Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
224
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2015
A point of reference for action films and still one of the best ever made.
Ironic, inventive, adrenalinic, surprising, and with onscreen visual effect, so no CGI or easy solutions: all that you see, hear and enjoy is the result of a director and a bunch of excellent professionals that know how to produce and shoot a film.
Die Hard is, in fact, a film that is still engaging but is, in a sense, a kind of classic film made in the classic way.
And you can tell also by the way it is written: a fresh, exciting and well balanced script where twists are essential and action is where you need it and not spread all over the story, in order to lead the viewer through ups and downs, and never get bored. A film that smartly plays with all the cliché of the hero and the bad guys, the helpers, the victims in a very refreshing way. Many memorable lines and moments, a great construction of action scenes where, surprisingly enough, you can follow the action and do not get lost in thousands shots and ultrafast edit that would have produced only confusion with no engagement. Excellent blu ray
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
I'm a big fan of the Die Hard films i already have all the films on DVD
when i found out about this all new Doco called Decoding Die Hard i knew i had to get it
but first i found out it was only available with the new 5 Disc blu-ray Legacy collection
and i didn't want to pay tons of money on this boxset just for the Bonus Disc
cause there is another Die Hard film in the works already to be released next year in cinemas
it's suppose to be the final Die Hard for the franchise,
Bruce willis is rumoured to be retiring from the Character after the final film
which i don't blame him, he's getting old that's for sure
so of course 20th century fox will re-release another Die Hard blu-ray boxset for next year's film

so i did some internet searching and found out that the original Die Hard has been released as
a 2 Disc special edition with the Decoding Die hard Doco

so i just bought this 2 Disc edition just to watch the Die Hard Doco and i have no regrets
if i should have bought the 5 Disc legacy collection or not.
this all new Documentary definitely is new, all interviews are recently recorded last year i guess.

All the interviews are featurette's, so you can watch them seperatly all play all the featurette's
like a big Documentary which runs over 90min
this Doco is fantastic, all new interviews and new retrospectives with all
the Directors, Producers, writers, exect producers, only some of the actors/actress's from the series
are interviewed aswell, but sadly and very unfortunate no interviews with Bruce willis for some reason
one of the featurettes is about the Villans of Die Hard which has never been presented
interviews with Alan rickman, William sadler, Jeremy irons
also rare footage from the films some stuff that has been seen already and some footage that hasn't
Definitely better Documentary than the last one that was released back in 2007-2008
for the release of the 4th Die Hard

the blu-ray version of Die Hard i watched 2nd, watched most of it cause i have it on dvd anyway
the picture and audio quality is excellent, the quality has definitely been enhanced by blu-ray tech
but the 2007 DVD reissue i have is still excellent picture and audio anyway
but each to their own, it's matter of opinion.

so yes there are 2 options either buy the 5 Disc blu-ray collection that has the Bonus Documentary anyway
or just get the DIE HARD SPECIAL EDITION BLU-RAY 2 DISC SET,
up to you what you want to spend you money on.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2003
This is the most bullet-ridden, blood stained, fire breathing movie of all time, it has all of the above mixed in with great one liners and superb characters. No questions it is THE best action movie of all time, and to prove it i need say only this...... i put a mark on the back of my long-owned precious die hard vhs case every time i watch it....currently at 143 no joke!...i love this movie with a passion it brings together every element needed for a classic, and this IS a classic
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2008
Bruce Willis is John McLane - a cop from New York, home visiting his wife and kids in California. When a bunch of European terrorists take over the corporation his wife works for, John is forced to take control, and help the cops sort this out.

There's a lot that's been said about Die Hard, so I won't really go on about the movie, it's plot and the relationships therein, but more the HD transfer. Lets face it, if you're looking at this you know Die Hard, and want a better copy, as you're a fan. Well it's not a bad transfer, the colours are good, but not as exciting and vivid as The Pursuit Of Happyness: so far, the best BD transfer for me. The video is AVC, with an average of 20MB/s - which isn't bad. I would have expected a bit higher - as there's not much on the disk, 8 trailers for Die Hard and a couple for the other Fox films. There's also the newscasts, but they're in a pretty bad shape. I am surprised there's no featurette like on the DVD.

The audio is to die for though, DTS 5.1 - running at 1.5MB/s, not too bad at all. There's a few languages too, but no AD, which is a pity, as it's well worth the description.

The film itself is worth the £18, but the extras are thin on the ground, and the picture could have been better really, after all it's only 20 years ago since Die Hard was made.

4/5 for the film, 3/5 for the HD transfer and 1/5 for the extras.

Probably best to stick to the DVDs unless you're a real Blu-Ray die hard
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
I had never seen this film as I was below the required age when it came out on VHS and my mother was very strict regarding such matters. I am currently working through the films I heard about at school (Terminator is next!).

I watched Die Hard for the first time at 35 and I can now see what all the fuss was about. I have a very short attention span but I was glued to the seat the whole way through. As my wife was out I was able to turn up my sound bar and enjoy the bullets and bombs to the full!

It was only a matter of days after I watched the film that the sad news broke of the loss of Alan Rickman, who lent his distinctive tone of voice to the perfect villain in this and in other great films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2002
Between this and Predator, director John McTiernan has established himself as one of the best (THE best in my opinion) action directors of his time. So, as you can imagine, a director's commentary is most welcome. The film alone is worth buying this DVD for but the commentaries are excellent and entertaining. The features on the second disk are a bit dissapointing though and won't hold your attention for long. Buy this and keep the second disk, it will make a fine coaster whilst you enjoy the film with some drinks.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It seems clear now that the 1988 film "Die Hard" is one of the most important cinematic touchstones of our lifetime, simply because every action film since then can be reduced to being a variation on the theme (e.g., "Speed" is "Die Hard" on a bus). I am not going to claim that "Die Hard" is more than mindless entertainment, but rather that it is the standard by which all mindless entertainment is to be judged.
One Christmas New York City cop John McClane (Bruce Willis) flies out to Los Angeles to enjoy a nice, quiet Christmas with his estranged wife Holly (Bonnie Bedelia), who is climbing up the corporate ladder of the Nakatomi Corporation. However John arrives at the company office party a few minutes before a group of terrorists, led by the urbane Hans Gruber (Alan Rickman), takes over and holds everybody hostage. While the bad guys begin the long process of breaking into the building' vault, McClane becomes the proverbial "fly in the ointment," on the loose in the building and causing problems. The only person on McClane's side is Sgt. Al Powell (Reginald VelJohnson), a cop on the outside who learns about what is really happening inside Nakatomi tower when McClane drops a dead body on his squad car. Also working against McClane are top cop and complete idiot Dwayne T. Robinson (Paul Gleason) and sleazy reporter Thronburg (William Atherton).
What makes "Die Hard" work? First, the film had the virtue of making Bruce Willis a movie star. Prior to this point he had failed to make his success with television's "Moonlighting" translate to movies. Leading roles in "Blind Date" and "Sunset" were disappointing enough that the best part of Willis's cinematic resume was being a courtroom spectator in "The Verdict." But in John McClane he had a character that allowed him to get off his one-liners but was also involved in some big action sequences and still found time to use his brains on several occasions. I also like the adding insult to injury twist of fate that finds McClane barefoot when things start happening. The result was that suddenly Willis was promoted to the A list, which almost always makes a bigger splash than when the star is there to begin with.
Second, there were the action sequences, the best of which remains McClane's jump off the exploding top of the building with a fire hose wrapped around his waist. Everything else pales next to that one, but the common theme you have with all of the key sequences is that McClane is an ordinary guy facing long odds in a series of extraordinary circumstances. Another common denominator is that for what McClane comes up with usually involves some thinking as well, such as using an office chair and a computer to create a detonator for plastique explosives. McClane might be unlucky, but he is not stupid. Add to this the fact that the action is pretty much non-stop once it gets started, and this is by no means a boring film.
Third, there are actually some emotional elements to the story, with McClane obviously worried about his wife being held by terrorists being at the top of the list. But there is also the relationship between McClane and Sgt. Powell, even though it exists almost entirely over the radio (but has a nice double payoff in the film's denouement). The scene where McClane asks Powell to pass along a message to Holly provides a sense of despair that usually does not enter into one of these films.
Ultimately, John McTiernan's film achieves a solid balance between characters and actions. If an action film succeeds on the basis of the villain, then Rickman certainly provides that (I like the way his character is introduced), and I have always thought that VelJohnson's show "Family Matters" was an obvious and intelligent effort to capitalize on how great of a character he created in this movie. Then there is Bedelia's Holly Gennaro McClane, who has it all, including a good right hook. You might not understand how those two ended up together in the first place, but can sure appreciate why he wants to stay married to her.
Even the fact that "Die Hard 4: Die Hardest" is currently in pre-production can distract from the reputation of the original. Actually the two sequels are better than most of the imitators that have come down the road ("Speed" is definitely the best of that bunch). Besides making Willis a big time movie star it certainly set the bar higher for all the action films that have been made since 1988 and showed that you needed to have some heart and a sense of style to go with all the witty one-liners and explosive pyrotechnics. "Die Hard" is still a lot of fun to watch.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
John McTiernan blew quite a few away with this movie. This is one of the best action movies I've seen, and it's not bland or slow either, it works well and is brilliantly acted. The suspense and action are blended well in a claustrophobic setting.
2 of my favourite lines are 'I'm just the fly in the ointment Hans, the monkey in the wrench, the pain the in a**!' And 'Let's see you take this under advisement Jerkweed!'
Most action movies today are the same boring, been there done that, most are also about revenge, Die Hard is where it started and hasn't been bettered, and despite several good movie stars and technology today, it's unlikely it will ever be bettered, even Die Hard 4.0 couldn't top this one.
It's likely that my brother and I will watch it again over the holidays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2002
I looked up action movie in my dictionary and it just said Die Hard.
Die Hard is quit possibly the only movie i can watch over and over again, even though its not a movie geared at making your brain work, it is nonetheless a masterpiece.
The storyline is quite simple, terrorists take over building to nick a shed lad of cash, end of story. Yet the way the story is crafted is a true work of genius and has yet to be matched by director McTiernan.
Yet who can blame him, Die Had set amazingly high standards.
What are the elements of Die Hard that make it successful? I think its the way that this particular action film is very similar to a western in its approach. Just think about it, a lone law enforcer (New York cop) turns up to single-handedly to save a village (skyscraper) from outside forces (terrorists) who threaten to disturb the peace (kill everyone).
Add to this mix explosions, one on one gunfights and some killer wise-cracks from the hero, and you've got yourself the ultimate action film with the ultimate action hero. even the villain is great.
Die Hard is quite possibly my favourite action movie, nothing comes near it, not even the sequels!
A 10/10, 5 star, 2 thumbs up film!
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
I bought this to watch while riding my turbo trainer. Great performances from Alan Rickman and Bruce Willis. I have always loved this film. Whether you're watching at Christmas or in the summer it's a great watch! And at only £2.50 for HD this was a bargain too! Yippee ki-yay!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)