The Devil's Eye: Alex Benedict - Book 4 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Devil's Eye: Alex Benedict - Book 4 on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Devil's Eye, the [Hardcover]

Jack McDevitt
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 4.49  
Hardcover --  
Paperback 6.37  
Audio Download, Unabridged 11.55 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial

Book Description

1 Nov 2008
The Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller. Having nothing left to lose changes everything. Todd and Jodie have been together for more than twenty years. They are both aware their world is in crisis, though neither is willing to admit it. Todd is living a dual existence, while Jodie is living in denial. But she also likes to settle scores. When it becomes clear their affluent Chicago lifestyle could disintegrate at any moment, Jodie knows everything is at stake. It's only now she will discover just how much she's truly capable of...Shocking and compelling in equal measure, THE SILENT WIFE is a chilling portrayal of two people in turmoil and the lengths they will go to in order to protect themselves.


Product details

  • Hardcover: 359 pages
  • Publisher: Us Imports (1 Nov 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0441016359
  • ISBN-13: 978-0441016358
  • Product Dimensions: 2.9 x 16.1 x 23 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,216,589 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Jack McDevitt is that splendid rarity, a writer who is a storyteller first and a science fiction writer second. In his ability to absolutely rivet the reader, it seems to me that he is the logical heir to Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke (Stephen King)

Why read Jack McDevitt? The question should be: Who among us is such a slow pony that s/he isn't reading McDevitt (Harlan Ellison)

No one writing today is better than McDevitt at combining galaxy-spanning adventure with the genuine novel of ideas (Washington Post Book World)

Highly, highly recommended (Fantasy Book Critic) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Book Description

The collapse of a decades long relationship has deadly consequences in a novel perfect for readers of Sophie Hannah, Nicci French and Barbara Vine

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sky full of the devil's eye 16 Jan 2009
By E. A Solinas HALL OF FAME TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
When most people hire you to do something, they tell you what it is and where it's to be done.

But Alex Benedict gets no such easy jobs in "The Devil's Eye," where he gets a mysterious mission from a woman who no longer exists. Jack McDevitt crafts a thoroughly solid sci-fi adventure that gradually blossoms into an intelligent look at tolerance and politics, although the politicking gradually drowns out the more exciting moments.

After escorting a pair of Mutes around Atlantis, Alex receives a message from famed horror writer Vicki Greene. She announces that "they're all dead."

Unfortunately, Vicki has since had her mind wiped. So Alex and Chase head to the last place she had gone: the backwater planet of Salud Afar. They retrace Vicki's steps across Salud Afar and start uncovering some strange, long ago political events as well as a wealth of urban legends. Unfortunately, it becomes clear that someone wants to stop their investigation.

And when Alex and Chase run afoul of the government conspirators, they find the truth that Vicki was unable to tell anyone -- a ghastly, apocalyptic event that will destroy the entire planet. Even worse, there may be no way to save the planet's population from what will befall them -- unless Chase and Alex can overcome a brewing war between two distrustful species.

Aside from the scientific snafus that are a necessary evil in sci-fi, Jack McDevitt tends to create fascinating realistic views of a future humanity. And in "The Devil's Eye," he manages to successfully cobble together a story about politics, diplomacy, some very alien aliens, and deadly stellar phenomena.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best but certainly not his worst 2 Feb 2010
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
If you like Jack McDevitt's writing and, particularly, his other Alex Benedict novels, you'll like this one. There's nothing exceptional about it and it lacks some of McDevitt's big technology ideas that you find in other works, but it was a pleasant read and (surprisingly, for a fairly thin plot) kept moving well. It won't win any prises and isn't up to his best but it was a decent read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance 16 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Just read it. Trust me you will enjoy it, one of the best he's done yet. Still got the rest of his novels to go :p
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopeful 12 Feb 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
When dystopias account for so much SF it's nice to find a writer who is positive about the future. The late, great Ian Banks was one, and Jack McDevitt is another. This book is in two parts, like many of McDevitt's - the mystery and the consequences of solving it. The mystery was intriguing and the consequences - ah, you'll have to read it yourself to find out. Thanks Mr McDevitt for being a positive voice in the world of SF - there are so few!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback