Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2010
Agatha Christie's output was phenomenal. She is of course best known for her stories of Hercules Poirot and Miss Marple, as well as other detective novels, but in this volume there are some of her lesser-known characters: Tommy and Tuppence, Parker Pyne and Harley Quin.
Tommy and Tuppence (for younger readers, tuppence is what two old pence was known as) are husband and wife, who take on the characteristics of contemporary fictional detectives when solving cases. As Miss Christie says in her 1953 introduction to the stories, even she had by that time forgotten who some of these other detectives were (the stories were published in the 1920s), so apart from Sherlock Holmes and Hercules Poirot himself, other references are likely to mean nothing. But they're entertaining nevertheless.
The Harley Quin stories concern the aforementioned Mr Quin, who turns up mysteriously whenever a murder has been, or will be, committed. He is always in league with Mr Satterthwaite, an elderly gentleman who is, frankly, a snob, and not a very engaging character. But the plots are sufficiently clever to maintain the reader's interest.
Mr Parker Pyne does not always investigate murders. Rather, his job is to 'make people happy' (which is Walt Disney's mission statement). I didn't find them as engaging as the previous 2 sections.
But all in all, well worth a read.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
A good collection of works if you are an agatha lover! Cheap price for a lot of work. However I found the book difficult to read in bed at night because it is so heavy - therefore prefer to keep to the individual books. If you are a collector of agatha books you can't purchase this without buying the Poriot collection and Short Stories Collection too!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this collection of short stories by Agatha Christie and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys her style of writing. Whether you are a die-hard fan, or new to her stories, this collection has something for everyone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
A super collection of short stories, I had read Harley Quin and Tommy and Tuppence before but Parker Pine was a new character to me and so a new pleasure. One of the Parker Pine stories was familiar as it had been developed into a Poirot book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
I adore Agatha Christie books and these volumes were the only ones missing from my collection. A lovely bedtime read, one story a night. The best thing about Agatha Christie books is that they never date
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
I really liked this book,I bought on a whim and I am glad I did too,all the stories are good and set in a time I think we all would have liked to live in,,Agatha Christies characters are well written and she allows the reader to get to know them themselves too,no Poirot or Miss Marple here just two young people that you are certain to like when you start reading this book...........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
Excellent book of short stories written by the best.if you have not got this collection of short stories yet its a must for agatha christie fans and lovers of crime and detective books.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
For any fans of Agatha Christie this is a superb read. So many stories, none of which I have read before. Her short stories are totally different to her Poirot and Ms. Marple stories.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Agatha Christie with a twist - Ideal if you want to be able to read in your lunch hour at work as I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Thank you! Excellent, prompt service, the book is in top condition! All the best in future!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse