Start reading Devil's Hand (Drawing Thin Book 1) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Devil's Hand (Drawing Thin Book 1) [Kindle Edition]

M. E. Patterson
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.99
Kindle Price: £0.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £8.00 (89%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Whispersync for Voice

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £0.99  
Paperback £8.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £13.30 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a Kindle book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more

Book Description

A Las Vegas poker ace with supernatural luck is swept into a world-ending conflict between fallen angels and otherworldly shades, in a thrilling debut novel for readers who enjoy Dean Koontz, Jim Butcher, and Tim Powers.

The lone survivor of a tragic plane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a mysterious lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. It wasn't long before the eyes in the sky threw him on the blacklist and chased him out of town. Now, after years away, Trent returns to Las Vegas, and walks right back into trouble.

As a serial kidnapper terrorizes the city, Trent and his wife, Susan, rescue a strange, thirteen year-old girl, only to find themselves caught in a fallen angel's plot to cleanse Las Vegas with an unholy blizzard.

The neon begins to dim, the city freezes, and Trent is forced to make terrible sacrifices in order to protect his new charge, and learns dark truths about himself and the creatures plotting against mankind. Poker-playing demons, fallen angels, and otherworldly shades all vie to enlist his strange luck, and Trent must choose his role in the coming War, or watch our world fall to ruin beneath a blanket of shadow and ice.


Product Description

About the Author

M. E. Patterson is an author and information technologist. He lives in the Texas Hill Country with a geochemist and a dog.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 507 KB
  • Print Length: 345 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 098384481X
  • Publisher: Digimonkey Studios; 1 edition (8 Dec. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005EM2PE8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #417,387 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Very intriguing opener 17 Feb. 2013
By Q Cusic
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
After being contacted by Mr Patterson himself via twitter making me aware of his work, and reading several reviews I thought I'd buy this novel and give it a shot. The obvious comparisons would be to Jim Butcher and his Dresden Files series. It's a very strong introduction to this narrative universe, and like the first book in the Dresden Files, the writing isn't mindblowing, but it is very, very good - an entertaining read. Before I knew it I was turning the last pages with one hand and ordering the second with the other. I'm glad I bought it, and will definitely come back to it at a later date. Perfect light reading, and the ideas and concepts in the universe are massively intriguing - I'm looking forward to seeing the characters progress and Patterson's writing develop. A good stage setter for a potentially long running series if he (forgive me) plays his cards right.

One thing I must mention is the author's relationship with his fans. It's rare to see authors personally pursuing new fans, let alone following up and inquiring to our enjoyment of his work. All in all, I'm definitely going to follow the series and any other work by M.E. Patterson.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Supernatural Thriller 19 Sept. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It's unbelievable that Devil's Hand is the first supernatural thriller for this extremely talented author. We follow Trent Hawkins, a poker player and plane crash survivor on an edge of your seat journey full of twists and turns with many surprises on the way. Set in Las Vegas, where a serial killer is terrorising the city, Trent and Susan, his wife, rescue a thirteen year old girl- and so it all begins. We meet some amazing characters, Demons, Angels, shadow monsters and then there is a terrifying supernatural serial killer.
Be warned, this book is a page turner and once you start you will not want to put it down. Being contacted by Matt on Twitter was the best introduction I could have had to a new, very accomplished and gifted author. I'm sure we will be hearing a lot more of him.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised - some real promise! 14 July 2013
By SEKT84
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Thought I'd give this a go based on a similar genre to my regular reads. The reviews also are all positive in nature and I certainly wasn't left disappointed! This opening book shows some real promise for a long and successful series. I enjoyed the way the characters are introduced and developed throughout and the story itself is very well written. Ultimately, who doesn't like Angels and Demons fighting it out for the demise of all things living?! Great start and straight onto book two!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read 1 Jun. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A fast paced, enjoyable story with a different take on the angel versus demon theory. Definitely look forward to book 2
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category