Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2013
I've long been a fan of Difford's Cocktails Made Easy, which is a brilliant book for anyone who wants to be able to make many different cocktails with a relatively small drinks cabinet (only 14 key ingredients).

After a while I felt that I had outgrown it somewhat so I upgraded to this, which includes all the recipes from Cocktails Made Easy (with a helpful key symbol next to each one) plus 2500 recipes using rather more esoteric ingredients (hazelnut syrup anyone?!)

The book does a pretty good job as a one-stop cocktail "bible", but lets itself down a couple of times which is a real shame. As has been highlighted by another reviewer it's not very intuitive, drinks are listed alphabetically rather than by spirit. Surely it would be better to have (e.g.) all the gin-based cocktails together, with an alphabetical index at the back if you need to find a specific one.

Inexplicably (and unlike Cocktails Made Easy), it contains no instructions on making sugar syrup (a regularly-used ingredient) or pomegranate syrup, but somehow finds space for a "key" (5 stars = excellent, 4 stars = praiseworthy, etc, fairly self-explanatory you would think) on virtually every page. And having had it one day I've already noticed that it "definatly" [sic] hasn't been spell-checked.

So in summary, a very good book which could have been virtually perfect with a bit more thought and attention to detail.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I have all the previous books and love them all
The illustrations are great and the front section on molecular drinks is a must for the Hestons of the cocktail world
If you are a budding bartender you MUST OWN THIS BOOK
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
It is very comprehensive but the organisation is not intuitive - for example if you want 'gin' based drinks it is very difficult to find them. So not a casual and user friendly book! Could be a lot more fun and inspiring!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
BOught this book when was in Stafford the other day and instantly fell in love with it. Sooooo descriptive and helpful for those who are either professional or beginner bartenders/mixologists. 100% good buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Best book on cocktails.

It's updated now with the 11th edition Diffordsguide Cocktails #11
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Quite simply the only cocktail making book you will ever need! My sister was bought it as a gift and I thought that looks a bi heavy had a flick through and thought actually I need this book and bought it that very night! Some of the recipes I adapt but the basic recipe is there for you and if someone asks you to make something that is not listed -well they deserve a slap lol!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
This was bought as a Christmas present and after I'd commited to buy notice that it wasnt due to be delivered until WAY AFTER Christmas....however, it came within two days and was probably one of the first 'proper' presents to arrive! My daughter loves it one of the best recieved presents I've ever bought her!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Easy to use, find cocktails quickly. Especially the Iphone app is brilliantly handy for the professional for even quicker service. The hard copy is of course a must have as extra literature for creating new menu's etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Great reference guide for the experienced or new bartender. A comprehensive cocktail guide but would benefit from a little less sponsorship as the recommended spirits do not always make for the best drinks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)