digital display is large and easy to read, the plastic casing doesn't look too cheap and the thermometer itself works reasonably well - the box does state that you should expect a +/- 1C in accuracy, and this has proven to be the case. There is no AAA battery suplied. The instructions to insert the battery are hilarious, starting with step 1 - "the battery opened below the support is covered". I have yet to manage to understand how to reset the max/min settings, but that's hardly surprising when instructed to "press reset key and remove at present, quantity is examined and will go on automatically again". If you are going to buy this sort of thermometer then I would recommend you go for the one at the lowest price so at least you will be expecting something something mass produced cheaply in China. Three stars for a reasonable product that does work, arrived quickly and well packaged.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
Does the job well. Bought for an elderly relative who needed to know the temperature outside before leaving her upstairs flat. Simple to read with big figures. Good value for money.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
....the sensor lead is short at 173cm (68 inches or 5'8") needs to be 2-3metres otherwise the product seems OK and temp reading +/- about 1c approx
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
I unpacked the thermometer, inserted the batteries,
dangled the external sensor through a gap in the window---and it worked immediately. No fuss. I have not checked accuracy but I believe, and feel, what I read is good enough.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Mine is model TA318. Looks and price similar (around £8) but slightly larger and shows relative humidity as well as indoor/outdoor temperature. I was not expecting this unit to meet scientific accuracy standards but it seems more than good enough as a domestic in/out thermometer. The outdoor sensor is connected via a cable, so the unit has to be located near a window or at least on an outside wall. I'm not sure what to make of the Relative Humidity reading. It stays around 60% most of the time and I'm not sure how this knowledge enhances my life. But overall I am very happy with this purchase.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)